NASA has become a transition problem for Obama – Horsedooty

CAPE CANAVERAL – NASA administrator Mike Griffin is not cooperating with President-elect Barack Obama’s transition team, is obstructing its efforts to get information and has told its leader that she is “not qualified” to judge his rocket program, the Orlando Sentinel has learned.

In a heated 40-minute conversation last week with Lori Garver, a former NASA associate administrator who heads the space transition team, a red-faced Griffin demanded to speak directly to Obama, according to witnesses.

In addition, Griffin is scripting NASA employees and civilian contractors on what they can tell the transition team and has warned aerospace executives not to criticize the agency’s moon program, sources said.

http://blogs.orlandosentinel.com/news_space_thewritestuff/2008/12/nasa-has-become.html

125 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

125 responses to “NASA has become a transition problem for Obama – Horsedooty

  1. Doots I saw this story on the news the other day, it’s down right weird, but hey Griffin wouldn’t be the first genius who’s a tad bit paranoid!

  2. chefsheila

    Doots that’s weird! I’m going to have to look at this one more.

    In the meantime, your last remark was funny!

    “”you do know that it is a lot of work for me to keep clicking on that thread, don’t you?”””

    WHAT THAT YOU? lol

    “I think I might start another “wall” thread in the not too distant future. Been a lot of Killings in Mexico this year.”

    I think this is a great I dea Doots.

    Now to get ready for work.

  3. horsedooty

    thanks Sheila…I was just trying to be funny. I never click on any of the threads once they are by the wayside.

    In other news, I see the Gov of Fla has just gotten married. Is his wife a real wife or a beard?

  4. You just sent a shudder through my body doots. Crist creeps me out!

  5. Coming from the era of “Putting a Man on the Moon” and following all the Mercury and Gemini astronauts, I have to confess to a real soft spot of NASA. When you add in a love of astronomy and science in general, the condition approaches hero worship, but this is not how you treat the future President of the United States. So to the tune of “It’s Crying Time”

    Oh it’s firing time again, you will be leaving
    I can see that pink slip memo in your mail
    I can tell by the way you defy me Griffen
    It won’t be long before it’s firing time

  6. What’s really strange Jamie is that there are many indications that Obama wants to increase NASA’s budget, but does want them to get their house in order. Cost over runs at NASA have become the norm, not the exception. I strongly believe we need to get out of low earth orbit and that a base on the moon is the next step, but Griffin I think is losing it and needs to be replaced.

  7. dnd

    I agree Jamie. Griffen just fired himself.

    NASA was a great model of government agencies during the 60’s and early 70’s. Now it’s just a bunch of program managers and government contractors.

    Manned space travel made some degree of sense in the 60’s. It makes no sense now. There is very little that robotics can’t do that requires astronauts. And at a fraction of the cost. Shaking up NASA is probably not very high on Obama’s to do list, but it would help the space-science effort if he did.

  8. Pretty much my sentiments. Maybe it is leftover Kubrick, but I do believe both a manned moon and mars station are practical goals.

    Lots of science just by its nature is eliminating the stuff that doesn’t work until the stuff that’s left over does. That can be very expensive and if you start being a bean counter about it, you can cripple the experimentation and eventual success.

    Still, it should be a cooperative action with government supporting science, but that can’t happen if the lines of communication and accountability are closed down.

  9. dnd

    Doots,
    “I think I might start another “wall” thread in the not too distant future. Been a lot of Killings in Mexico this year.”

    Great idea. Maybe you can fold in the Fourteenth Amendment into it too, just so we can a discussion if Obama is constitutionally qualified to be the President 😉

  10. dnd

    I disagree about the manned part not being necessary. Pure exploration and investigation is probably more practical by robotics, but the population of the earth is getting to the point where we either move or die.

    It’s time to start planning the trip and packing our bags.

  11. chefsheila

    I wonder how much PORK LARD NASA is really keeping quiet or maybe this guys is just really fearful of the obvious. We are all in for huge cuts accross the board.

    “Pay As You Go” is this century’s Brand.

  12. chefsheila

    Maybe a little of both with a touch of “Ultra Right Wing” nonsense in the mix?

  13. I disagree dnd about the man spaced part, if nothing else but for PR reasons. You need manned space flight to maintain the public’s interest and funding.

