Razzle Dazzle by BrianInNYC

Since last week all we’ve heard from the PUMA – Repug set is that Obama’s trip to the Middle East and Europe is all about razzle-dazzle and short on substance. Well guess what folks, you’re partially right, this trip for the most part is primarily for show, but people are wrong when they say it is short on substance. Obama is not the type of man that does anything lacking in substance, and the fatal flaw that many of his opponents have made is thinking this man is a light weight and can be easily dismissed. What these and many people also fail to realize is that we are long overdue for a little razzle-dazzle. The nation has been ground down by a seemingly endless war, through the roof energy cost, a mortgage crisis, failing banks, declining job rate, and climbing food costs.

The truth of matter is what most of Mr. Obama’s critics really resent is not his stands, nor his style, but his success. Repeatedly they underestimate just what a master of the game he is. When this campaign is said and done I think the biggest mistake made by Senator McCain was that he “dared” Senator Obama to go to Iran. Well John, how’s that working out for you? Not only has Senator Obama seen your bet, but he’s raised you!

So let the nay sayers cluck away, I for one plan on kicking back and enjoy the razzle-dazzle!

91 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

91 responses to “Razzle Dazzle by BrianInNYC

  1. Chef Sheila

    Cute with the word play and the cute Video

    Now about substance. have we heard a debrief yet?

  2. dog's eye view

    woof.

    Almost a freudian choice of video there, Brian. We do need some sparkle and sheer intelligence and hope; critics will say “it’s razzle dazzle [only] from Chicago.”

    Out to dinner last night with a friend who’s appalled that Americans are so starved for simple eloquence; that standards for presidential behavior have so declined. To say nothing of performance!

  3. Chef Sheila

    Obama on Face the Nation..

  4. colleen

    Hey, Brian, I’m ready for the fireworks! I’ve got on my cheerleader outfit, pom-poms included, the excitement is contagious. My biggest thrill is that the world may no longer see us as buffoons. Yes!

  5. dnd

    Brian,
    Hop in the wayback machine

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wayback_Machine

    Visit 1960. They said the same things about another young, inexperienced presidential candidate.

  6. Ok Mr. Peabody, jumping into my wayback machine!

  7. Chef Sheila

    I haven’t seen any footage of Obama with troups cheering Hip. Still looking.

  8. dnd

    Doonesbury on criteria for selecting a president:

    http://doonesbury.com/strip/dailydose/index.html

  9. dnd

    Hip and Shelia,
    Here ‘ya go:

  10. I don’t think you will see any clips of troops cheering, the Afghanistan and Iran parts of this trip will be low key and all business like. The fun begins in Europe:

    LOL, I have musicals on the mind today!

  11. Chef Sheila

    Here’s a cool one with the troups. Its very easy to see the enthusiam.

  12. Chef Sheila

    Oh Gosh! Hilarious dnd. So true

  13. Chef Sheila

    Raw footage of Obama’s visit to Kuwait with Troups. Frankly, he connected like no one I’ve seen in an age.

    http://www.wikio.com/video/326589

  14. Thanks dnd…

    on the way back, Ive seen similar quotes from 1932 about FDR as well

  15. Yep, FDR was often dismissed by the GOP as a dilettante and light weight.

  16. dnd

    Shelia,
    What a great clip of Obama shooting hoops and shaking hands with the troops. Thanks.

  17. dnd

    Hip and Brian,
    Good points about FDR. I bet the depositors at IndyMac are glad he signed the Glass-Steagall Act which created the FDIC.

  18. Chef Sheila

    Hey Guys,

    We are right. The press is starting to jump on the Veep announcement band wagon this morning. So if they are right, then Edwards, Reid, Nunn, and Bayh are on the shortist list.

  19. colleen

    the NY Times apparently has something about Clinton being vetted…let’s see if I can find it…

  20. Chef Sheila

    But then why is Hagel there in Iraq with the Two?…Oh yes, they have to have a republican member of the house of senate along to be a junket to get access to the war torn countries with security.

  21. Chef Sheila

    Colleen, My favorite Penn Girl! Been too long

  22. Yeah colleen I saw that in HuffPo, but no details. And Sheila as I’ve said I think Obama has a surprise in store for us on the VP slot! I love surprises don’t you?

