Post Reagan Democrat or Just Democrat? by Chef Sheila

Brian and I were conversing the other day about the various definitions in the Democratic Party (notice “DemocraTIC) and what label suited me.  I’ve never really bothered to define myself because I don’t normally like to be boxed in by labels so I had to really think about it.

Someone a while back used “Reagan Democrat” as an epithet and that got me angry. I voted for Reagan in my first vote.  If voting my conscience as an 18 year old can be a slander well then OK. However my first vote for President certainly didn’t label me for the rest of my life. Too bad there are older more seasoned Democrats who label and slander even people in their own party for perceived slights.

So what am I?   A Blue Dog?  No because it’s a label for congressmen on the Hill who are more conservative than the party platform.

Am I a Yellow Dog like Horsedooty?  No because I am not from the South and a Democrat who is voting democrat despite the rest of the conservative population.

Am I far left? No….all the evaluations and tests I’ve taken on the internet say I am center left.  Before 2001, when asked what Party I affiliated with, I always said I was “An American” and voted for who I pleased.   Still, I voted Democrat. I just didn’t want someone boxing me in.  It wasn’t until 9/11 that I stood up and claimed my spot in the party.

So what AM I?  Brian said I am a Progressive Christian.  In 2004 after the Kerry Defeat, I had to check my arm pits for the stench of what a “Left-wing-so-called-Christian-who-wasn’t-really-a-Christian-because-I-voted-for-Kerry….A mouthful. But not quite right either.  Because you see, I am a progressive Christian.

However, being a progressive Christian is not a political stance, it’s a way of life.  What separates me from a Conservative Christian is my LACK of a Political stance, my interpretation of “What Would Jesus Do”, my inclusiveness of all cultures and religions into my life, and how I live my life in celebration of it.

I am a left of center Democrat. Since the 1990’s I have described myself as “A Bleeding Heart Liberal with Fiscal Conservative Tendencies.”   My Republican friends usually sneer and my democratic friends have been known to snort!

I am for the NRA with limitations. As in full ban of assault rifles and semi automatic anything. I am for a Federal Law or 72 hour cooling off period with background checks before anyone can possess a gun. I am all for full on training and licensing of potential gun owners, just like drivers training and testing.

I am for full and relentless family planning. Beginning at the 7th grade and progressively until the 12 grade.  I am against abortion, but not against a woman’s right to choose. Her body, her conscience. But I reckon that if there was good education and family planning we would have a huge decrease in abortion.

I do not mind at all, the Ten Commandments or any other moral code displayed on our courtroom walls or some holiday display on the City Hall Lawn. I feel it’s fair to allow any faith to display for their holidays too.

I want total reform of the Federal Budget and a Pay As You Go platform. But I also want to find a way to re-install project Head Start among others to help the poor lift themselves up out of the poor house.  Last but not least a total repeal of the tax system with flat tax put into place. In my mind a flat tax would take care of all the inequalities of the present one and fund our new health system equally.


Now I knew there will be some tight jaws over this one, but this is why we have such a big tent! This is why I am a Democrat and proud to be so.

This is who Sheila Stone is, a left of center Democrat, who is also a New Democrat. This I recognized in Barack Obama. Moderation and sound reasoning, with a smattering of compassion and stewardship. Ready to be the President of all and not just some.

84 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

84 responses to “Post Reagan Democrat or Just Democrat? by Chef Sheila

  1. Sheila we don’t care what you are, we just love you, but if you ever vote repug again it’s over, over I tell ya!

  2. dog's eye view

    Totally off subject, but posted this just after Brian put up the new thread (which I am reading now):

    For those who did not punish themselves enough reading the recent NYTimes magazine cover story on Chris Matthews.

    This Sunday will feature a profile of Rush Limbaugh. NYTimes website has a great photo of him up — very film noirish portrait. Much more appealing than their treatment of Mark Warner many months back. (Remember how he ended up looking descended from mules?)

    Anyway, enjoy!

    http://www.nytimes.com/2008/07/06/magazine/06Limbaugh-t.html?hp

  3. Fantastic post, and fantastic pics! I would say you are a seasoned Democrat.

    I must be a yellow dog with a libertarian streak…..

    I even voted for Mondale, but don’t tell anyone. 

  4. I voted for Mondale too, but I don’t think that will come as a surprise to anyone! Sad for us his VP pick turned out to be as big an ass as Gore’s did!

  5. dog's eye view

    Excellent piece, Sheila. I’m in your party too, albeit with reservations about the flat tax (which I have not studied at all).

    That’s interesting you have made the leap to describing as a Democrat. I am still not there — prefer the “independent” label, since good ideas can be found in both parties.

