So Where Do YOU Get Your News? by dog’s eye view

Thin post after much better efforts by maggi, dnd, Sheila, EuroTom, Doots, and our (to some, surprisingly!) gracious editor, Brian. You collectively raised that bar pretty damn high. Phoning in today’s piece; here goes.

Online sites are ever more important in disseminating news stories and exploring issues in greater depth than the more standard MSM is able or willing to do — due to budget constraints and/or subtle discouragement by corporate owners. Some give readers a chance to weigh in – usually intelligently, calling on commenters’ varied backgrounds and experience, so that others profit by it. (Think of Josh Marshall’s readers sifting through Department of Justice document dumps and strategizing on arcane points of election law.)

Where do Backchannel readers go to get their news? What blogs or news sites do you read frequently, and trust for accurate content? Would love to hear of some new sites – and writers – from you. (Perhaps we could add some of these links to our political and newsblogs roundup at right.)

A salute to some personal favorites:

BLOGS

My desert island site (once Backchannel is safely in its baby life vest): Andrew Sullivan, for his willingness to reason through an issue in real time, and to own up to new directions and corrections in his thinking. His passions are not always mine – or yours, but you will find links to excellent stories and video daily. (You can access blogs by Marc Ambinder and James Fallows – briefly on hiatus – by clicking the “Voices” link above Andrew’s postings.)

Talking Points Memo. Josh Marshall is a modern patriot.

Journalist Al Giordano (blog: The Field) provided a lot of original and prescient analysis of the 2008 primary season. He just had a falling out with his bloghome at Rural Votes, but is now with Narco News and his readers contributed $7,400 in one week to send Al to the Democratic Convention. Apparently Rural Votes kept his press credentials, but look out Denver. Independent reporting will ensue. www.narcosphere.narconews.com/thefield

The Washington Note is frequently over my head (multiple posts on The Law of the Seas?), but rewards those interested in politics and international affairs. Its founder, Steve Clemons of the New America Foundation, is generous in sharing his contacts and experiences. Steve travels frequently and meets up with his readers for coffee all over this country and abroad. (“Note” fans in Chillicothe, Texas: mark your calendars.) His DC seminars assemble Chuck Hagel, Joe Biden, Hillary Clinton (whose candidacy he supported) and other insightful legislators, scholars, and writers.

The Washington Monthly. Catblogging on Fridays. Plus great analysis by Kevin Drum, his guest columnists and readers. Will hunt down for you a readers’ thread on GW Bush’s speaking style (or lack thereof) that still amuses.

If way smarter, I would read Obsidian Wings constantly. And have no time for much else! www.obsidianwings.blogs.com

Tip of an appletini to Craig Crawford, but watch out for the stilettoing, anonymous or otherwise. www.blogs.cqpolitics.com/trailmix

Dick Polman’s Philadelphia Inquirer blog and the Chicago Tribune’s Swamp are good, although have not looked in for ages.

NEWSPAPERS (all domestic – international newspaper readers, suggestions, please):

New York Times online. (www.nytimes.com) Kudos for making archives since 1981 and editorial content freely available to all readers.

Enjoy the Los Angeles Times (www.latimes.com) for shark sightings at Pacific beaches, tale of a dead woman on ice at the Fairmont Newport Beach hotel (but was it a crime?), SoCal Hong Kong style cafes open 24/7, wildfires; good coverage of national and world news too. Great in-depth human interest stories with “Column One”. California has lost too many soldiers to our wars, current and past, and the LA Times has chronicled their lives and loss well.

The Washington Post (www.washingtonpost.com), once or twice daily. (You at the Washington Post: loosen up those archives!! Would be a community service, although might also remind us how far your paper has fallen on some fronts.)

Earlier this year, cancelled our subscription to the dead tree version, in place since the Nixon administration. Too much neocon-enabling on the editorial page, despite the fresh reporting of Dana Priest and Anne Hull (Walter Reed series) and many others. Katharine Graham’s great truth-uncovering daily is a shell of its former self, with a few bright stars. Too much WaPo online content is yucky, banal or partisan.

But hey, they’ve got Eugene Robinson. And, uh, Charles Krauthammar and Michael Gerson. Did I mention neocon-enabling?

