No To McCain

“Hillary Clinton, she’s my girl,” that is what my friends have heard me say with pride and affection many times.  On the contrary, they also heard me say with passion and disgust, “No way in hell! No-bama-no-way! Not going to happen!”  But alas, to my own surprise, it has become crystal clear to me that Barack Obama is the best choice for President over John McCain.

My first choice, Hillary Clinton lost; she didn’t win, and is not running against John McCain for the POTUS.  I understand the lingering disappointment, frustrations, and anger over the 2008 Democratic primary.  I share those feelings; however, I am enough of a realist to see that voting McCain, just to protest the primary process, the MSM, Barack Obama or the DNC, is akin to drinking poison.

If McCain were to win the general election the Republican Party would remain in power. That in of itself should provide enough reason not to vote for John McCain.

There is not one single segment of the United States that isn’t currently in dire straights: Economy, Iraq, Education, Transportation, Housing, Veterans Affairs, Civil Liberties, Research and Development, Immigration, Healthcare, Homeland Security, Internet Security, Foreign Policy, Trade, etc., you name it!  Casting your vote for continued Republican leadership in Washington would be harmful to the USA and the entire world.

Additionally, John McCain strongly disagrees with those who advocate withdrawing American troops from Iraq.  John McCain opposes stem cell research and other types of scientific study that involve the use of human embryos. John McCain believes Roe v. Wade is a flawed decision that must be overturned.  John McCain believes the institution of marriage is a union between one man and one woman.

One last thought as I close this post…..Imagine, just imagine, what it would be like to have people in power that actually cared about our country?  Imagine what it would feel like to have a sense that everything is going to get better, that things will change. A Barack Obama win will place seasoned politicians and intelligent leaders, many of whom we admire, into positions that introduce, shape, and drive policy and solutions. In the end, new leadership, various personnel changes, political appointments, and a restored sense of national pride, will be what delivers the much needed and desired “change.”

Vote Barack Obama, 2008

unlikely_burrito

80 Comments

Filed under Guest Bloggers

80 responses to “No To McCain

  1. harbor

    Boy, do I agree with your post, burrito! One cynical word of caution pervades my brain, however…I HOPE you’re right that we’ll be getting people in power who actually care MORE about our country than about lining their own pockets or financing their next campaign. I, and many others, will be watching closely.

  2. Brian In NYC

    Love your piece UB and behalf of all the backchannelers many thanks for contributing to our blog, it’s really appreciated. Having been a political junkie since the age of 14 I know how painful it can be when a beloved candidate loses, I still remember election night ’72, and despite the fact I knew McGovern was going to lose just how heart broken I felt when the results actually came in. I admire how you you’ve put the needs of our country above your own disappointment, attagirl!

  3. horsedooty

    very nice post UB. Thank you for taking the time to write so thoughtfully.

    ¡yo soy Horsedooty!

  4. chefsheila

    Burrito,

    Eloquent and engaging. Exciting to empathise with you…you moved me baby! I can actually say that I empathise with you and all the Clinton Supporters. Its been a hard year and a half.

    You last parapgrah explains well why I have been a supporter from the beginning. The Gut Feeling. The need for Hope!

  5. colleenerin

    What a difficult decision to make and how hard it is to move on. But, Burrito, you’ve nailed it. Bravo to you and your clarity. And this is from a Gene McCarthy, Jerry Brown, Dennis Kucinich supporter! Yay, you!

  6. Brian In NYC

    Dennis who?

  7. dnd

    Burrito,
    What a great and thoughtful post. I remember how bummed I was when Richardson dropped out of the race. I can only imagine how Clinton supporters feel, since the race went on so long and was so close.

    Now I think McCain is a likable old coot. But outside of what he’s said on the campaign about energy and the environment, I can’t think of a single position of his that I like. It is precisely for the reasons you pointed out that I will be voting for Obama. And if Clinton were the nominee I’d vote for her.

  8. dnd

    Avatar test. Please ignore 😉

  9. Brian In NYC

    Not to nit pick, but that’s an emoticon, not an avatar. 🙂

  10. Brian In NYC

    I’ve put up a link to usable emoticons, it’s in the upper right right under the calendar.

