This Is Still The Time For Giving! – Horsedooty

With Thanksgiving having come and gone it is easy to forget that we have the big holiday coming up.  For Christians it is called Christmas.  With the economy like it is and the massive loss of jobs in the US and really the world, we that are more fortunate will still need to step up and try and do our part this season.

My recommendation for Christmas comes from the United States Marine Corp.  Their Toys for Tots is, in my opinion, a very worthy cause.  Please help this year to put a smile on a kid’s face and join me in giving a new toy to the Marines and their Toys for Tots program.

Link to help you find a local drop site: http://www.toysfortots.org/donate/toys.asp

Boilerplate for the Toys for Tots: http://www.toysfortots.org/

¡Yo soy Horsedooty!

54 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

54 responses to “This Is Still The Time For Giving! – Horsedooty

  1. Hey doots, good to see you “back in the saddle again”.

  2. dog's eye view

    Doots: great charity and I would not have thought about how greatly they need the toys this year. One takes the Marines’ annual solicitation for granted; I sure did. So will support this effort.

    I love my nephews greatly, but it’s been so much more rewarding to buy a splendid and generous gift for kids and adults I will never meet, but hear of through our church’s giving tree. For families in shelters, and residents of a training center for the mentally challenged.

    Couldn’t tell you what I’ve given to all of my nephews (OK, I remember the toy Hummer that took too much trunk space and there was barely room for anything else, like luggage and other gifts — that was a lesson, but boy was my nephew excited about the size of his gift!!, and the paintballs, and motocross accessories)

    … but think with pleasure of one particular gift: Disney character princess costume and found some fancy glittery sandals and little crown and earrings to go with it that some little girl, I am sure, just loved. I would have!!

    =====

    Some friends in Richmond got dress up clothes for their little girls from thrift shops — smaller sized used evening wear.

  3. chefsheila

    Doots! I was worried friend.

    Yes, this is one that has endured through the decades. Toys for Tots is always one of those that I automatically give to.

    Did you know that everwhere in the world I have been stationed, the Marines has a drive for the local children of that country?

    Its an unending dedication.

  4. chefsheila

    BTW,

    Good morning everybody…..sipping coffee to wake up..

  5. horsedooty

    I eat breakfast with a couple of bikers most mornings and they told me they are doing the Toy Run again this year. I am gonna give them the toys to take with them.

    I had company over the long weekend. I was able to sneak a few minutes to read Backchannel but no time to write for Backchannel. Now they have left and so that problem has disappeared.

  6. chefsheila

    I tell ya Doots, I actually missed your posts. 🙂

  7. dog's eye view

    Was it good company?

  8. chefsheila

    Well…..when I get back to Wa State, toys, clean coats, grocery gift cards? I’m going to have fun this season.

    Oh my church is collecting soft socks, slippers, and pajamas for children and women that are currently in the family shelters around the region. Aparently, in my region at least, Single mothers and their children are in the shelters 4 to one.

  9. chefsheila

    Obama Calls on Fox News, Finally

    After going 0-5 at his post-election news conferences, this morning Pres.-elect Barack Obama finally called on Fox News. Correspondent Wendell Goler to a question.

    According to Michelle Malkin (who watched and listened, we only watched) Goler asked about TARP and joked about Bill Richardson’s now-shaved beard.

    *** Poor Wendall. He worked for CBS for many years. Was at White House while I was there. He was laid off after the 1st gulf war. He’s a Dem….the Hen in the Chicken House ****

  10. dnd

    Great post Doots. Kids shouldn’t go without on Christmas.

  11. dnd

    Shelia,
    Check with your local food bank. They may prefer cash to grocery gift cards. They sometimes buy in bulk and get good deals.

  12. horsedooty

    Dog,

    It was family so I guess it was good company. They just were everywhere I wanted to be. They did take me out since I am still banned from driving so that was good even if I had to pay for the meal most times.

  13. chefsheila

    Thanks dnd. I actually did. The foodbank is out of my church kitchen. They take anything and thought a grocery gift card was a fantastic idea.

    So thanks Mary! Passing it on.

