AND YES WE DID! An Essay In Pictures

 yes_we_can3

 

A Look Back At Two Long Years…….

obama-family-11  obama600    mccain-pix1  kenndy2  obama-clinton3 virginia obama-and-young-girl6  im-caucusing-for-obama5                   obama-and-friend6                    michelle-obama-stumping

    art_plouffe_ap   Obama's Team    axelrod-and-gibs1  

Democrats Debate 2008

 

         michelle-obama-flag3  large_obama_annarbor_0829082   obama-and-people4    obama_berlin_5751    The DNC Convention   jarrett2

 obama-famil22  obama-convention1  bidenobama2                       dnc-convention3    obama-crowd3  obama-grant-park

 obama-debate1 obamabiden3 obamabiden22  

          grant_park_081

grant_park_142   grant_park_172  grant_park_182 

                         grant_park_121  grant_park_15

                                               grant_park_165                                       

~~~~~~~~~~~THE BEGINNING~~~~~~~~~~~

76 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

76 responses to “AND YES WE DID! An Essay In Pictures

  1. dog's eye view

    What a great idea for a blogpost! Wonderful!! Great photo selection.

    I will share some footage I shot soon; haven’t gotten around to organizing the pics yet.

    Here’s WaPost H Kurtz profile of Robert Gibbs, Obama’s spokesman. Good guy.

    http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2008/11/11/AR2008111102866.html

  2. Morning peeps,
    Terrific pics Sheila!

  3. chefsheila

    Thanks Lisa and Brian Just getting up…..making coffee! be back in a minute

  4. chefsheila

    Thanks Lisa. Robert Gibbs is a natural born Press Secretary. The White House Press briefings are going to be a lot more fun now.

  5. dnd

    Great post Shelia. Love the pics.

  6. chefsheila

    And theres little captions too if you click on them

  7. dnd

    I’ve been thinking Obama’s recount of the first time he met Bush. After they shook hands an aid squirted some hand sanitizer into Bushes hands and Bush offered some to Obama.

    Here’s what got me scratching my head: I don’t know how many of you have spent time on a ranch, but trust me, there are no germophobes on ranches. I really wonder how Bush copes when he’s at his Crawford ranch.

  8. Nannymm

    Great post, Sheila! The pics are awesome!
    dnd, Bush is not a real rancher; he doesn’t even ride horses! I’m not sure if he even has any cattle on that so-called ranch of his. From what I can tell, his only ranch-like action is clearing brush. That picture sure doesn’t mesh with what I have seen on the ranches in West Texas!

  9. chefsheila

    Thanks Nanny and dnd,

    I was at Crawford once and it sure didn’t look like a ranch to me either. I jus thought all large pieces of property in Texas were called ranches.

  10. BevnTempe

    Thank you Sheila – this is a keeper along with the front pages of newspapers from November 5.

  11. chefsheila

    Your welcome BevnTempe.

    You are a keeper too!

  12. dnd

    Universal health care coverage could, indirectly, be the greatest, most effective stimulus to the economy we could imagine.

  13. oh yeah dnd, It looks like it might finally happen. I don’t want to get my hopes up, but boy it sounds like this is the time it could actually happen.

  14. Nannymm

    This is good news, especially for those of us who care about the environment.

    Congressional Democrats are eyeing a little-known, Clinton-era law as a way to reverse Bush administration midnight regulations — even ones that have already taken effect.
    It’s a move that would undermine the White House’s attempt to finalize its energy and environmental regulations by November so that Barack Obama couldn’t undo them after he’s sworn in as the 44th president on Jan. 20.
    “Fortunately, [the White House] made a mistake,” said a top Senate Democratic aide.
    http://www.politico.com/news/stories/1108/15530.html

  15. chefsheila

    Dnd I was just thinking the same thing. Health Care is a growing industry with all of US getting older.

    And the big three…..or 2 1/2 of the American Auto Industry if they proactively shift toward energy efficient vehicles.

    Robert Reich has some sound thoughts on that this morning. If he’s advising Obama then this is what they are going to go for with Detroit. I’m crossing my fingers for all my friends.

    Everyone I knew in Michigan had a family member or 6 involved in the auto industry
    http://www.robertreich.blogspot.com/

  16. I like the fact that Bacus is pushing this, good that it comes from his region of the country. Prevents it from be a labeled “a liberal thing”

  17. Nannymm

    That is great news, Brian! Maybe, FINALLY, universal health care will become reality.

  18. Nannymm

    I’m shocked that this is coming from Bacus. I wonder what’s in it for him.

  19. chefsheila

    Actually, I’m shocked too. But when the chips are down, The Many Become One” right?

    Wow! When the right feed back gets out, we have a lot of stress relief for the day. 🙂

  20. chefsheila

    Nanny! Thats Great News Too!

  21. Nannymm