The Christian Science Monitor is very good. Usually find something quirky. (Suburban Aussies discovering their new neighborhoods include bull sharks in the canals. How did the realtor fail to mention THAT?)

OK now — what do YOU read? (Or what will you ADMIT to reading?, if you prefer.)
75 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

75 responses to “So Where Do YOU Get Your News? by dog’s eye view

  1. chefsheila

    Man….Are we twins of what?

    I would add Slate.com for sometimes weird and brilliant thought provoking stuff.
    Politico.com is like a circus. Fun to cruze in for a look about once a week. Their blogs and be very entertaining.
    And of course, CSPAN.com. I love dry information with no icing.

    Thanks Dog, your too hard on yourself

  2. Ok lets see, if I’m going out in the morning I buy the paper version of the NY Times to read on the subway, either wise I read the online version.

    Throughout the day I check in with the following sites,

    HuffPo
    TPM
    RCP

    Another great source for me is my iGoogle start page, the politics tab I have set up includes headlines from yahoo and AP

  3. chefsheila

    Going to have to check out obsidian wings. The name is bizarre. ;0)

  4. If you want to bring a chuckle or two into your day checkout 236.com, a great tongue in cheek news site.

  5. horsedooty

    I like CrooksandLiars.com
    and the Rawstory.com

    ¡yo soy Horsedooty!

  6. dnd

    dog,
    Excellent topic.
    I get my news from print media and some from the network news. Though the latest on AP makes me skeptical of all of them.

    I get opinion from blogs and cable tv. It’s pretty rare for me to find real news on blogs or cable.

    If I want to get credible news and opinion, I watch the McNeil-Lehrer Report (I know, I know. It’s the NewsHour with Jim Lehrer. Old habits die hard).

  7. horsedooty

    Dog,

    if some of those sites are to smart for you, what chance do I have?

    ¡yo soy Horsedooty!

  8. The Newshour is broadcast at 7 here, if I’ve seen the first play of Tweety I watch the Newshour, if I’ve missed the first broadcast of Tweety I watch him at 7. Cause you know a day without that Tweety tingle up my leg is like a day without sunshine!

  9. dnd

    Off topic, but God bless Harry Reid. Here’s his common sense on energy:

  10. GOP Rep: Bush “Should Stay Home” During Republican Convention

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2008/07/04/gop-rep-bush-should-stay_n_110949.html

    8 years too late!

  11. Tonyb39

    Brian and all
    A day without Tweety,HA HA you almost made me choke on my potato salad!!! I like your humor.I have been without Tweety for months and have managed to get my tingle elsewhere!!! I fill the void with T.M.blog and the many links you and the others provide.I also stop by my local library and read NYT,Orlando Sentinel,WSJ and many magazines,Time,Newsweek,U.S.News and others.I also lurk online at some Pro Hillary sights.If you want a listing just let me know?HA HA. I Enjoy all your blog pieces there packed full of great info.THANKYOU

  12. By all means post your pro-Hillary sites if you like, and if it gives you a tingle up the leg, all the better (for you, not for us!)

    🙂

  13. Tonyb39

    I like the democracy you promote here!! Wished you could have been in charge of counting every vote for the Dems. i might still be in the party………I feel a bit of a tingle……..HA

  14. dog's eye view

    Hi Tony. Welcome.

  15. Maybe you should spread a drop cloth under your chair just to be safe.

  16. Tonyb39

    Hey Dog
    Thanks.I have over these many months learned alot from your posts.God you all at both blogs continue to blow me away with all your smarts and great writing skills.I am a lunch bucket type not so great at writing but again i have improved because of all of you.
    Brian
    Thanks so much for looking out for me and any possible cleanup!!! He he

  17. The Buffalo News reports that former Vice Presidential candidate John Edwards will debate Karl Rove on Sept. 26 on the campus of the University of Buffalo as part of the school’s Distinguished Speakers Series. In the midst of the U.S. attorney scandal, Edwards called on President Bush to “fire Karl Rove.” When Rove announced he was resigning from the White House, Edwards released a statement that simply read “Goodbye, good riddance.”

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2008/07/05/john-edwards-to-debate-ka_n_110981.html

  18. dog's eye view

    Wow,that would be a great thing to see (Rove v Edwards).