    Anyway Sheila, you go girl on not allowing others to define you or try to impose someone else’s agenda on you, based on your support of various policies or candidates.

    As you have pointed out, politics and people interested in it are more multi-faceted than that.

  6. I was just asking myself, “Who is this Shelia?” 😉 Now I know.

    Very nice post. It highlights some of various viewpoints found amoung any group of people that have to come together to get something accomplished.

    Doesn’t mean one belief is better then the other, just varied.

  7. Nice senior photo….It would be fun to see everyones.

  8. Pouring through the Limpblob article referenced above. Its an interesting read.

  9. horsedooty

    thanks for the mention Chef Sheila. I am not certain that to be a Yellow Dog Democrat you have to come from the South now a days. Sure the term was coined in the South, but those were days gone by. Nice post by the way.

    ¡yo soy Horsedooty!

  10. I’ll try to send out my pics via e-mail today or tomorrow, though I am a hideous creature.

  11. I don’t have a high school graduation pic, but one thing I have been thinking about is doing a pics page of the regulars here.

  12. Gallup Tracking Obama up 5

    http://www.gallup.com/poll/election2008.aspx

    Gallup has new numbers show Obama developing a big lead among Hispanics.

  13. One of my many unfulfilled dreams in life is to shove a photographer and yell “get that Camera out of my face!”

    I’ll send those pics later today. It takes my computer forever to load though.

  14. dog's eye view

    Some great letters to the editor today in NYTimes re Tom Friedman’s recent column on “Anxious in America” and the nation-building work required here.

    First letter is from James MacGregor Burns.

    http://www.nytimes.com/2008/07/02/opinion/l02friedman.html?ref=opinion

  15. horsedooty

    Steve,

    “shove a photographer and yell “get that Camera out of my face!”

    I am a photographer and if will help your to do list you can shove me electronically.

    ¡yo soy Horsedooty!

  16. Elizabeth Edwards: McCain’s Health Care Plan “Most Radical In My Lifetime”

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2008/07/02/elizabeth-edwards-mccains_n_110453.html

  17. chefsheila

    Thanks so much! I was expecting someone to question my judgement, but maybe we are closer on some issues? >>>>>>>RUnning out the door again!>>>>

  18. Consider yourself shoved horse

  19. Obama not running as movement

    http://www.politico.com/news/stories/0708/11471.html

    This is a pretty interesting read and goes a long way in explaining some recent criticisms of Obama.

  20. Team Obama Goes Cherry-Picking

    Hillary’s top policy advisers fall in for the nominee

    http://www.observer.com/2008/politics/team-obama-goes-cherry-picking

    It’s a shame that cooler heads aren’t the norm in the blogisphere!

  21. dnd

    Great piece Shelia. Growing up I thought all Christians were progressives, given Jesus’ position on comforting the afflicted, moneychangers, etc.

    As for faith based programs, that’s a slippery slope. Granted they are way more effective than other charities, with very, very low overhead. And where applicable, more effective than many government relief agencies. But I question my tax dollars being spent that way. I think it’d be better to give tax credits for donations to charities, with possibly an upper bound, but no lower bound, even if you don’t itemize deductions.

  22. My feeling is that Obama wants to take advantage of the infrastructure that already exists in the faith community, also I think you are seeing the outcome of his experience with his church and their very successful community service programs. Also it’s a great way to take the wind out of a lot of repug sails over an issue that really is not that important in the long run.

  23. chefsheila

    Its also what used to happen in the long ago in this country. Everyone took part in taking care of each other. its a long tradition that got lost.

  24. Mr. Schmidt’s elevation is the latest sign of increasing influence of veterans of Mr. Rove’s campaign efforts in the McCain operation. Nicolle Wallace, who was communications director for Mr. Bush in the 2004 campaign and in his White House, has joined the campaign as a senior adviser, and will travel with Mr. McCain every other week. Greg Jenkins, another veteran of Mr. Rove’s operation, has joined the McCain communications operation.

    Mr. Jenkins is a former Fox News producer and a director of Mr. Bush’s presidential advance team that set up political events.

    Many Republicans, including some of Mr. McCain’s own aides, were greatly concerned about a speech that Mr. McCain gave the night that Senator Barack Obama claimed the Democratic presidential nomination. During that speech, Mr. McCain stood in front of a green background facing a low-energy crowd of supporters, providing a startling contrast with Mr. Obama’s supporters.

    http://www.nytimes.com/2008/07/03/us/politics/02cnd-manage.html?_r=1&8au&emc=au&oref=slogin

  25. dnd

    I understand Obama now running to the center. Pretty typical strategy. What I don’t understand is why McCain is not. Particularly when polls show such high disapproval ratings. Mr. Schmidt may know his stuff, but he’s got serious baggage.