  14. dnd

    Jamie,
    I loved 2001. But manned space travel is very expensive, very dangerous and of limited scientific value. We get way more bang for the buck with unmanned experiments.

    Now if physicists can figure out space travel with wormholes, I may change my opinion 😉

  15. One of the nice things about NASA is that over all it leads to more jobs and improvements in non military or space products. It’s hard to compare apples and oranges since the money came from the tax payers and the companies and jobs are in the for profit sector.

    Call me paranoid, but I wonder if Griffin might be hiding some “star wars” type projects that he doesn’t want to see the cleansing glare of sunshine.

  16. chefsheila

    WELL!……..The idea of Warp Technology from Star Trek The Next Generation DID inspire NASA to start experimenting with it. Last I heard they had proven it in theory and were trying to “Build it”. That was mid 90’s.

  17. NASA isn’t the only agency blocking information from Team Obama.

    http://suzieqq.wordpress.com/2008/12/13/doj-blocking-president-elect-obamas-team-from-wiretapping-and-torture-documents/

    and link to The BLT: The Blog of Legal Times.

    http://legaltimes.typepad.com/blt/2008/12/obama-transition-team-pushing-for-secret-legal-memos.html

    There is also another story with regards to Rumsfeld and FOA requests regarding torture that agency’s won’t release I believe on RAWSTORY.

    God Bless.

  18. dnd

    “You need manned space flight to maintain the public’s interest and funding.”

    Brian, I have to disagree. I was glued to the TV when John Glenn orbited the earth and pretty much throughout the Mercury, Gemini and Apollo programs. The only thing I watched with the last space shuttle mission was the lost $100,00 tool bag and the fact that they landed at Edwards.

    But images from Hubble and the Mars rover caught my attention. There will probably be some need for space travel for maintenance, e.g., fixing/updating the Hubble. But for scientific experiments, not so much..

  19. I think we should go to Mars! It’s part of our destiny to explore the solar system and then the galaxy.

  20. Good catch there AP, there was something about the DOJ in yesterday’s Huff, but I didn’t get a chance to read it.

  21. Reminder: CSPAN’s series on the White House starts tomorrow night and for the next week beginning at 6PM / 9 PM PST/EST

  22. I’m sure that the Obama administration will be spending a great deal of time on fumigation. It may be decades before we know all the nefarious deeds Cheney was perpetrating.

    How long has Nixon been dead? We are still learning stuff from that source 40 years after the deeds were done.

  23. I’m not planning on going anytime soon, I hate flying!

  24. chefsheila

    Oh Thanks Jamie! I’ll be watching. If its “The Presidents” series then some of my footage made it into the doc on B-41

  25. chefsheila

    Laughing @ dnd and Brian!

  26. Sheila

    This is “The Presidents”. It is a new series totally about the White House.

    http://whitehouse.c-span.org/

  27. God it’s going to be a hellish week for me, my mother’s aunt died this morning (she was 93), my family will be descending the city in very short order and Tuesday I have to go have a colonoscopy and endoscopy done, what a fun week!

  28. Sheila,

    Some of your footage might be on Wednesday:

    Behind the Scenes: The Working White House
    Tuesday, December 16th

    Take a tour of the Oval Office with White House Curator Bill Allman. See other areas of the White House at work including the chocolate shop, the White House kitchens, the calligrapher’s office, the flower shop, and the White House theater. See interviews with current and former White House staff, including longtime White House chief usher Gary Walters and former White House military social aide Alan Merten.

  29. dnd

    Looks like a great series Jamie.

  30. chefsheila

    Jamie,

    I love Gary Walters. One of the best people. He remembers everyone who has ever worked within the Mansion.

    Jamie, so its not about every President and their history’s? I stand corrected

  31. chefsheila

    I see. Just read the overview. Its about the house! I WILL be fun. There are so many places that the normal public get access too.

    I doubt the any footage of mine will be shown….except maybe Mrs Reagan’s White House Tour for Christmas or her showing the refurbishing of some of the furniture in the red room.

    Maybe…..I did so litle of the first lady stuff. Barbra Bush’s acceptance of the Brocoli from the Brocoli growers of America….lol

  32. chefsheila

    Oh Brian. Just read about Auntie….So sorry and sorry for the invasion. Very stressful! 😦

  33. Thanks Sheila, I wasn’t close with her, my mother was, but hey she made it to 93, can’t complain about that!

  34. chefsheila

    Geittelfinger is my new hero!