    Although I would not cry if it were postponed because Rove was under indictment, being arraigned that day, or closeted with lawyers.

    Hope C-Span televises that. Edwards was a good trial lawyer and it would be interesting to see how Rove debates or what he is like in an extended format.

  19. yeah my fingers are crossed too that it will be televised. Too bad Russert is dead, with it being in done in Buffalo had he still been with us perhaps NBC would have covered it.

  20. dog's eye view

    Tony: lunch bucket type, hmm?

    I will trade you an egg salad with cookie for that pimiento cheese.

  21. Send the egg salad my way, I eat a lot of it.

  22. dog's eye view

    what you trading?

  23. One Craig’s fried bologna sandwiches. YUCK!

  24. horsedooty

    do yall subscribe to the theory that you have to boil the eggs for exactly 18 min from cool to keep the yoke from being green? I heard that and it worked very well.

    ¡yo soy Horsedooty!

  25. No, I bring the eggs to a boil, cover the pot, turn off the heat and let them sit for 20 minutes. FYI older eggs are easier to peel than fresher eggs after being hard boiled.

  26. horsedooty

    what in your estimation causes the yokes to be green colored?

    ¡yo soy Horsedooty!

  27. colleen

    Doots, I believe it is Dr. Seuss who makes the eggs green

  28. horsedooty

    colleen,

    of course, what was I thinking. Very clever

    ¡yo soy Horsedooty!

  29. horsedooty

    we have over 4000 hits now.

    ¡yo soy Horsedooty!

  30. Yep, we’re doing pretty well for the new kid on the block, and to think it was done without any sexy stories (yet)!

  31. horsedooty

    Yep, we’re doing pretty well for the new kid on the block, and to think it was done without any sexy stories (yet)!

    Holding hands over ears and with eyes shut tightly, “NananananaNummmmmmmmmmmNannnnnnnnnn”

    ¡yo soy Horsedooty!

  32. dnd

    Tony,
    I like ‘tater salad too:

  33. colleen

    ok, back to topic

    some of my fave (lefty) new sites and blogs:

    Buzzflash
    Common Dreams
    OpEd News
    Truthout
    AlterNet
    WorkingForChange
    Welcome to Pottersville
    JeffCohen
    truthdig
    Rude Pundit

  34. colleen

    my 2 fave foods…potato salad and birthday cake

  35. dnd

    And what’s tater salad without hard boiled eggs?
    Doots, here’s the Julia Child (I think) method:

    Put the eggs in cold water 1″ over the top of the eggs. Over medium heat bring the water to a boil. When the water boils, remove from the heat and let them sit, covered, for 17 min. After 17 min cool them quickly with an ice water bath. No green yolks.

    I think Brian is right that it’s overcooking that turns them green. I’ve also heard that older eggs are easier to peel, though I can’t remember why, and for me it doesn’t seem to make any difference.

    To know the age of eggs, forget the “sell by” date on the carton. There’s a number by that which is the Julian date the eggs were laid (or candled or put in the carton or something).

  36. Say Obama!

    This dog acts the way my Ralphie acts when I play with him, “real tough guy”, not!

  37. colleen

    on the internet, nobody knows you’re a dog

    http://www.unc.edu/depts/jomc/academics/dri/idog.html

  38. Am I the only one here who is loyal to The Daily Show and The Colbert Report? Oh, and I get my prison updates on MSNBC and CNN is great for weather catastrophes.

    🙄

  39. dnd

    Ms Burrito,
    I love political satire. And Stewart and Colbert are two of the best.

  40. Love Stephen and Jon, and great line on the prison updates UB

  41. Tonyb39

    Wish i could have you all join me for some potato salad,there’s plenty its just me and the dogs.For me potato salad must contain plenty of eggs,celery,green pepper,salt and pepper and lots of mayo with a dash of mustard.I slice eggs for the top and paprika. My moms recipe.My mom was such a good cook,miss her magic.

    Dog You got it egg salad for pimiento any day!!!

    dnd Thanks for the tator link!!!

    Brian I never knew why sometimes the eggs peeled better than others times.I will definitely keep eggs longer before i boil.I never would have guessed you were as smart about food too….Shall we do Disco trivia?