    😯

  23. Chef Sheila

    So sad that Biden is always on someone’s shot list but never gets picked. He’s like everyone’s favorite Bride’s Maid.

  24. Chef Sheila

    That’s “Short list” ;0)

  25. colleen

    yep, hi everybody! I think I’m finally a little on the mend, and I can actually walk a few feet without thinking I’m gonna cry from back pain. Good thing, cause I’m going to the beach on Friday. Anyway, Brian, I love the eyes on your emoticon, and I love surprises too. It won’t be Hillary cause Bill is gonna balk when he has to tell where all his library money came from. I’m still hoping John Edwards.

  26. The press’ short list, not mine!. Good news on your improved health colleen!

  27. Love the razzle dazzle…..and your post.

    I too, feel like sitting back and watching the show…it’s so much fun. It’s a “happy” feeling….looking forward.

    Time for Americans to get our act together and make some MAJOR changes….every chance we get!

    Go Obama 2008!

  28. Chef Sheila

    Hey everyone! I have a cold dang it!

    I’m going to be in and out of the anticold haze today. Its 63 here. I’m so cold. I have to go get better clothes…..

  29. Why don’t you put on your costume from Cats shiela, that looks pretty warm.

  30. dnd

    Gore missed this on MTP this morning, but Fareed Zakaria on GPS didn’t. Today is the 39th anniversary of the first moon landing, and he used that to say the same needs to be done to solve the energy crisis.

    T. Boone Pickens wants alternative energy as a pragmatic solution.
    Al Gore sees alternative energy as an end to climate change.
    I agree with both, plus I view it as a way to cut off the funding to terrorists, and a way to dramatically expand our technology base.

  31. dnd

    Shelia,
    I wish it was 63 here. High is suppose to hit 100.

  32. Chef Sheila

    LOL I’m OK with it I guess, sitting here with my cold and wearing a pair of wool socks.

    I was just thinkin. I have to turn around and get 100 degree in October in Palm Springs. So in the summer I’m going to get cool weather at home and hot weather in the winter in Palm Sprimgs. Go figure.

    But seeing the Joshua Tree will be cool.

  33. colleen

    did you guys see this? Obama raised $52 million in June! Jeez!

    http://demconvention.thehill.com/content/view/400/

  34. Chef Sheila

    Yes we did miss sicko. I’m so sorry you have felt so bad!

  35. dnd

    Colleen, glad you’re feeling better.
    Shelia, sorry you’re not.

  36. colleen

    thanks, dnd

    Shiela, feel better!

  37. colleen

    Andy Borowitz

    Obama Releases List of Approved Jokes About Himself – Bid to Help Late Night Comics

    http://www.borowitzreport.com/archive_rpt.asp?rec=6896

  38. Chef Sheila

    dnd and colleen, Both thanks. But so glad its a cold and not your back. I’m just buzzing on antihistamines.

    Colleen, for all the great drugs you may have been given. No use enjoying anything with so much pain.

  39. Chef Sheila

    I need Cowbell!

  40. colleen

    I’m drug-free, Sheila! Mostly because they make me sick, so I’m doing magnesium, valerian root, and occasional aspirin.

  41. Chef Sheila

    Here’s some Cowbell!

    Obama Would Be a `Strong’ Partner, Karzai Aide Says

    http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/news?pid=20601103&sid=aN24iaxI9htA&refer=us

  42. Chef Sheila

    WOW Colleen, Ouch….

    But now I know why you aren’t around more. Valerian works to knock me out real well.

  43. dnd

    For those who haven’t read it, Frank Rich on McCain difficulty with economic issues:

    http://www.nytimes.com/2008/07/20/opinion/20rich.html?hp

  44. Winning more hearts and minds in Iraq.

    “US troops have shot dead the son and nephew of Hamid Hummud al-Shakti, the governor of Iraq’s northern Salaheddin province.”

    http://english.aljazeera.net/news/middleeast/2008/07/2008720152614124955.html

    So when are we going to pull out?

    Still checking sites will come back later.