  14. Nannymm

    Good morning! What I like about the gift card idea is that people can buy those things a food pantry doesn’t stock, often fresh meat or produce or things like spices and seasonings that go a long way and that make plain food so much more appetizing. Or maybe it will be for a special treat for a child’s birthday. I just like the idea that the recipient has some freedom to personalize his or her food basket with a gift card, and the dignity of making his or her own choices.

  15. dnd

    Nannymm,
    Good point. about the gift card. Those forced to go to food banks are probably tired of tuna and peanut butter as a source of protein. They would probably welcome some fresh eggs or hamburger.

  16. dnd

    “CAMP PENDLETON, Calif. – 9Wants to Know has learned that a Marine who disappeared for more than two years after faking his disappearance will spend 30 days in the brig for the Marines.”

    http://www.9news.com/news/article.aspx?storyid=105182&catid=339

    Normally I’m against going AWOL, but in the case of an unnecessary, immoral war, I’m more understanding. But the hoax is less forgivable.

  17. Nannymm

    It’s a tough call, dnd. When you’re desperate to avoid going to that unnecessary, immoral war, you tend to do desperate things. There was a soldier in NYC (the Bronx, I think) who paid someone to shoot him in the leg so he could avoid returning to Iraq. Then he lied and said a mugger did it. I could definitely understand his desperation. I once threatened to break my son’s legs if he tried to enlist. Told him no son of mine was going to Iraq to fight Bush’s War. His wife vowed to help me.

  18. dnd

    Nannymm,
    I feel your pain. It’s 20 degrees here and snowing like crazy. At least the wind isn’t blowing 😉

  19. dnd

    Bush’s Final Fiasco

    “As he prepares to move back to Texas, our 43rd president is the beneficiary of Bush fatigue. The nation has long since repudiated him. Americans are looking ahead to the promise of Barack Obama.

    And it’s lucky for George W. Bush that they are, because his handling of our plunging economy is Hooverian in both its substance and inadequacy. ”

    http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2008/12/02/AR2008120202938.html

  20. chefsheila

    dnd, His appoint diary is empty…….no one wants to see him before he leaves.

  21. Nannymm

    They just want to see him leave! Some of us would gladly help load the moving van. 😀

  22. Nannymm

    Well off to run errands. See you all later.

  23. chefsheila

    Have ta start cooking Later!!!

  24. dog's eye view

    I wish Mr. Bush and Mr. Cheney had an appointment in the Hague.

  25. dog's eye view

    Millionaire entrepreneur building inaugural ball festivities for soliders, the disadvantaged and others who might not attend the festivities.

    http://www.latimes.com/news/nationworld/nation/la-na-inaugural4-2008dec04,0,6041009.story

    “It was billed as the biggest, most eye-popping of the inauguration hotel packages: the JW Marriott’s $1-million “build your own ball” offer, including 300 rooms, four suites, $200,000 worth of food and drink, and a primo site overlooking the parade route.

    …the buyer is a successful Virginia businessman who wants to bring to the inauguration disadvantaged people, terminally ill patients, wounded soldiers and others down on their luck.

    Earl Stafford, 60, the founder of a Centreville, Va., technology company who grew up as one of 12 children of a Baptist minister, said he would provide his guests lodging, food and special access, as well as beauticians, gowns and tuxedos, if necessary.

    Stafford has paid the $1 million, a spokesman said, and is prepared to spend an additional $600,000 for a breakfast, a luncheon and two balls at the hotel. Stafford said he hopes to recoup some of the $600,000 from sponsors yet to be recruited.

    “We wanted to . . . bless those who otherwise wouldn’t have an opportunity to be a part of the great celebration, the inauguration and the festivities,” Stafford said in an interview Wednesday. …We’ve gotten away from those core values that made America great,” he said at the headquarters of Unitech, which provides weapons simulation systems to the military. “We just need to get back to caring about one another.”

    ….

    Stafford said he wants at least 30% of those staying in his rooms and participating in the events to be disadvantaged or needy in some way. The remaining percentage could be people from sponsoring foundations, contributing companies or volunteers. …”

    =====

    You’d enjoy the rest of the story. It’s short. What a good heart.