  35. Brian…

    Just seen about your mom’s aunt and offer my condolences to you and your family.

    Even though it may make for a hellish week at least you’ll get to have all the family together. Remember you never know when a relative or close family member will pass on and it may be the last time you get to see one whom you truly are close to.

    I hope things go smoothly for you and everything works out alright.

    Take care and …

    God Bless.

  36. Hey dnd…

    I just saw Dex on TV, man that guy gets around don’t he? LOL…LOL…LOL…

    God Bless.

  37. Well I just got back a short time ago from the TV store and bought my new 52″ LCD. It’s going to be delivered on Wednesday and boy am I excited.

    Now I have just three days left to get everything moved and cleaned up for delivery. I may end up offline for a couple of days since the computer has to be moved with everything else so I may not get it set up until late Monday or sometime Tuesday.

    I hope everyone has a good weekend in case I don’t have the time to get online between now and Wednesday.

    God Bless.

  38. I’m going to watch a movie since there is nothing on television tonight. Still have several to watch that I bought a couple of weeks ago.

    One dvd has eight movies on it and I still have to watch three of them and then I still have another five dvd’s to watch after that whenever I get time to.

    Take care and …

    God Bless.

  39. chefsheila

    Hey Anon! Good to see you and congrats ont the new entertainment center. 🙂

  40. dnd

    Anon-p,

    Dex on TV? Dancing with the Stars? American Idol? 😉

  41. dnd…

    Dex knows where to find anything dnd, didn’t you know that. If you didn’t than you need to ask Dex. LOL…LOL…LOL…

    Okay, I’m outta here.

    God Bless all.

  42. Sheila…

    For the grand total of $3763.65 I now own a Samsung A850 LCD 52″ Television, a Tech Craft 50″ smoked glass stand, a Samsung 5.1 Blu-Ray Home Theater, a MKIII Monster Cable Power Center Isobar Strip and 2 6′ HDMI Cables.

    Above figure also includes delivery and setup of my new TV and Stand. I will have to get some batteries and post some pictures of my new entertainment center as well as some pictures of my two kiddies Baby and Jasmine.

    Off to watch a movie now so take care everyone and …

    God Bless.

  43. dnd

    I’m thinking that anon-p and Dex should host a talk show. Who’s with me?

  44. chefsheila

    Definately an exciting thought dnd 😉

  45. Ok, it’s decided, Super Bowl day we’re all meeting at AP’s place! Sounds real sweet AP.

  46. Nannymm

    Enjoy that new setup, Anon-p. I’m with Brian, we’ll all meet at your place for Super Bowl. Sheila, Brian, and I can provide the munchies.

  47. I’ll bring the weed, you gals bring the munchies, and you better look damn good too whipping em up!

    *ducks*

  48. Nannymm

    I always look good.

  49. Nannymm

    So does Sheila I’m sure.

  50. *bites my tongue, really hard*

  51. chefsheila

    I just flip him off Nanny 😆

  52. I’m the salt of the earth, ask anyone on Trail Mix!

  53. Good show on the History Channel right now on FDR.

  54. dog's eye view

    Good morning all. Still catching up on the NASA thread. You had a lot of good comments, and it was great to see Jamie here (with a song, even!)

    AP: nanny will bring the cookies and snacks! (Please!) I will bring some food too! And maybe a good book and earplugs, not being a football fan. (The commercials are fun, though.)

  55. dog's eye view

    The History Channel breaks up so much, cannot watch it or Turner Classic Movies anymore over “the cable.”

    Got to find out if it’s a bad coaxial cable, as Sheila suggested. Anyone else getting bad digital transmissions as the cable companies switch over?

  56. dog's eye view

    skimming headlines:

    GWBush has made a surprise visit to Iraq.

    Sarah Palin’s church burned Friday night. $1 million in damages. Arson suspected; not the power of the holy spirit.

    http://www.adn.com/front/story/622635.html

  57. dog's eye view

    AP story by Jennifer Loven on Bush trip:

    BAGHDAD — President George W. Bush on Sunday made a farewell visit to Iraq, a place that defines his presidency for better or worse, just 37 days before he hands the war off to a successor who has pledged to end it.