  26. Having the left a little pissed off with him will serve him well with the moderates.

  27. dnd

    Good point Brian. Bill Clinton did this and is served him well.

  28. Yep yep, also I don’t think we should give up on FISA bill yet, I think he may end up voting against it, the tricky thing will be how he pulls off a turn around, but I think he’s gotten the msg.

  29. dnd

    David Corn on McCain’s Southern strategy:

    http://blogs.cqpolitics.com/davidcorn/

    As aside, CNN reported that the happiest people were in
    1. Denmark
    2. Puerto Rico
    3. Columbia
    16. United States

    Maybe this is why McCain went to Columbia?

  30. dnd

    Oil hit record $144/bbl today. Closed at $143/bbl.
    I think I’d better check the air in the tires on my bike and lube the chain. The only thing my car will drive me to is the poor house.

  31. And GM’s stock hit an all time low today, for the first time since 1954 it closed under 10, and talk of GM filing for bankruptcy is being heard.

  32. On CNBC this morning they were openly discussing a remote possibility oil could go to 200/bbl by New Year’s. They said the chance was there, but it was a slim one.

  33. Brian, been having fun today was it an up or down day for the market?

  34. dnd

    Hip,
    Down. 1.46% for the Dow. 2.32% for the Nasdaq.

    http://finance.yahoo.com/

  35. dnd

    Obama in Colorado Springs today:

    http://www.thedenverchannel.com/news/16768499/detail.html

    Following the speech, w/o cameras as this was not a campaign event, visited Peterson AFB, Northcom, and the Air Force Academy.

  36. If the market goes any lower and gas keeps going higher Obama will be able to spend the next couple of months sitting on the beach and could still be elected.

  37. Dows sinking pretty low now, something like 4 or 5 straight days….

  38. You know if Clark stands his ground and people really start to think about what he ACTUALLY said- which is that McCain isnt qualified to be President based solely on his honorable service, coupled with Obama grabbing the middle, McCain might be up the creek.

    What would really be cool would be if Mccain blows his stack right on camera.

  39. I think Clark is running hard for the VP slot, these people who say he’s taking himself out of the running because of “ClarkGate” I think are flat out wrong. Who better to go after McCain on this stuff than Clark

  40. chefsheila

    Brian,

    We think alike politically. As I said before, I really get a gut check here. I think that the reason why Obama hasn’t come to his aid (is truly not in is personality to fob someone off) is because Clark was supposed to

    “expose” the obvious. The General is much more capable of shooting holes in McCain’s Halo-like POW Urban Legend.

    Why else didn’t Clark back down if he did indeed mess things up for Obama? He’s been quietly sanctioned to go ahead and shovel this to the public to sink it in the memories of the public for the next few weeks.

    he just chopped McCain at the knees. AND notice no one of importance is coming to Clarks aid either. Yes, I think Obama and Clark were working on this together.

  41. chefsheila

    Wow….Dick Gephardt for Veep…..I could deal with that. I hadn’t thought of him before. Rock solid Stateman and would never be able to over shadow Obama. A real positive thought.

    I hope someone at least looks at him.

  42. Look, let’s face reality, Clark is correct. He said what he said. If he stands his ground then he comes out better. Look at Charlie Black saying terrorist attacks help McCain, he aint leaving, why should Clark?

  43. chefsheila

    No one said he was. I actually said, Clark is working for the campaign.

  44. I’m not buying the Gephardt thing, doesn’t make sense to me. However as has been stated some feel Obama needs a boring white guy as his VP, and Gephardt certainly qualifies on that score! 🙂

  45. dnd

    Clark is positioning himself as the veep “bad cop” to the nominee’s “good cop.” Might work

    Didn’t Gephardt vote for the war in Iraq? That’s probably a black mark for the veep slot.

  46. chefsheila

    Needs to appea to more people yes, but he also needs to have a good worker familiar wtih bipertisanship in the Sendate in order to chane.

    yes, Gephardt is boring.

  47. Hi Sheila…

    Well I guess you and me have a lot more in common than I thought.

    I agree pretty much with what you say though I think the flat tax is a good idea it would also have to apply to corporations.

    No tax breaks for research, none for expenses or improvements or depreciation. Let them pay taxes on what they make just like we do.

    We don’t get no breaks for rent, phone, gas, electricity, transportation, food and all the other vital services we need to make ends meet so why should they get them.