  11. Brian In NYC

    test
    😯

  12. dnd

    George McGovern to campaign for Obama in Colorado Springs

    http://www.rockymountainnews.com/news/2008/jun/28/mcgovern-campaign-obama-colorado-springs/

    Wonder if McGovern, who has a divinity degree, will question James Dobson’s interpretation of Obama.

  13. dnd

    Brian,
    The avatar test was because for some reason one of my posts had the default. I think wordpress logged me out. Or something…

  14. Brian In NYC

    ah so! Cool news on McGovern, you know you never get over your first love, romantic or political!

  15. Dexter

    John McCain should be POTUS. He knows a hundred-year was already happened once, and he thinks history repeats itself, why not in Iraq?
    We McCain buffs know the toning-down ( his campaign says he meant troops, not warring troops ) was just politics, , but we all get the wink & nod…our man will by-god fight for democracy in that area ( can’t really call Iraq a country) with the last drop of US military blood! Yea!
    And while his campaign tries to show separation with Bush, we all know McCain is McBush…McCain will carry on the wonderful policy of making sure a few hundred of those hajis will die, in the name of OLD GLORY !! (‘scuse me while I salute my flag…there…all better now!)
    Our beloved President George W. Bush leaves a legacy to be attended to by a man, McCain, who supported Bush right down the line…Shock & Awe , a rousing success! Mission Accomplished! YEA!! Surge those troops in and play the media so Iraq is buried in page seven! Brilliant!
    And the awsome brilliance of McCain…few folks realized he had no pot to piss in until he married into a bootlegger’s family and was able to start a campaign.
    What a guy!
    If you LOVE George W. Bush, you must vote for John McCain. It’s a no-brainer.

  16. Brian In NYC

    “If you LOVE George W. Bush, you must vote for John McCain. It’s a no-brainer.”

    Dex I couldn’t agree more, a no-brainer indeed!

    🙄

  17. Dexter

    …of course if you want to repair the damage eight years of Bush has done, foreign and domestic, you will vote for Obama….but ,gee,really…look at the wonderful shape we’re in the good old USA!

    My car quit running a year ago…I mean ..gasoline IS down to a buck and a half a gallon, isn’t it?

    I quit drinking milk…Bush probably has milk down to a couple bucks a gallon, right?

    And that story from Wednesday that Dow Chemical, who has an interest in about eerything we purchase…that story about Dow increasing their price for everything 25% across the board…that must have a cruel Democratic trick!

  18. Dexter

    Kathy, now that I have vented, I wish to commend you for taking the time and making the effort to go see the next POTUS.

  19. Brian In NYC

    good one Dex.

  20. dnd

    Dex ol’ buddy, great vent 😉

  21. U B…

    Like you I know how hard it must be to accept the fact that Hillary lost.

    Those who supported Hillary and I mean the true Hillary supporters and not those who more than likely are just saying that to invoke dissent and divisiveness have to realize that having McInsane in the White House {if there are elections} would be the final nail in Americans Coffin.

    Like Der Fuhrer Adolph Bush he would just do what ever he wants and not worry about a Democratic House or Senate.

    As we have seen over the past 7 1/2 years no matter what Der Fuhrer has done even after the Democrats were given the House and a slim margin in the Senate they just give him what he wants like the cowards they have been.

    Right now our countries only hope, I hope I’m not wrong, is if Obama wins or our country is totally screwed.

    Thanks for giving serious thought as to how you will vote and thanks for considering voting for Obama.

    God Bless.

  22. Brian In NYC

    “I, of, course am encouraged. We both agree that the progress has been significant but the progress is also fragile. And there’s a lot of work that needs to be done,” McCain said at the end of a private 45-minute meeting with Talabani.

    “Talabani added: “In my personal opinion, we are in need to have some, at least some, military bases as a symbol for preventing others in interfering (with) internal affairs of Iraq.”

    http://hosted.ap.org/dynamic/stories/M/MCCAIN_IRAQ?SITE=NEYOR&SECTION=HOME&TEMPLATE=DEFAULT

    Very troubling.

  23. It looks like Der Fuhrer Adolph Bush is getting ready to invoke A State of Emergency and Martial Law very soon as seen by this State of National Emergency he just declared on North Korea.

    http://suzieqq.wordpress.com/2008/06/28/bush-declares-state-of-national-emergencyread-it/#comments

    God Bless.