    God Bless.

  45. dnd

    For those of you considering traveling to Denver for the DNC, be aware that the air this time of year is really, really bad:

    http://ozoneaware.org/

  46. Alright, just got caught up with all the sites and your two posts.

    Sheila…

    McInsane’s jokes are just as tasteless as the Decider’s. Like the one where he looked under the podium and said”Nope, no WDM’s here”.

    Brian…

    I think everyone is going to be shocked when Obama announces his choice for VP.

    For all we know it maybe someone that’s not on the list and has been getting vetted behind closed doors. Like outta sight and outta mind type deal.

    Also lately I have been having a lot of trouble viewing YouTube videos posted on everyone’s sites. They start to play and the pointer stops after 2 seconds while the bar shows it being downloaded and continues to move across the time line.

    I’m using Firefox 2.0.0.16 and I believe it started before the last update and has continued with this new update I installed last week.

    It is possible that the new update is the cause and the YouTube videos were working before the update, I’m just not sure.

    Any ideas as I have all the codecs installed and I am unable to find any reason why this is happening or how to correct it.

    God Bless.

  47. You as well Steve.

    God Bless.

  48. Well I guess I’ll see what’s happening over at Craig’s.

    God Bless.

  49. AP time to upgrade to Firefox 3.x. see if that fixes your problem. I’ll have more about who I think it’s going to be in the VP slot on Tuesday.

  50. Barack Obama, Lara Logan CBS Interview: Obama Calls Afghanistan Situation “Precarious And Urgent” (VIDEO)

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2008/07/20/barack-obama-lara-logan-c_n_113904.html

  51. PUMA = Cheap ?

    ( Can Hillary expect another penny ? )

  52. Brian…

    The Firefox updates are automatic so I don’t know why it didn’t update to Firefox 3 unless that will be the next update.

    I just finished reading all the comments over at Craig’s for the past three days and I sure am glad I don’t comment over there anymore.

    Really got nasty Friday night but I would also say that a lot of the no name commenter’s said a lot of what needed saying.

    They don’t get it and they never will. If you support Obama watch out because all they do is demean and do everything they can to tear him down.

    They can keep there hate filled comment’s since they no longer matter to me.

    I’ll still lurk and read the site because I like Craig and will be loyal to his site. I will not comment though since I don’t feel that I could ever contribute anything that would not be mocked.

    Anyway its late and I need to hit the sack and get some sleep. Catch you all tomorrow hopefully.

    Good night and…

    God Bless all.

  53. 84 hits to go before we cross the 10,000 mark!

  54. Morning Kids. Hope you all are well.

  55. colleen

    Good Morning to all!

  56. Chef Sheila

    Morning Colleen!

  57. Chef Sheila

    And Morning Hip!

  58. Chef Sheila

    Well here’s the latest from the press. I haven’t read it yet, but thought it would be a nice way to start.

    I know morning Joe is icing the way for Obama. As in making it a slippery slope.

    Andrea Mitchell being negative toward a closed (To the Press) visit with the troups. Happens every time when on a Military base, you do as the military does and take what comes.

    Barack Obama begins firsthand inspection of Iraq

    http://ap.google.com/article/ALeqM5isOFwdbq0tsqatW6vJpkDRTI1gMgD92260PG0

  59. Chef Sheila

    Wow can you imagine? The press is chomping at the bit to have a press conference in Iraq.

    A press conference would turn into a quagmire for Obama. He’s very smart to have a semi low profile in “Bush’s Quagmire”. Anyone who has been arrogant enough to be critical on air and in country, has met with a backlash in the States.

    (1) It couldn’t help but highlight Obama as Commander in Chief Material, that under normal circumstances would be cool. But not right now.

    He is acting as a Senator right now and he is not the Commander in Chief. He has to make doubly sure on not taking too much hurah for now. Still keeping most of his strategy close to his own hand.

    (2) A press conference would give McCain and edge for argument material while Obama is in Europe and could take a lot of air time.

  60. dog's eye view

    Morning all. Colleen: good to see you feeling better.

  61. Chef Sheila

    Morning Dog, Hows the Obama fight in VA going?