    Are they crazy??? The Dems need to take his chairmanship away. He doesn’t deserve it. Then leave it up to him to decide who to caucus with. Without that chair, I think he’ll bolt. Good riddance!

  22. Nannymm

    Here is yet another reason to dump Lieberman:

    Lieberman Lends His Name To Fear-Mongering Documentary On American Muslims And Terrorism
    By Justin Elliott – November 10, 2008, 4:56PM
    Joe Lieberman, who is locked in a fight to hold onto his Senate Homeland Security Committee chairmanship, is lending his name to a lurid sequel of the documentary Obsession: Radical Islam’s War Against The West.
    http://tpmelectioncentral.talkingpointsmemo.com/2008/11/lieberman.php

  23. chefsheila

    Didn’t Obama advise Reid and Congress to put the campaign behind them and let lieberman caucus with the Dems?

    I’m sure there is sound reasoning there.

    Didn’t someone say that except for the War, Lieberman has been pro-liberal in every other way?

    I think Obama is going to take a turn the other cheek attitude, but also;

    (1) In order to teach unity you have to teach it. Peer preasure, kindness, nurturing, or in otherowrds, encouraging change.
    (2) at the same time, “Keep you friends close and your enemies closer”.
    (3) And lastly a little dose of; “The enemy of my enemy is my friend”. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_enemy_of_my_enemy_is_my_friend

  24. Nannymm

    Regardless of that, Sheila, (and I do concede that there is some merit to what you say) I still think Lieberman should lose his chair. He is an embarrassment and cannot be trusted. And what he did should not be overlooked IMO. He is unapologetic and continues to be a distraction from the work that needs to be done.

  25. chefsheila

    OH! I KNOW he should lose his chair. 😯

  26. dnd

    It’s rumored Lieberman said he’d bolt if his committee chairmanship was pulled. He’s bluffing. The Republican’s don’t have anything to offer him. And as mentioned, other than his hawkish stance, he’s a flaming liberal.

    I remember when I was a kid, the worst punishment I could get was not getting yelled at, or even the threat of a spanking. The worst was when my Dad would sit me down and in a calm voice tell me how disappointed he was in me. I think that the implicit approach being taken with Lieberman. His actions will be forgiven, but not forgotten. He owes his constituents and caucus now.

  27. horsedooty

    I am with you Nanna. Can his ass.

  28. chefsheila

    lol Doots…. 😀

  29. chefsheila

    One for you Brian,

    Paterson calls for ‘shared sacrifice’

    http://www.bizjournals.com/buffalo/stories/2008/11/10/daily28.html

  30. dnd

    Sarah Palin on Larry King tonight. How can I miss you if you won’t go away?

    I’m conflicted here. The more we see of her stumbling and bumbling her way through interviews should cement her incompetence for office. On the other hand, our celebrity oriented culture may elevate her way, way beyond what she deserves.

    My speculation is that she may run for Ted Steven’s seat. Once she sees that Senator’s make $160k and that she’ll have to maintain two homes, travel for her family, etc. she may think twice. But Caribou Barbie’s not too good with numbers and blinded by ambition.

  31. chefsheila

    I just have to state and without any impact from the Max Cleland bebacle, Saxby Chambliss is an openly evil man and really has to be pried out of his seat in the House!

    McCain To Hit Campaign Trail For Senate Races

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2008/11/12/mccain-to-hit-campaign-tr_n_143213.html

  32. dnd

    Back to Lieberman, I think Reid’s got him right where he wants him. If Lieberman became a Republican, his conscience would probably force him to vote with the Democrats on everything by the war spending.

  33. dnd

    Shelia,
    I’ve got a request: can we get another photo-montage after the inauguration? I think that would make a great thread.

    Can I see a show of hands on this idea? 😉

  34. chefsheila

    WAIT! I have already planned it! lol

  35. chefsheila

    And thanks for the compliment Dnd. Appreciated.

  36. Nannymm

    Great idea, dnd and Sheila!

  37. Nannymm

    3 good ones there, Sheila. But I’m particularly fond of the Wasilla cartoon. 😀

  38. chefsheila

    LOL Me too nanny,

    Now here is the Marriage of the Week!

    “Glenn Beck” To Begin Early on FNC?

    http://www.mediabistro.com/tvnewser/fnc/glenn_beck_to_begin_early_on_fnc_100301.asp

  39. dnd

    Yeah, that Horsey Wasilla cartoon was pretty funny. Judging by the Lauer interview in the Palin house, I don’t think they live in a double wide 😉

    As to the clothes issue, there are receipts. They know exactly what they bought. Her family knows what are their clothes are. If she’s going to keep showing up on TV, some investigative reporter (Brian Ross), should look into it.

  40. dnd

    “what are their clothes are”

    Geeze, wordpress really needs an edit button 😉

  41. chefsheila

    Horsey either cracks me up or makes me think or both

    Sorry dnd. It doesn’t. I can edit them and I will correct yours if you want 😉

  42. dnd

    Nah, thanks Shelia. This is a lesson to read my posts before I hit “submit.” 😉