  24. Kathy

    Great post UB-

    It is unimaginable to vote McCain. A couple of days ago I received a survey call- who was I going to vote for, and who did I think was strongest to stand up to the president on important issues like global warming and the environment? Second question- who did I think was ready to be commander in chief to fight for the US against terrorism?
    I answered Obama- but I was not surprised when at the end the caller said it was a survey for McCain-

    I get so tired at this “maverick” label- and also, I cannot IMAGINE McCain acting diplomatically with other governments-

  25. Brian In NYC

    McCains Defaulted On Home Taxes For Last Four Years, Newsweek To Report

    Newsweek is set to publish a highly embarrassing report on Sen. John McCain, revealing that the McCains have failed to pay taxes on their beach-front condo in La Jolla, California, for the last four years and are currently in default, The Huffington Post has learned.

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2008/06/28/mccains-failed-to-pay-tax_n_109785.html

    Boy those super rich really get pissy about paying their taxes don’t they? Looks like Cindy McCain may prove to be the modern day Leona Helmsley.

  26. Thank you for the opportunity to share my thoughts. I also appreciate the kind comments.

    peace~

  27. Brian In NYC

    Obama Supporters Take His Middle Name as Their Own

    http://www.nytimes.com/2008/06/29/us/politics/29hussein.html?hp

  28. Didn’t you already do that? Imitation is the highest form of compliment!

  29. Brian In NYC

    Yes I did, but I think I got the idea from Stephenie Miller. It wasn’t original to me, alas, I’d love to take credit but can’t.

  30. Dexter

    I honestly would love to see those bastards just TRY to make a big deal over Barack’s middle name!

    I think it will backfire in their smug pig-grease goddam faces.
    I went down to the riverbank and put some clay and different colored herbs into a pot and I have several colors of war paint ready to put on.
    I hope we’re all ready for the new “Swiftboaters” of the 527’s to emerge like Lake Erie midges do every so often…you can ward-off midges (nasty flying insects who appear by the tens of millions all at once) with a vinegar spray…we have to find out what kind of vinegar disperses nasty repugg-bugs.

  31. Brian In NYC

    He won’t, but his surrogates will, on the air, in print, and online. I’m sitting here waiting for James Mason to walk into the Pacific Ocean so Judy can have her big closing scene “I am Mrs. Norman Maine”

  32. Brian…

    I know you saw Craig’s comment about you leaving 40 to 50 comments a day and that he thought 5 to 10 would be enough.

    I just felt like wasting my time and went through the comments from the start of thread up to his 10:56 comment.

    Do you realize that 10 of you accounted for almost two thirds of the 331 comments at that time.

    Here’s the ranking of the ten I counted.

    Patsi = 45
    Brian = 45
    Sturgeon =32
    chloe = 27
    Nick = 20
    Jamie = 16
    Gordo = 15
    Unlikely Burrito = 11
    Flatus = 11
    Tony = 8

    That’s 229 comments by all the above.

    Actually thats over two thirds as the other 102 comments were left by Craig and the rest I didn’t list. Like Jack, LL, bear and the rest.

    And through the night others will show up or really early in the morning for this one thread unless Craig puts up a new one before than.

    I do see a lot of the newest always complain to Craig about you as I’m sure your aware of and its as if they want you banned from the site.

    And I also see how some of them egg you on to get you to irritate them.

    I don’t know if I will ever start commenting over there anymore. Like you say they are always tearing down the nominee and trying to hurt the party and the chance of finally getting someone in the Peoples House {that is of course if we have elections}.

    Anyway I just wanted to say I’m sorry that your considered evil by those who now hang out over there.

    I got to hit the sack now. Take care and …

    God Bless.

  33. Brian In NYC

    You’re a love AP, thanks for the support.

  34. colleenerin

    Dexter and Anon Paranoid,

    it’s wonderful to see you here, I’ve missed you. (and to the rest of you I adore, I haven’t missed you because you haven’t gone away!) I am thrilled about this blog, it exudes such respect of diversity. Thanks to all of you.

    Colleen

  35. chefsheila

    I’m going to second that colleen. I couldn’t imagine not being able to share thoughts with all of you. This blog is a great think for all of us.

    Anon-p, Dex, and Burrito, thanks for being here! Brian, thanks for being the mater mind. NOT BAD for a first week!

  36. Brian In NYC

    7 more hits and we’ll have crossed the 2,000 mark! We’re on our way! Hooray for us!

