The upside of being from a “broken home” – BrianInNYC

The first Hunukkah-Christmas after my parents split up is one that will live long in my memory.  We always celebrated both holidays when I was growing up, I think not celebrating Christmas is something both my parents missed as children and didn’t want their children to have that same feeling of being left out.  Instead of a Christmas tree we had  “Hunukkah bushes”, baskets of birch branches decorated with blue and silver balls.  We would get our big presents on Christmas morning, and small presents each night of Hunukkah.  After opening our presents on Christmas morning we would have a big breakfast of challah french toast, and later that day go to the movies and then out for chinese.  It was a fun day.

Of course after my parents split up things changed, and in regard to the holiday for the better (oh I was oh so mercenary in those days).  Of course both my parents were suffering with lots of guilt for having split up and how it would effect us and what better way to compensate than to go way overboard with the gifts.  On that first broken family Christmas my younger brother and I (we shared a bedroom) got a TV for our room and a “portable” stereo record player (neato keen).  After the usual breakfast with my mother and her new husband (scumbag!).  We were taken to the airport for our very first plane trip to go to my father and his new wife’s home in suburban Detroit (my father moved there after my folks split up).

At my father’s we were greeted with a massive Christmas tree (Carmen my stepmother was Christian) and waiting for me under the tree was a Poloriod Swinger camera, a chemistry set, and a new microscope!  All in all it was a great holiday.

I hope and wish you all have a grand holiday season!

45 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

45 responses to “The upside of being from a “broken home” – BrianInNYC

  1. chefsheila

    That was CUTE! Happy Hanukkah-Christmas!!!

  2. dnd

    There you go again Brian. Always looking at the bright side of life 😉

  3. BevnTempe

    To you all of you, thank you for this wonderful blog.

  4. dnd

    Brian,
    Newton is certainly worth celebrating, but not in lieu of Christmas. Newton is the father of classical mechanics, but every Christmas Santa rejects that and uses quantum mechanics to get his work done.

  5. horsedooty

    Bev thanks to you too you are a part of this blog.

    Felix Navidad todos gente

  6. Cute doots, and yes Bev all the best to you and yours!

  7. chefsheila

    BEV, I am so glad you have become a part of us.

    Merry Christmas!!

  8. dnd

    Bev,
    Wonderful sentiment. I’m thankful that Shelia and Brian came up with the idea and Brian put the whole thing together. And I’m thankful that you’re part of the blog too.

  9. chefsheila

    lol Brian if the Others would just let your “Sun Shine In”. 😆

  10. Awe Brian,
    What a great story.

    I bet you were first on the block to get a “swinger”

    🙂

  11. You bet ub, and boy did I feel cool with my very own Polaroid! Of course since I put this post up I now have the commercial jingle stuck in my head, “meet the swinger, the Polaroid swinger”.

  12. Happy Holidays to all…I am off to get some alka-slelter cold plus….so I can stumble through without showing the symptoms of this cold.

  13. I love that jingle……I’ll be singing it all day!

    to myself in my head….

  14. maybe that was they year I got my white patent leather Go-Go boots…. seems about the same era

  15. chefsheila

    I got gogo boots when they first came out. I was in first grade and the Beattles had just come to America…..did I hopelessly date myself? I don’t Care! I’m going to be a Granny and so the cat is out of the bag!

  16. That hairdo already dated you Sheila!

    *runs and hides*

  17. chefsheila

    LOL I got my gogo boots in 1964 and an album of “Meet The Beattles” I thin it was really my Mom that wanted them, because until the Ed Sullivan Show, I had no idea who they were. 😉

  18. chefsheila

    Its Raining!!!!! Thats my christmas present!

  19. here you go….. I think my Dad liked this at the time…..

  20. horsedooty

    UB,

    I still like the video. 🙂

  21. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year as well as any other Holiday you celebrate.

    Brian…

    I put up a new post in case you may be interested in using it for tomorrow.

    God Bless everyone, including Mr. Scrooge.

  22. I’ll check it out AP, and a merry merry to you too

  23. Times Square, Before It Was So Nice but Still Interesting

    http://www.nytimes.com/2008/12/25/nyregion/25thennow.html?hp

    This is very cool, and check out the “Then/Now” link on the page too, mondo cool.

  24. that “then and now” is very coolio…..I have to go wrap all the presents….I am wrapping in old bags, they will look nice but be eco friendly……trying to muster up the desire to do this…..

    okay I’m off….wishing you all a happy happy joy joy day…..may be back later for a break from the insanity.

    Caio my little sugar plums ~ peace to you all

    ub

  25. dnd

    Then and Now was very interesting, but I wonder why Dunlap didn’t photograph McSorley’s Old Ale House 😉

  26. dnd

    What? Don’t you like Limburger cheese?

  27. Not when it’s been ground into the floor for over a hundred years!

  28. Time to sing happy birthday to Ralphie, my little crack head turns 5 today, no more puppy! It was very cool in the park tonight, the temp shot up today, it’s 57 right now. There is still a lot of ice and snow on the ground in the park and a very dense ground hugging misty fog was rolling down the hillsides. Very circa 1950s cheap horror film.

  29. Nannymm

    Merry Christmas! I hope Santa was good to everyone this year.

  30. dnd

    Merry Christmas everyone. I asked Santa for peace on earth.

  31. horsedooty

    I noticed that Tina Fey was named the Entertainer of the Year for mostly her imitation of Sarah Palin on SNL. Naturally the asshats on the Fox Morning Show were having a cow about it and claiming that McCain would have won the election had SNL not gotten involved in the election. What morons?

  32. Nannymm

    FAUX NEWS should be named entertainment network of the years.

Leave a Reply