    Air Force One, the president’s distinctive powder blue-and-white jetliner, landed at Baghdad International Airport in the afternoon local time, after a secretive Saturday night departure from Washington and an 11-hour flight. In a sign of modest security gains in this war zone, Bush was welcomed with a formal arrival ceremony _ a flourish that was not part of his previous three trips to Iraq.

    But in many ways this was a victory lap without a victory: Nearly 150,000 U.S. troops remain in Iraq fighting a war that is remarkably unpopular in the United States and across the globe. More than 4,209 members of the U.S. military have been killed in a war that has cost U.S. taxpayers $576 billion since it began five years and nine months ago.

    http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2008/12/14/AR2008121400504.html?hpid=topnews

  58. dnd

    dog,
    If you’re seeing tiling on your TV it could be a weak signal. Digital cable is much more sensitive to signal strength than analog. Your cable company can measure it.

  59. Baby Steps — and Big Questions — for General Colin Powell

    “We definitely should reevaluate [the law],” Powell told Fareed Zakaria. “It’s been 15 years since we put in ‘Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell,’ which was a policy that became a law. I didn’t want it to become a law but it became a law. Congress felt that strongly about it. But it’s been 15 years and attitudes have changed and so I think it is time for the Congress, since it is their law, to have a full review of it, and I’m quite sure that’s what President-elect Obama will want to do.”

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/steve-ralls/baby-steps-and-big-questi_b_150490.htm

  60. yes if dnd is right, if you’re getting “micro tiling” you need to call the cable company and they have to rebalance your signal.

  61. dnd

    McCain on This Week. He sounds reasonably lucid. I think the goofy stuff he said and questionable decisions on the campaign trail might have been from fatigue.

  62. Lucid is definitely a step up!

  63. dog's eye view

    thanks for info re the signal. Will call Cox today or tomorrow and get them out here.

    Re McCain: not surprised he is more lucid; he’s also had some time to reflect on the 2008 campaign. Will catch This Week with its 8:00 p rebroadcast here.

    BUT: the fatigue effects prove that he was not suited for the job he sought. His capacities may have diminished significantly since 2000, even given that he can run circles around the average American 30 years his junior today.

    This is not saying another elder statesman could not do very well as President. Just that McCain was not up to the task, physically, mentally, emotionally.

    Palin was the nail in the coffin for everyone who was not already in the theo-conservative base. Palin’s selection doomed McCain, because it demonstrated his judgment is often poor.

    It’s a great tragedy that he was not the Republican nominee in 2000.

    We would have been so much safer with either McCain or Gore.

  64. McCain scolds GOP for whacking Obama

    On ABC’s “This Week,” host George Stephanopoulos asked: “The chairman of the Republican National Committee, Mike Duncan, has been highly critical of the way President- elect Obama has dealt with this.
    “He’s had a statement every single day, saying that the Obama team should reveal all contacts they’ve had with Governor [Rod] Blagojevich. He says that Obama’s promise of transparency to the American people is now being tested. Do you agree with that?”

    McCain replied: “I think that the Obama campaign should and will give all information necessary. You know, in all due respect to the Republican National Committee and anybody — right now, I think we should try to be working constructively together, not only on an issue such as this, but on the economy stimulus package, reforms that are necessary. And so, I don’t know all the details of the relationship between President-elect Obama’s campaign or his people and the governor of Illinois, but I have some confidence that all the information will come

    http://www.politico.com/news/stories/1208/16562.html

  65. chefsheila

    I don’t have any confidence in McCain.

    Its nice that he is publically saying this, but he as an 8 year change in how he worked behind the scene.

    I wil take his remarks with a grain of salt and when he has a few years down the road, we shall see.

    He certainly didn’t measure up to who I thought he was.

  66. Sheila don’t forget he’s up for reelection in 2 years and he’s seen the hand writing on the wall and needs to swing back to the middle to beat off any challenges at home.

  67. dnd

    Well, it’s a balmy 10 degrees here and stopped snowing, so I need to get out and shovel the walk. But before I go, I’d give Gregory a B- on his first show. The economy discussion panel makeup was interesting. Two wildly successful CEOs from Google and Wal-Mart and one abysmal failure ex-CEO from HP (Fiorina) along with one smart governor (Granholm) and one partisan ninny ex-governor (Romney).