  37. Dexter

    In case you are wondering, Sheila, my new Facebook photo is definitely me, in 1951, when I was about twenty-one months old. Harry S Truman was President and Dad drove a 1949 Ford sedan.

  38. chefsheila

    Geez…..are you sure your not Grandpa McCoy? ;0) just kidding!

  39. chefsheila

    By the way Dex,

    Love your food description tonight. About the Chicken Breast?

  40. Dexter

    …I though I would catch hell by the way I said I feed the white meat to the dogs and the wife…not very nice…but Mom always said I was a naughty boy.

    And Grandpa McCoy had that “ketch in his git-along”, but he moved faster than I do most times!

    We had local fireworks last night. I was pedalling my bicycle out to the action when some dumb sunofabitch made a U-turn in the street and damn-nearly ran me over…took the starch out of my sail and I just went home and watched the rocket’s red glare , long-distance, from my yard…hey…remember Rockets Redglare?

  41. Brian In NYC

    No ice cream to follow up all that dark meat chicken?

  42. Brian In NYC

    BTW if any of you are looking for a fun a web toy my nephew turned me on to this.
    http://www.stumbleupon.com/

    You tell it what subjects interests you and it randomly takes you to web pages, it’s fun and a good way to eat up free time.

  43. Brian,
    If you leave what will “they” (gross generalization) talk about??
    Politics?? Unity?? Accepting other peoples rights to differing opinions?? The election?? I am sure you get my drift.

    I think Craig’s frustration came from his feeling he was loosing control over his blog….not so much that you were a bad contributor….but rather the “few and vocal” could not deal with your comments without becoming totally un-glued.

    it’s late – peace~

  44. Brian In NYC

    I hear you UB, but I’m not really interested in hanging at a place where the host goes out of his way to publicly humiliate me. Let the place be a haven of Obama bashing, I’ve moved on, but of course thanks for your kind words.

  45. Yeah , I hear you. Funny he would do that after clearly asking others, if they had an issue, to take it up directly with you…on your blog…plus there is email, etc.

    Really kind of sad and not a shining moment.

    enough already……night.

  46. Dexter

    …no ice cream…I have moved on to a healthier diet, given up sweets (at least for a long while), and my dairy intake is now plain yogurt, cottage cheese, and skim milk, and very little of each.
    I am on a strict bread ration, and the only really bad thing I am hanging onto is a teaspoon pf strawberry preserves with my toasted English Muffin.
    I know it’s summer…enjoy that Ben and Jerry’s !
    It was not Russert’s death that inspired this latest attempt to get healthier…I was actually in my doctor’s office when Tim died, but I am older than Russert was , and I battle cholesterol like he did…I just want to lengthen the fuse if I am a time bomb, which I probably am.

  47. Dexter

    here’s a photo of my stomach…

  48. chefsheila

    LOL You crack me up Dex,

    I have to go to bed. Thanks for hanging out!

  49. Brian In NYC

    When you fart is it a mushroom cloud?

  50. Back in Georgia and happily agreeing with your post. Having HRC’s people on board will only make the ticket a stronger one and hopefully provide coattails for down balot candidates.

    I will be back in with more later.

  51. colleenerin

    the 5 stages of grief to apply to your own life as you will, if needed

    http://www.salon.com/comics/opus/2008/06/29/opus/index.html?source=newsletter

  52. chefsheila

    Morning Hipster!

    I am on my first day off. It is Freakin HOT here. How about going from mid 60’s up to almost 100 degree within 24 hours…..

    The problem for most….Pacific Northwest has maybe a week of hot weather usually. 80 to 85 is about what we get. So these people are not use it this and about 50% of the households don’t have airconditioning. Don’t know how long this will last, but hope it goes down again soon.

    I have a small air condioner in the little place, but it will not be good enough for today.

    Harborwoman, you have cool air right?

    Going to go check on The Mom today, who doesn’t have air Conditioning….

  53. colleenerin

    good morning, Sheila, and anyone else around! rain, rain, rain, in SW PA. I’m having my annual battle with weeds…the weeds are wining.

  54. chefsheila

    MTP. I was so hot here I am up early enough for that….its christmas in June!

  55. chefsheila

    From Colleen who is having a hard time linking.