  42. dnd

    Speaking of food, there’s been a lot of concern that there’ll be no fried foods at the DNC in Denver. Not to worry. Denver’s Five Points neighborhood isn’t too far from the convention.

    http://www.denverpost.com/food/ci_9605805

    There’s three ways I’ll eat okra:
    1. Gumbo
    2. pickled
    3. breaded and deep fried.

  43. dog's eye view

    Tony: what kind of dogs?

    Burrito: you said it about MSNBC and prison docs. Polygamists seem to be newsworthy too.

  44. Everything about disco is trivial.

  45. horsedooty

    d nd,

    okra

    #3 is the preferred method here for me.

    I will eat it in gumbo

    pickled…I don’t think so

    ¡yo soy Horsedooty!

  46. dnd

    Doots,
    Pickled okra is great. There’s some outfit in Texas that sells it in the local grocery stores. I usually split the jars and fill the other half with pickled serranos (Faro) and let it sit in the fridge for a month. Something about hot spice and okra really works. And it’s a lot more healthy than deep fried okra, which unfortunately is my favorite too.

  47. Tonyb39

    Hey Dog
    Schnauzers and there a wonderful breed very smart and hyper though.Oh god if any one comes over they bark non stop,i have taken to putting on the radio in there room and shutting there door.I love them but sometimes tire of there barking.Pepper was my moms dog and Jesse was my grandmothers.Thanks for asking a lick and a kiss from them,they love attention!!!

  48. colleen

    good morning, folks. dog-talk and picnic food, what more can a person ask for?

  49. dog's eye view

    Good morning all. What’s up this morning? A bit overcast in DC area today, but enjoying the deck with coffee and dogs and laptop.

  50. dog's eye view

    Kathy Kiely of USAToday was on Washington Journal this morning to discuss her recent article, “Obama faces online backlash for centrist views”.

    http://www.usatoday.com/news/politics/election2008/2008-07-02-Obama-centrist_N.htm

    Missed most of her segment, but callers at the end were bearing out yesterday’s email chat on the CNN poll and Hillary supporters, particularly older ones.

    Lotso older sounding callers who just won’t vote for Obama. Because of lack of experience.

    One older gal who claimed that said she was going to be voting for the independent, whoever was. No experience bar there. Moderator got her to admit she was a Hillary supporter.

    Point of light, though: she was not contemplating a McCain protest vote.
    =======

    on that note, since no one is out to play yet this morning, will cut and paste yesterday’s email chat.

    Come out come out wherever you are!

  51. Hey good morning, dog! and all –

    Drinking coffee about to head to the dog park. 🙂

    Beautiful day here in Ohio (west side of Cleveland). One extra day before the work week starts. I have alway been “for” the four day work week with a three day weekend…it makes perfect sense to me. I mean a 10 hour day isn’t much more than an 8 hour day…..
    But alas , I don’t rule the world.

    enjoy!

  52. dog's eye view

    Burrito: I wonder if an energy crunch will make your 4 day workweek more likely? It’s a great stab at reducing work-related commuting, or changing the flow.

    Would be family friendly too, and might not make that much of a difference in “American competitiveness.” Might actually help on that score?

    Living amidst federal workers here, have known several to work a long 4-day week for just that reason. (Then the one across the street retired elsewhere and started an internet business taking golfers to good courses in Europe. That was inspired.)

  53. dnd

    Here’s a feel good story. The pilot that brought the three American hostages home from Columbia, Capt. Heidi Bucheit, offered them chocolate chip cookies that she bakes for her crew.

    http://www.thedenverchannel.com/news/16795127/detail.html

  54. horsedooty

    I am out and ready to play

    ¡yo soy Horsedooty!

  55. horsedooty

    was gonna go fishing this AM but decided that I needed to eat breakfast first then it was too hot. Fish are spared yet again. Maybe this PM till dark.

    ¡yo soy Horsedooty!

  56. Do fish like to eat anything? How did worms become bait for fish?

    (fishing challenged)

    Like the idea of conserving energy, with the four day work week….better for family….I like it!