    Like you too I consider myself a Christian and often think that the evangelicals give Christianity a bad name. I also think what would Jesus do, what would Jesus say.

    We also need to teach our children about sex and reproduction so they don’t learn it on the streets. Too often the parents will not do this and the kids are already learning from there friends what we won’t tell them and to many times they end up with a lot of misinformation.

    We should not condemn anyones religion and try to or attempt to shove ours down there throats by telling them that they are going to Hell if they don’t accept Jesus as their Lord and Saviour.

    Just who the Hell are we to tell someone else their Religion is false. How the Hell do we know it is? Is not God God?

    A rose by any other name is still a rose is it not?

    And yes we should pay as we go and not be a society of debt. If we can not afford it we should wait until we can or not buy it. The Government should do the same thing.

    We also need to take care of our elderly and help those who can not always help themselves. Sometimes it’s not there fault and all circumstances should be considered instead of assuming that those who need help are lazy or not willing to help themselves.

    Our children are our future and if we don’t educate them or give them the health care they need when sick or provide even the basic needs and care when growing up we are not lifting up our society or country.

    On another note I do not think that Obama is going to the center. He has not changed his positions as some want to believe. He is reaching out to all Americans to bring them together and do what is best for America and all citizens no matter what their race, creed or religion.

    Senator Obama is truly a leader and if we do not stand behind him then maybe were not really ready for change after all.

    The future is before us and if we do not grab the ring then we have nothing to complain about if things don’t change.

    Very good post Sheila and …

    God Bless.

  48. dnd

    Gephardt is boring, but he’s honest. And he needs a job. Left congress with no money and only his integrity intact. Except for that Iraq war decision. People who I know in Missouri who supported him are really pissed about that.

  49. Brian…

    I hate to say this, however I can not access this site from work.

    It is blocked so I have to check in late like this and I do hope that when I leave a comment to someones post that they see it.

    Outside of that the site is very good.

    Now off to see what everyone is complaining about or writing about on other sites I lurk or comment at.

    Take care my friend and …

    God Bless.

  50. Steve {Aging HIpster}…

    I just wanted to say hello and hope your family is doing well.

    Take care buddy and …

    God Bless.

  51. Oh bye the way this is my fourth comment #4.

    Don’t want to hog the limelight or leave too many comments.

    LOL…LOL…LOL…LOL…

    God Bless.

  52. You can comment to your heart’s content! We encourage it actually, unless you bring up anyone’s birth certificate! LOL

  53. Comment #5…

    Want to know about Waterboarding?

    Christopher Hitchens under goes Waterboarding and says “Believe Me, It’s Torture”.

    Video link below.

    http://www.vanityfair.com/politics/features/video/2008/hitchens_video200808

    Story on Huffington Post link below.

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2008/07/02/ivanity-fairis-christophe_n_110444.html
    God Bless.

  54. dnd

    AP,
    Was Christopher Hitchens waterboarded with scotch and cigarettes 😉

  55. Watching or litening to Chrisopher Hitchens is torture enough for me no matter what he’s up to! Someone get that man to an AA meeting, and do it quick!

  56. Anon, Miss you and have not always been able to comment at your place. for some reason my computer acts up at your site.

    Hip

  57. Brian
    In the Limpblob story today at NY Times Limpblob cited Hitchens as a favorite. Unfortunately so does one of my old college buddies.

  58. Comment #6…

    China Inspired Interrogations at Guantánamo.

    “What the trainers did not say, and may not have known, was that their chart had been copied verbatim from a 1957 Air Force study of Chinese Communist techniques used during the Korean War to obtain confessions, many of them false, from American prisoners.”

    Huffingtonpost story link below.

    http://www.nytimes.com/2008/07/02/us/02detain.html?partner=rssuserland&emc=rss&pagewanted=all

    What a great country we have become under Der Fuhrer Adolph Bush and Dick Heinrich Himmler Cheney.

    God Bless.

  59. Comment #7…

    Hitchens was indeed Waterboarded. Watch the video.

    When will the International Community stand up and file War Crimes charges against these Criminals?

    That’s all I want to know.

    Steve…

    What kind of problem are you having on my site. Maybe the NSA is causing it. LOL…LOL…LOL…

    God Bless.

  60. Mr. Magoo buys ads in….Virginia!?!

    http://tpmelectioncentral.talkingpointsmemo.com/2008/07/mccain_campaign_buys_ad_time_i.php

    Dude, that state hasnt gone Democratic since uhm…LBJ….two years before i was born.

  61. AP, its a computer glitch. Dunno know???

    Gotta run gang. Wife is in the living room looking pretty and there’s something good on the TEE VEE.