  62. dog's eye view

    Sheila: very well. Obama campaign opened 20 offices in Virginia; two are close to my home. Already organizing heavily and knocking doors to make sure voters are registered at their current address (a concern in often transient Northern VA). Got lots of volunteers yesterday, which will help. Already working every day on the ground game.

    You feeling better today?

  63. Chef Sheila

    I have a cold…..don’t see that often and my arm is still screwed up. But feeling better. I just think my usual healthy self is just worn out. Coming down from the last two months. So cold be gone and my health insurance kicks back in soon.

    I hope they get this health system and social security back up before I reitre or I’m toast.

  64. Chef Sheila

    Ok. Taking off most of today. Not much going on here. walking with harborwoman @ noon and probably going to go see a movie this afternoon. Just going to take some time off the Internet. Cio!

  65. colleen

    oooh, lookie here! This article is a few days old but I didn’t see it until this AM. McCain is a hypocrite of the first order.

    from the San Francisco Business Times

    McCain gets $1,930 a month from ‘broken’ Social Security system

    http://www.bizjournals.com/sanfrancisco/stories/2008/07/14/daily79.html

  66. McCain a multi millionaire collecting Social Security – I wonder how the blue collar middle class will like that nugget of news…..??? Wiki has his net worth at $40.4 million

    approx 138.900 collected…..

  67. dnd

    Isn’t McCain also collecting disability from the military?

  68. Chef Sheila

    Disability @ $58,000.00 a year. I wonder if he thinks its backup just incase he goes bankrupt? just being snotty.

  69. Chef Sheila

    BTW,

    Hes a perfect example of abuse of the system. He takes and takes even when the system is in trouble. I’m sure he even has been on or about or even turned his head when the social security vaults have been raided. …

  70. Chef Sheila

    My part in taking care of all you hot mamas and daddy’s out there!

    Watermelon: 3 Juicy Benefits

    Our Most Popular Tips »
    A cool wedge of watermelon on a hot summer day? Refreshing, for sure.

    But watermelon is more than just a seasonal treat. Here are three great health reasons to dig into this juicy fruit:
    It’s loaded with lycopene. Watermelon juice actually gave tomato juice a run for the money in a recent study of lycopene levels. That’s good news for your body, because early research suggests that lycopene may be a cancer crusher. (Here’s a trick for unleashing more lycopene from your tomatoes.)
    It can make your skin pretty. Watermelon is loaded with a key compound credited with helping skin’s healing and regenerative processes. Say no more — bring on the melon! (Find out what other foods support youthful skin.)
    It’s practically calorie-free. With fewer than 50 calories in every cup, watermelon is one smart way to satisfy a sweet tooth. And with a whopping 141 grams of water per cubed cup, watermelon will keep you hydrated, too.

  71. Chef Sheila

    From Harborwoman!

    ♫Happy birthday to dog♫
    ♪Happy Birthday to dog!♫
    ♫Happy fif-ti-eth, dear doggie!♫
    ♫Happy birthday to dog!♫

    Hope your day is stupendously fun, and that the beginning of the ‘youth of old age’ will include some of the best times of your life!

  72. Chef Sheila

    Happy Brithday Dog,

    Many many Bones for the Year!

  73. colleen

    and now, for something completely different

    red, hot, married, Obama love

    from The Nation

    the shadow of his smile – carnal knowledge

    http://www.thenation.com/doc/20080804/wypijewski

  74. Morning peeps, happy birthday dog.

  75. colleen

    happy birthday, doggie, puppy

  76. colleen

    and one more McCain story

    from Andy Borowitz

    McCain Makes Historic First Visit to Internet – Will Spend Five Days at Key Sites

    http://www.borowitzreport.com/

  77. Chef Sheila

    Colleen, I must be getting old….PALEESE! Gag me….. ;0)

  78. Chef Sheila

    Obama as a sex symbol. Except for his fine tush, I don’t see it. lool

  79. Chef Sheila

    Liked the Andy Borowitz one. Really highlights the ridiculousness of McCain never bothering to surf even.

    I mean, he coulda looked up the difference between Sunni and Shia on Wikipedia no less.

Leave a Reply