    Comics and Editorial Cartoons: Ben Sargent on Yahoo! News

    http://news.yahoo.com/edcartoons/bensargent

  56. chefsheila

    Hey everyone….This thought could be way out there, but with this little announcement, I wonder if there could be a movement out there to remove McCain from nomination at the convention and vote someone like JEB in?

    I know way out there but creative. ;0)

    McCains Defaulted On Home Taxes For Last Four Years, Newsweek Reports

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2008/06/28/mccains-failed-to-pay-tax_n_109785.html

  57. chefsheila

    …Yes Tim Russert is missing.

    Brokaw’s efforts are really benign. I’m not talking about polarization. I’m talking about benign in this weeks subject.

    Maybe NBC will just try to place card until after the election. Or maybe Brokaw is just an anchor for nightly news.

  58. colleenerin

    Sheila, the possibility of the Republicans dumping McCain at the convention may not be as outrageous as we think. He’s an incredible disappointment to the Party faithful who have only been cooly supporting him, quite grudgingly. And I’ve believed for a long while that Jeb is waiting in the wings, Party saviour, ready for the Hail Mary. Wouldn’t surprise me at all.

  59. chefsheila

    Ok so Chuck Todd was on MTP and let me just say. Outstanding explanations.

    I wonder when he will be ready for some kind of show or if he even wants one. He has bloomed under Russerts care. I can see why Russert Hired him on and gave him the nod.

    Wasn’t he doing Congressional Quarterly before or was he Hotline? I’ll have to check that out.

    I think he followed Craig in something.

  60. Hi chicks!

    Just stopping in to say Hi. You know when Brian says”peeps,” …I always think of real Peeps…those yellow marshmallow Easter chicks… : )

    It’s beautiful here today…..glad this Back Channel exists : )

    peace~

  61. chefsheila

    Were glad your here to Burrito!

    Where are you? I’m in Washington State as you know

  62. chefsheila

    BTW, I thought of candy too! lol

  63. Tonyb39

    Brian
    I had to stop by and tell you that while you and i differ on so many things i respect your right to say what you feel.I may not like it sometimes but thats life.I have said it before I enjoy you,sometimes I get pissed but you you keep a person on there toes and interested!!Keep posting your heart out!! We all deserve the right to heard.

  64. chefsheila

    Another BTW. I paid 50 bucks at the pump yesterday when in 2006 I was compalining about $17.

    I was listening to probably Alex Witt this morning. Some one made the summary that the price of oil will double in the next 5 years…..Holy cow…

    I’ll either be dead or pretty healthy from all the walking and bike riding I’m going to be doing!

  65. chefsheila

    ohio….almost on the lake

    Cool and its nice there? Well here comes another heatwave! ;0)

  66. colleenerin

    Burrito, I guess being a peep or a chick always trumps being a tweety!

    Hi Tonyb39, we don’t know each other because I left Trail Mix before you arrived. Your comment to Brian is very kind and I’m sure will be appreciated after he fuels up on caffeine and nicotine.

    Colleen

  67. colleenerin

    Burrito, dummy me…Lake Erie?

  68. lol….to the tweety… I have to turn the puter off, or else I’ll miss my day….
    ciao

  69. chefsheila

    Tony39,

    So nice! AND you are cordially invited to post here any time you feel inclined. No matter what!

  70. chefsheila

    Nice Story for Sunday Leasure.

    My Dog Has a Crush on My Ram
    A love story.
    By Jon Katz

    http://www.slate.com/id/2193851/

  71. chefsheila

    Oh and Note to all Lurkers.

    Obama is pulling off a classic move to center that ALL Presidential Candidates do before the convention. Nothin new here and it would pay for you all to understand the strategies of running for President.

    A reminder that all Presidential Candates will lay out policies and issues for us. Then when the most politically important (like Healther Care) reach Congress, by the time its moved, written, and approved, there will be many changes.

    On FISA, Obama knew that lying low with Pelosi and Reid was advicable AND THAT this bill can be over turned with a DEM PRES and a DEM Congress.

    RIght now our majority is a joke.

    Learn to think ourtside of your box fellow lurkers. Nothing is Black and White in Politics.

    Obama is managing this portion of the campaign brilliantly.

  72. chefsheila

    Oh and I did write that last in the most positive means I could. ;0)

  73. Brian In NYC

    Good morning peeps

  74. Brian In NYC

    NEW THREAD

Leave a Reply