    Later S

  62. AP every time I read Adolph Bush I want a beer!

  63. dog's eye view

    Steve: Virginia might be competitive this year. Just went to a district organizing meeting and came away feeling (a) hey, this wasn’t a complete waste of time and (b) we have got a real shot. In addition to our own precincts, we will be working heavily in a nearby precinct that was reliably GOP a few years ago; went for Jim Webb by a scarily slim margin, and might be a swing district for us this year.

    Voter registration and outreach to disaffected and disillusioned voters. Name of the game this year.

  64. dog's eye view

    RE the Gephardt as VP float: per Yahoo story I saw, it sounded like that was the GOP gaming out the possible VP picks.

    Maybe it’s a way to remind older Dems — hey, look — he just dissed a hardworking older politician with a longer Senate record. Again. Or if he goes with Sebelius or McCaskill: hey look white guys; he passed over someone with a lot of seniority. Again.

  65. dnd

    and the margin of error is?

  66. I’d love to see to McCaskill on the ticket, I think she’s earned it, but I stand by my stand that two senators on the same ticket is not a good idea, Sebelius is a gov. which from my point of view puts her at the top of the list.

  67. dog's eye view

    um, make that Congressional record. Realize Gephardt was a congressman.

  68. dog's eye view

    Yes: re any 2 points in Virginia: we call the Bradley Effect the Wilder Effect here. Wherein Gov. Doug Wilder barely slipped in on the tails of a sizeable lead in the polls.

    Think it has to be at least 5-6 points before anyone breathes easily in Virginia.

    ALTHOUGH: VIrginia is becoming highly transient in some areas (the People’s Republic of Northern Virginia among them) and new voter registration should make a difference. Particularly of young Virginians.

  69. dog's eye view

    From Marc Ambinder’s column. This was pretty hilarious. Reminds me of a newspaper story that had a budget “back in the African American.”

    http://blog.washingtonpost.com/sleuth/2008/07/christian_sites_ban_on_g_word.html

  70. The “G” world, LOL, oh those silly silly right wingers. What next, calling french fries freedom fries? (Of course the funniest thing for me was french fries were invented in Belgium, not France!)

  71. Obama today in North Dakota
    at 11 AM

  72. dog's eye view

    Joint Chiefs Chairman Adm. Mullen says US needs more troops in Afghanistan, but they’re stuck in Iraq.

    http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2008/07/02/AR2008070202010.html?hpid=topnews

    Plz let the Pentagon push back against any premature adventuring in Iran when we’ve not finished the job in Afghanistan yet. It’s important to win there.

  73. dog's eye view

    Again, New York Times readers are miles ahead of the pundits writing columns. Letters to the Editor take Paul Krugman and David Brooks to task for their rather simplistic takes on Obama and issues in this election.

    http://www.nytimes.com/2008/07/03/opinion/l03obama.html?ref=opinion

  74. chefsheila

    So Burrito brought up Biden for Veep with an article on the email list this morning.

    I’m a thinkin. I think we can bet that the short list is very short right now.

    Obama’s public statments about Sebelious is very warm and there can be no doubt that she is held in high regard by him.

    He has done the same with Biden through out the campaign.

    So let me state this for the Backchannel record. Chef Sheila would want Biden to finally get his due, by having the honor of helping the first African American to become President of the US. The guys is just dynamite. He would be a major asset to the Presidency.

    I like Sebelious after reading about her strength and actually her brilliance. However, I personally think Obama needs a human that is so strong and brings a note of calm to the public. someone that the older and well as younger know and have respect for. I personaly thing that This Time, we need that for the country. Not just to win.

    My hope is that Obama is thinking in the same mode.

  75. chefsheila

    woow………I love coffee….

    Ok, so Chefy is going to be doing lunch for workers today and the next two days. My boss puts up a fireworks display on Gravelly Lake at the Warehouser home. He’s done it for 20 years. They find volunteers every year and its up to me to make a nice hearty lunch for these guys who are mostly Lumberjacks….are they still called that?……..or has cutting down trees become “Tree fabrication? Living Organism Extraction?

    LOL

  76. dnd

    I think anyone on the presumed Obama veep short list would be excellent. And those who don’t make the cut are certainly cabinet possibilities.

    Biden has some baggage, but he’s got solid experience. And I think he would be the best campaigner.

  77. chefsheila

    I agree and I would add; Biden is one of the best debaters. He’s alway well read and prepared and can deliver words and reason on just about any subject known to man. ;0)

  78. Morning peeps,
    NEW THREAD

Leave a Reply