  43. dnd

    Sarah Palin’s interview with Wolf Blitzer is cringeworthy.

    She says she’s not a partisan, yet she continues to call the Democratic party the “Democrat” party. Just like Rush. My motto is: never blame on malice what can be attributed to incompetence. I’ll just give her the benefit of the doubt…

  44. Nannymm

    I say both, dnd.

  45. Nannymm

    She just won’t SHUT UP!!!!

    Transcript of Palin on CNN’s “Larry King Live”
    http://thepage.time.com/transcript-of-palin-on-cnns-larry-king-live/

  46. dnd

    LOL Nannymm,
    As McCain told Leno: “One thing I don’t think Americans want is a sore loser.” Perhaps he should relate that to Palin 😉

  47. dnd

    Alaskan separatist Caribou Barbie questions Obama’s “associations.”

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2008/11/12/palin-attacks-obama-over_n_143362.html

    You just can’t make this stuff up 😉

  48. Nannymm

    KO just said that Stevens is now behind by 3 votes!! There are still about 43,000 ballots left to be counted.

  49. Evening folks, hey good news from Alaska, lets hope it hold up!

  50. Good story on Judas Iscariot Lieberman…

    http://www.pubrecord.org/component/content/487.html?task=view

    I got really pissed off when I heard Obama wanted to keep this Traitor and called Reid’s office about it. The voice mail was full so I then called Obama’s office and left a message.

    I said that if Lieberman stayed after all the betrayal of the Constitution, Democratic Party, support of War Crimes and Torture by the Bush Administration than I would not vote for Obama in 2012 or any Democrat in 2010.

    My reason was because he Promised Change We Can Believe In and if they didn’t strip Lieberman of his Chairmanships and Committees then he wasn’t giving us Change We Can Believe In.

    I hope he thinks about that and has Reid dump that Nazi Collaborator. I also did call Lieberman a Nazi Enabler as well.

    I want Lieberman gone and I’m stubborn enough to hold to my message to him.

    If this pisses anyone off I’m sorry, but we don’t need a Traitor who will spill his guts on anything he hears inside the Democratic Caucus Meetings.

    God Bless.

  51. One other thing. It was Charles Schumer who orchestrated the Independent run of Lieberman after the Democrats of Connecticut rejected him.

    He had to turn in signed petitions for the party he ran on the day after the Democratic Primaries so you know that they were gathering them all throughout the Primary season to do that.

    Also Schumer and Feinstein were the ones who supported and approved Mukasey for Attorney General which was also a betrayal.

    I think its time for both Feinstein and Schumer to go. To many ties to the same ole same ole if you ask me.

    God Bless.

  52. chefsheila

    Morning everybody……walking toward the coffee……

  53. chefsheila

    perhaps the media said something that isn’t true? Wouldn’t be the first time.

    Axelrod mulls huge pay cut

    http://www.politico.com/news/stories/1108/15564.html

  54. chefsheila

    Listening to Palin……she’s a rambler and she doesn’t say anything of substance. She her sentance struture is really horrible.

  55. chefsheila

    ……”We are speaking to constituents, we are speaking to our state”.

  56. dog's eye view

    It’s raining lightly here and the leaves are floating off the trees like snowflakes. Wish you could see it; very pretty here.

  57. horsedooty

    I am of two minds when I think of Gov Sarah. One is I am really really really tired of hearing her talk. The other mind is let her talk. The old saw about when you are in a hole stop digging. I am not gonna tell her to stop digging.

  58. dog's eye view

    If she was a man, she would not get away with her sentence structure or the jumble of incoherent and incomplete thoughts.

    She would not get the national exposure if she was an older or less attractive woman either.

    Let’s just say that.

    She is hardly a victim of sexism. Palin benefits by being an extraordinarily attractive and trim woman with a down to earth speaking style. That lulls her too many of her listeners into not actually hearing what she is saying — or catching that she is often substituting a set of “facts” that does not exist, on closer examination.

  59. chefsheila

    It’s Really Time for That Intervention

    Now Palin’s headlining the Republicans Governors Association conference.

    –Josh Marshall

  60. horsedooty

    I agree Dog. She makes the rubes that Texas elects to governorship look down right intellectual. Hard to do but she is doing it.

  61. dnd

    dog,
    They way you describe Palin, she’s Bush in a skirt:
    * inarticulate
    * inexperienced
    * folksy
    * attractive

    We’ve gone that route once. It amazes me that some want to try it again.

  62. chefsheila

    Wait till the movie comes out

  63. dnd

    Someone, somewhere has to start a website where they diagram Caribou Barbie’s sentences. Is Noam Chomsky busy?

  64. chefsheila

    Three References so far to Joe the Plumber

  65. horsedooty

    where is the 9mm I need to take a life…mine!

Leave a Reply