  68. chefsheila

    I like said, I told believe what I’ve come to see as his “Fork Tongue”

  69. chefsheila

    If Granholm is on, I’ll go out of my way to watch. Thanks dnd!

  70. dog's eye view

    I wonder if McCain should retire?

    I don’t doubt that he still wants to make a difference on immigration and other issues.

    But isn’t there a moderate GOP Arizona candidate who could take up the reform mantle?

    McCain gave away too much of his credibility with his years-long suck-up to the evangelical right — had he remained McCain version 2000 he would have been more of a threat to Obama/whoever was the Democratic nominee and could have retained moderate GOP and genuine independents. (I think a lot of 2008’s “independents” were Republicans who didn’t want to be associated with their previous support of Bush-Cheney-Rove-Rumsfeld.)

    Picking Palin was idiotic; suspending his campaign probably did it in. One wrecked jet too many.

    There is a lot of good to McCain — he did stand up to Bush on several occasions and topics, and did it mostly alone (save John Warner and Chuck Hagel and a few other statesman types), but he did himself a lot of damage over the course of the 2008 campaign.

    So maybe it’s time for the old lion to retire. And maybe he will, after mending his image as much as he can.

    I say that as someone who gave him money very early in this presidential election’s cycle.

  71. I think McCain is going to become the GOP version of Robert Byrd.

  72. dog's eye view

    That would be fine. McCain does have a lot of good things going for him.

    And having been the nominee (of a terminal party; this was the GOP nutcases’ loss as much as any personal loss of McCain’s) — maybe he is now free to stick with his principles (he has them) and be a power in the Senate.

  73. chefsheila

    Like I said. Personally, McCain could not have stomped into the earth all the belief and confidense I had for him.

    For me its time to stop any instant forgiveness of all these evil men. Until McCain shows remdemtion in the form of susained action of good deeds directed at this country, instead of all the behind the scenes “Kicking of peoples teeth” like he did with Obama and others in the Senate.

    I personally will not give him an inch. God knows I and others gave him a lot of respect in the past. But all the socialist, commies, white extremist support evaperated anything I had left.

  74. chefsheila

    Just my two cents by the way.. Just my railing. 🙂

  75. chefsheila

    Lieberman is the same way in my opinion. No Wonder they are such good friends. They are both very very screwed up in the head by run amuck power.

    Well now I have to start the attempt to make myself presentable for church.

    Then this afternoon I am attending the first FORWARD meeting of President Obama’s Action Forward community plans for the country.

  76. dog's eye view

    She: you’re right. The extremism and allowing the ugliness to get out of control at Palin’s rallies, in particular, must not be forgotten.

  77. chefsheila

    OOPS Now I have to get ready between the MTP commercials. lol

  78. haha, Someone threw a shoe at Bush in Iraq.

  79. dog's eye view

    Throwing a shoe is a grave sign of disrespect in the Arab world. Not sure why I remember that, but it’s come up before. The things you learn from “teh internets.”

    Bloomberg’s correspondent on the shoe-throwing: it was done by an Iraqi journalist!

    …”Bush wasn’t hit by the shoes, which both sailed over his head after they were thrown one after the other. The president shrugged and said “I’m OK” after the incident in Baghdad today. “All I can report is it is a size 10,” Bush said afterwards.

    In Arab culture, throwing shoes is a grave show of disrespect. The man shouted an Arabic phrase, which an Iraqi present translated as “this is a farewell kiss, dog.”

    After U.S. troops pulled down a statue of former dictator Saddam Hussein in 2003, Iraqi bystanders tossed shoes at it, according to news reports at the time. Bush said today’s incident was an example of free speech in a democracy.

    The man threw the shoes from about 25 feet away as Bush, standing with Prime Minister Nuri al-Maliki, made formal remarks before the signing of the Iraqi-U.S. agreement. Maliki tried to block the second thrown shoe as it flew toward Bush, according to video of the incident shown on television.