    I was going to the Dog Park, buy my lazy fury friends are still sleeping , a dog’s life, gee I wouldn’t want to wake them…let the babies sleep. My teens don’t wake until God knows when.

    getting a cup of jo ::::

  57. Tonyb39

    Dog
    Thanks for that USA link earlier.I myself think Sen. Obama is doing the correct thing in moving to the center.I understand people’s feelings of despair on some of these issue’s though.I felt the same about Hillary on the war vote and her refusal to apologize for it.I got over it when i looked at the big picture.I am trying to do that regarding a vote for Sen. Obama,but one things for sure no vote for McCain ever!!!

  58. dog's eye view

    Obama opening campaign offices, dispatching paid staff to South Carolina. From The State.

    http://www.thestate.com/local/story/453289.html

    =======

    Tony: being a centrist, I am fine with Obama’s perceived move there. Don’t think it’s the switcheroo the press would have you believe.

  59. dog's eye view

    Good to see y’all up! Am thinking of a bike ride along the Potomac a little later. Not too late though, it’s still cool.

    dnd: good story about the C-17 pilot. Love being in a country where women can bake cookies and fly military planes. And one is going to be president in our lifetime, assuming we have a few more election cycles in us.

    My neighbors were playing some great music last night for backyard dinner — sounded like Stephane Grapelli and Django Reinhardt. Julian said it was off some Woody Allen soundtrack.

  60. dog's eye view

    Putting up yesterday’s email chain on the CNN poll.

    Email thread from Saturday, July 5 on CNN/Opinion Research poll results showing many Hillary supporters are still cool to Obama:

    dog at 11:37 a:

    CNN/Opinion Research poll indicates some Hillary supporters still do not plan to support Obama, although number actively threatening to vote for McCain has decreased.

    What do you think about this? Do you think numbers will go down after convention when, presumably, BHO does not select Hillary because she does not help him that much with independents and some moderate GOP otherwise ripe for picking up?

    John Kerry was never my first choice in 2004, but don’t recall Dean or Edwards supporters in such a lather….

    How representative IS Trail Mix?

    Because my mother, yellow dog democrat, is still yelling at the TV set any time Obama is mentioned or appears.

    This is ageism and racism and poor critical reasoning on the part of my mother, who will not give him a chance, but she’s got to be a major demographic.

    http://www.cnn.com/2008/POLITICS/07/04/clinton.poll/index.html

    ………………………………………………………………………………..

    Sheila at 11:47 a:

    Not pointing things out with anyone,

    But tomorrow it would be so nice if we all started using the blog to do this. Maybe using here to point out that you put something on there.

    The reason Crawfordslist worked so well was because we hung out there and added so much more than just the thread.

    Lisa and Colleen are always the food for the fodder girls. Come up with great things. But we are so used to here….

    Well not today, but but how about Monday? We all gather and then tag team it? I’m going to be advertising on facebook. I’m going to be sending us out to all my friends. So the lurker state of grace will be coming up a level.

    We may be able to get some people comfortable with us if we are enjoying it as a neighborhood again. Just like its turning out in the evening with Burrito, Brian, dnd, and anon-p. It looks like it anyway.

    Lets All go Back To The Neighborhood…..Now should we….now should we…. lol to borrow from Mr Rogers!

    Sheila

    ……………………………………………………………………………………

    Doots at 11:47 a:

    Lisa, Every time my mother sees Obama she says, “God, I hate that man.” At least she is calling him a man and not a boy. Sometimes you gotta take the heavens for small wonders. My mom is drifting into senility also. My mother would not vote for a Democrat without a gun being pointed at her head. I don’t think Trail Mix is all that reflective of the general voting public. ‘Course when you live in the “hood” like I do, Obama is still the favorite by a long shot.

    ……………………………………………………………………………………….

    Sheila at 11:49 a:

    [I have an elderly relative who’s the same.] An intelligent woman who just can’t vote for a black man. She’s 79. Its generational.

    I know Brian, your relatives are more youthful. They come that way too! lol

    …………………………………………………………………………………………..

    Sheila at 11:52 a:

    Oh and She is White. Plantation mentality is prevalent in White Americans. They just either don’t know it or don’t want to admit they are being heinous.

    ……………………………………………………………………….

    Brian at 11:55 a:

    “I know Brian, yours is more youthful. They come that way too! lol”

    Family trait, youthful genes!