  26. horsedooty

    Reckon we could slip in Backchannel. That would be a hoot. Good guy sounds like.

  27. chefsheila

    What a great guy!

  28. dnd

    dog,
    Earl Stafford is what this election was all about. I hope Obama and/or Biden will speak at the breakfast, luncheon or the balls.

  29. Ok I just threw a 9 pound chicken in the rotisserie I hope you’re all hungry.

  30. dnd

    A 9 pound chicken! They grow ’em big in Manhattan!

  31. I love purdue oven stuffer roasters, they take a long time to cook in the rotisserie so the skin is really crispy!

  32. dnd

    Will you be making chicken soup tomorrow? It’s 20 degrees here and snowing. I need soup!

  33. no, but I’ll live off the chicken for a couple of days, I use the carcass when I boil up the rice for the dogs

  34. dnd

    Um, chicken and rice. Lucky pooches 😉

  35. It’s what they eat everyday, twice a day

  36. chefsheila

    ….Wow…Long day! I just have an hour and its back to the grind…… ;(

  37. well it’s almost the weekend sheila!

  38. chefsheila

    I am making Turkey Pot Pie for dinner.

  39. chefsheila

    Yes and you know how the work just piles up to a point of crazy

    But we leave for Wa State on Thursday next.

  40. I’m hungry I wish my chicken would hurry up

  41. chefsheila

    Oh My Goodness….is this woman into Small Screen Suicide or what?

    Oprah: Sarah Palin Is Snubbing Me

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2008/12/04/oprah-sarah-palin-is-snub_n_148492.html

  42. Oprah should count her blessings

  43. dog's eye view

    Hi guys. Good morning.

    We had steamed spiced shrimp last night. It was exhausting.

    Driving home from the grocery with the hot shrimp; tossing those spuds into the microwave, opening that can of creamed corn, slicing that lemon …

    Anyway, hope Brian is enjoying that chicken — a rotisserie at home, and someone who uses it — that goes on the “things to look for in new neighbors” list — and the turkey pot pie sounded scrumptious too. Yum.

  44. chefsheila

    Morning Dog,

    If a Turkey Pot Pie could be called amazing, this was the recipe. The crust in this recipe actually enhanced the filling.

    I haven’t eaten Swansons in about 30 years because of the flavor. This would make me even fatter than I am now. 😉

  45. chefsheila

    I’m reading a thread about how the economic down turn is impacting people personally. Here is one…..

    This is what amazes me about my life in America right now: No heat. No heat last winter…..No heat this winter….And I thought I was alone. But this year, I checked in on the Frugal Living board of a popular mother’s website, and what did I see? Women asking each other what to do when you have children at home, and you can’t afford to fire up your furnace. And then, a few women on another mother’s group I belong to admitted that they had no heat this winter, as well. Some of these women are pregnant, and due to deliver this winter. Most of us have husbands who work; but the downsizings and wage stagnation, and unemployment have taken their toll. So when money ran out, and the heat bill couldn’t be paid…well, there never was enough extra to get the heat turned back on. Here’s another thing I’ve learned: Having a college degree no longer serves as a safety net against impoverishment. I look around me, and well-educated friends simply can not find jobs. Naturally, I worry about the struggle

  46. chefsheila

    ….Half a million jobs lost last month….

  47. chefsheila

    Holy Smokes!!!!

  48. dnd

    Shelia,
    Those jobs numbers are horrible. And likely to get much worse with the big three restructuring.

    I question the infrastructure improvements the governors want will help much. Those laid-off AIG workers can’t be turned into ironworkers overnight.

  49. chefsheila

    Your right, I’ve been concidering that as well, but all the ones that are in tent cities will be thankful for the chance.

    Of Course, I am thinking someone at the top probably has thought of the fact the there is a real live problem with all the middle aged that can’t to physical things.

    When the transition team asked for feedback, I sure gave them a template to help 😉

  50. chefsheila

    Podesta said he read them. lol

  51. *stretches and yawns*
    morning peeps

Leave a Reply

