Orbiter, Finishing a Mission, Offers a Peek at Mars’ Wrinkles (this one’s for dnd) – BrianInNYC

Last month, NASA’s Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter wrapped up its two-year primary science phase, and Mars geologists are wallowing in a bounty of data.

“Technically and scientifically, it has certainly met our expectations,” said Alfred S. McEwen, a planetary geologist at the University of Arizona and principal investigator for the orbiter’s high-resolution camera.

http://www.nytimes.com/2009/01/06/science/space/06mars.html?ref=science

48 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

48 responses to “Orbiter, Finishing a Mission, Offers a Peek at Mars’ Wrinkles (this one’s for dnd) – BrianInNYC

  1. Ping Pong

    What lense did you have on that Camera – WOW…

    Hope you are doing well.

    Still the Hungry Ping….

    Now back to TM

  2. I took that pic with my Canon SureShot! neat aye!

    Don’t be such a stranger ping.

  3. Obama Digs In for His BlackBerry

    http://www.nytimes.com/2009/01/08/us/politics/08berry.html?ref=politics

    This is exactly why I refuse to run for higher office.

  4. dnd

    Thanks Brian. Love them rovers!

  5. Chef Sheila

    Good morning everyone. Back to cooking and to regular days. YEY!

  6. Nannymm

    Good morning!

  7. Chef Sheila

    I’m happy for dnd! Thats a fantastic shot!

  8. dnd

    Obama’s gonna lose that fight with his Blackberry. This will probably be more difficult for him that quitting smoking.

  9. Chef Sheila

    I wonder if someone out there isn’t making something more hack proof again for him? There is always a reason for improvement.

  10. horsedooty

    sorry that I have not been more active. Charter cable company has some tech issues lately. They have only been able to keep the service up at about 8 hour stretches for the last several days. Hopefully, they will resolve this soon.

  11. horsedooty

    Dnd,

    any danger from that fire near where you live? Hope not.

  12. Chef Sheila

    Doots! Total bummer.

    I think we were all finishing our New Years anyway. I haven’t been here for the last 5 days. Been with the Momsie.

  13. Chef Sheila

    I know Obama is in DC, but where is this being held?

  14. dnd

    Doots,
    That fire is a ways north of me. Fortunately, there was relatively little property damage, and no one was seriously hurt.

    Hurricane winds blew down a power line, which sparked the fire, and those winds fanned the flames for 12 hours. Fortunately the winds have calmed. The fire fighters did a remarkable job.

  15. horsedooty

    excellent news dnd

  16. afternoon peeps, good news on the fires dnd, and doots I hope they get your cable back up and running 24/7 real soon. Is TV effected too?

  17. horsedooty

    yeah cable tv and internet effected. This is one of the main reasons I did not want to bundle my phone service in there also. When the internet and tv are out there ain’t much to do around here.

  18. Nannymm

    That stinks, Doots. I have Time Warner and did bundle my phone in with cable and internet. So far, so good. But I keep my cell charged just in case.

  19. Nannymm

    I just read a great piece by Tim Egan in the NY Times. It is a wonderful piece for all of us seeking an end to winter, both literally and metaphorically. Spring, and rebirth, is only twelve days away.
    Hibernation Blues

    PORT ANGELES, Wash. — A few days into the new year, I stood outside the house and stared into the darkness of a deep winter night at this far western edge of America – defiant on a bone-chilling eve.
    http://egan.blogs.nytimes.com/2009/01/07/hibernation-blues/?apage=3&8ty&emc=ty#comment-22917

  20. dnd

    Doots,
    I was calling Comcast a while back because my cable was out. They tried to get me to sign up for their phone service. I asked them how I could call them to report my cable was out if my phone service went through cable. Silence…

  21. Nannymm

    That made me cringe, Brian.

  22. don’t you people have cell phones?

  23. horsedooty

    I have a cell phone but I don’t like it. The service is shitty and it drops calls and is not all that reliable. Course the phone only costs $17. Casa de dooty is not particularly enamored with cell technology.

  24. I gave up my land line and replaced it with a magicjack, my cell service is excellent here in the big city!

    🙂

  25. Nannymm

    I would love to do that, but with Paul’s work and the problems we sometimes have here will cell towers (not enough of them and interference with those we do have) it’s just not workable yet.

  26. From my point of view the greatest advantage of living in Manhattan is all our services are underground and we rarely if ever lose services. Except those once a decade killer blackouts!

  27. horsedooty

    but then the cons for living in the big city is all those people!

  28. Electoral College Vote Count

  29. dnd

    In a bit of irony, former Fema head Michael Brown was evacuated from the Boulder fire:

    http://blogs.westword.com/latestword/2009/01/turnabout_is_fair_play_ex-fema.php

    To add to this, last night FEMA agreed to pay 75% of the firefighting costs, due to the threat to so many homes.

    Looks like FEMA is being run a bit better than when Brownie was at the helm.

  30. dnd

    Cheney had that classic evil grin on his face when he presided over the electoral college vote count. Makes me wonder what he knows…

  31. Chef Sheila

    I thought of Palin’s interview…..”Oh no, can’t she keep her mouth shut yet?”

  32. The only way you’re going to get that woman off the national stage is to lock her in a trunk.

  33. Perle Washes His Hands Of Iraq: I Was Not An ‘Architect Of That War,’ Neocons Had No Influence

    http://thinkprogress.org/2009/01/08/perle-iraq-architect/

    Someone give me a gun!

  34. Nannymm

    He’s a liar.

  35. And he thinks we’re all idiots!

  36. Nannymm

    Oh yeah. Palin is a narcissistic moron and Cheney is just evil.

  37. Nannymm

    Unfortunately, Brian, a significant segment of the population is stupid. That’s how Bush, Cheney, and Co. got away with their evil.

  38. dnd

    And that explains why Palin remains so popular!

  39. Nannymm

    Pathetic, isn’t it, dnd?

  40. Chef- Spot on about Palin. She is one long string of disjointed sentence fragments. Utter pap. Wifey and I watched it last night. I think she would be an easy mark in a national election.

    We are getting really close to time now for the inauguration. I hope Congress will work with the President to get a good “set of stimuli” through. BTW, any angry GOPers up set about the package can send any checks to me in protest.

    See you gang

  41. dnd

    New unemployment numbers out: 524,000 jobs lost last month. 1,500,000 in the last three months. Unemployment rate hits 7.2%.

    The 7.2% figure is bad, but the rate at which unemployment is increasing is much more frightening.

Leave a Reply