    …………………………………………………………………………………………

    dnd at 11:59 a:

    Well, my Mom is 84, white, voted for Bush and regrets it. And she’s been for Obama from the get-go.

    I don’t think Trail Mix is particularly representative of Hillary supporters, but they are certainly representative of a vocal subset.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………..

    dog at 12:11 p

    Wow. Know Obama campaign has an unusually strong emphasis on registering new voters, and now we know why. Maybe it is impossible to win the election with the voters currently on the rolls.

    Change the voters instead of change the candidate. Oddly, same guiding spirit behind gerrymandering.

    My Seal Beach friend who supported Hillary gave one reason as being Obama would have an easier time of it an election or two down the road, given demographics.

    But the time can be now too.

    We just saw the death of one senator who tried to hold back a generation or two of change.

    Maybe we will see a generational switch in presidents this year.

    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

    Colleen at 1:18 p:

    maybe mistrust of him IS typical for that dempgraphic. I have an elderly friend, age 75, with whom I’ve always pretty much had the same, shared, liberal views, but she hates him too, and she can’t explain why.

    ……………………………………………………………………………………………

    Colleen at 1:21 p:
    maybe those old, white women are afraid he’ll come after their daughters, heaven forbid. Remember when Barack said his grandmother crosses the street because she is afraid of Black men? His honesty got him criticized because he touched a primitive nerve that most want to deny.

    …………………………………………………………………………………………….

    Brian at 1:21 p:

    Well there is no question that the nomination of Obama has forced many people into a put up or shut up position! In all candor I never believed we would see a Black America as the nominee of my party in my life time, and I think a great many other people felt that way too. So it was easy to be “liberal” when you assumed you’d never have to act on what you claimed to be your beliefs.

    …………………………………………………………………………………………….

    dog at 1:35 p:

    I agree [Colleen]. Others call it throwing the grandma under the bus; I say it’s observing human nature. (And that he and his grandmother loved and respected each other dearly comes through clearly in his writing.)

    ………………………………………………………………………………………

    dog at 1:37 p:

    It was SURREAL seeing the news of Jesse Helms’ death reported on various blog and news sites yesterday that featured Vote for Obama advertisements as well.

    PS: this thread will be copied onto backchannel later, by moi, unless anyone asks their comment be redacted.

  61. horsedooty

    UB,

    fish will eat a lot of different things. and different fish types eat different things. Catfish like something called “blood bait” Shrimp are good also. that is a cross fish food. They like minnows and small frogs and insects. So, you see, there are a lot of different things to serve them on a hook. Trout like insects and to some degree worms and salmon eggs. The idea is to get them to eat what you are serving. The amount of lures sold and offered is astounding. A lot of the lures catch more fishermen than fish though. if you want to see some of the lures try http://www.cabelas.com then look up the fishing section and look for lures both hard and soft.

    ¡yo soy Horsedooty!

  62. dnd

    “The idea is to get them to eat what you are serving.”

    Doots, with all due respect, the idea is to serve them what they are eating. Which is probably why I never have any luck with lures 😉

  63. I thought the idea was, to go fishing when the fish were hungry? then anything will look tasty ?

    Huge industry , thanks for the link… 🙂

  64. What a bummer, to bite into a fake worm only to end up with a hook in your mouth.

  65. dog's eye view

    Just don’t put okra on that lure!

    Doots: it seems timing is everything with fishing. Early morning or later in the day in the shade.

  66. horsedooty

    dnd,

    thanks for correcting my sentence that is what I meant.

    I am a moroon!

    ¡yo soy Horsedooty!

  67. horsedooty

    dog,

    yep, timing is essential. Early in the AM and late in the PM is when some fish will move. Sometimes they are just in a suspended state and nothing will make them want to eat. It is a life long mystery to some of us to figure out where the fish are to begin with and what the fish will eat that day. So far, the fish are winning.

    ¡yo soy Horsedooty!

  68. I totally forgot about Christian Science Monitor! When I worked in community radio CSM had these great 5 minute on the hour news updates that were a real staple of our morning programming. I was so sad when they stopped producing them !!!

  69. Tom you don’t have to hide on old threads, we won’t turn you into the blog police!

Leave a Reply