    Wrestled to Ground

    The shoe-thrower, who was in a group of journalists, was wrestled to the ground and taken away. “This is the end,” shouted the man, later identified by the Associated Press as Muntadar al-Zeidi, a correspondent for Al-Baghdadia television, an Iraqi-owned station based in Cairo, Egypt. …”

    http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/news?pid=20601087&sid=aCRrAR5He4xY&refer=home

  80. Obama’s true colors: Black, white … or neither?

    http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/28216005/

  81. dog's eye view

    how about his true colors: smart, pragmatic, sees an America beyond red and blue or black, white, yellow and brown?

  82. Nannymm

    That shoe throwing video is hilarious! Too bad the guy missed.

  83. dnd

    Begs the question: is Richardson really a Hispanic? 😉

  84. dnd

    Nannymm,
    The good news is that the Iraqi economy must be turning up if people are willing to throw their shoes away to make a political statement.

    BTW, I made some of your chipolte butter and fried some eggs in it this morning. These days I try to stay away from saturated fats, but eggs need to be cooked in butter and the chipolte butter made them even better.

  85. dnd

    Very healthy Brian. I like poached eggs in a big bowl of chili.

    And the only thing better than butter for frying eggs is bacon grease.

  86. chefsheila

    Wel…. I’m back and I’m getting snowed in. RATS!

  87. dog's eye view

    Sheila: are you in Washington State or California? Dumb question, but….

  88. chefsheila

    I’m in Washington State.

  89. Ok, I just had my last cup of coffee till Tuesday afternoon (oscopy prep), be forewarned, I’m going to be very cranky tomorrow, tea just doesn’t cut it for me!

  90. dog's eye view

    begs the question of how we are going to tell on the “very cranky.”

    But my sympathies on the caffeine withholding. Brutal.

  91. chefsheila

    Poor Holder……

    And Poor BRIAN….

  92. hey at least I can drown my sorrows in jello and bullion!

  93. but here is the real bitch of it all, today is the first day I feel I’m over the pseudomembranous colitis, and tomorrow I do oscopy prep, talk about bad timing!

  94. chefsheila

    lolol oh Man…..just when you think your due for a whine……comes Brian and you know you can’t possible top that!

  95. On another note Disney must be hurting like the rest of the Corporations.

    They are offering all kinds of deals on Hotel Stays, Cruises and many other ways to get people to visit their parks and attractions.

    I got a card in my name from them for free admission on my birthday. Now they don’t know when my birthday is, however there doing a mass mailing to people in Florida in an attempt to get visitors into their parks and Hotels next year.

    With the downturn in employment and consumers spending less they are looking for ways to get your dollars. Imagine if someone decides to go to Disney on their birthday they will not go alone. No they will take someone with them whether it be a friend or even the rest of the family.

    With prices for admission being high at all their parks, hotels and cruises they are trying to get people in anyway they can for next year to lessen the losses they will surly have like every other company will have.

    Myself I tore the card up. Even if I could afford to go I will not be spending my money with the economy in such shambles and I think only the very stupid or very rich will be tempted to spend their money on something that will not help them make it through these horrible times we are about to enter into.

    Anyway that’s just something to think about.

    As to those who think the unions are bad they seem to forget that if it wasn’t for unions there would be no forty hour work week and child labor would still be legal.

    There would be no medical benefits, overtime, earned vacation time and all the rest of the gains American Workers and their Family’s have gotten over the years.

    Now that we have reached Third World Status after Twenty Eight Years of Republican Fascist Nazi Policy one would think that the American People would finally wake up and through all them Scumbags out of Office. And that goes for Democrats as well that went along with those policies.

    Get ready for a rough ride as the minute any one of the Big 3 go under to slide into the worse Depression America has ever seen.

    End of rant.

    Gang if you all can make it to Florida and bring all the goodies you mentioned then do come by for the Super Bowl even though I’m not a big sports fan.

    Take care and God Bless you all.

    PS: Guess I’ll watch Santa Claus 2 on ABC which is on right now. Will check back later at various times to see whats happening here.

  96. Oh, by the way I did my own little post on those Republican Fascist Traitors who sunk the bridge bailout loan for the Big 3.

    God Bless.

  97. AP I’m using your post tomorrow here.

  98. Hey tomorrow the Electoral College votes.

  99. dog's eye view

    Good morning all. Anyone awake and out there yet?

  100. horsedooty

    I am drinking coffee and playing some games.

Leave a Reply

