dnd’s Open Letter To President Obama

traintrip

January 18, 2009

Dear President Obama,

Whoa Nelly, you’ve got a lot on your presidential plate.  The economy, war, health care, global relations, energy, deteriorating infrastructure, etc., etc., etc., it’s hard to know where to begin.

I hope you take a page out of the Reagan playbook and get the painful stuff done first.  I hope your initiatives solve more than one problem at a time, e.g. universal health care reform would be a boon to business and a great economic stimulus.  So would energy research and development.

You are a man who wisely seeks the council of those with differing points of view.  Your extraordinary capacity for discipline and organization was evident throughout your campaign.  But your strongest asset is the ability to inspire, and that is a very powerful asset.

So my one request is that you use this gift to inspire not only Americans, but the global community.  You alone cannot solve all of our problems, but together, we can make it happen.  Yes we can.

Sincerely,

dnd

62 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

62 responses to “dnd’s Open Letter To President Obama

  1. Spot on dnd, strike while the iron is hot, and yes agreed 100% on health care being tied in with economic recovery!

  2. chefsheila

    Well written and just plain nice dnd. I know you speak this way now. After visiting, seeing your speech on the computer screen has always been a pleasure.

    Ya’ll are going to put me to shame.

  3. dnd

    Axelrod on This Week. Good round table too.

  4. chefsheila

    Oooo I missed MTP will have to get it someway else. ABC sounds great this morning

  5. chefsheila

    I’m watching CBS Sunday morning. Always a nice show and its all dedicated to the Inaugural.

  6. chefsheila

    Brian. Craig put up a post on how lame the train ride was on facebook. ;0) I snapped back.

  7. dnd

    If it’s Sunday, it’s my favorite pundit, Ed Quillen. Writing today on presidential reputations:

    “It’s tempting to imagine some august tribunal known as “History,” which renders permanent decisions about the presidents of our republic. Outgoing President George W. Bush has invoked that image: “History will be the judge. History will look back and determine.” ”

    http://www.denverpost.com/quillen/ci_11465625

  8. Didn’t see it Sheila, Craig is not on my friends list.

  9. Is it the same as his TM thread today?

  10. chefsheila

    I might have know that. Oh well. First time he’s done this. Its been pretty benign for this.

  11. dnd

    Shelia,
    Rahm looks like he wants to reach over the desk, grab Gregory’s tie, and punch him in the nose.

    Must see TV!

  12. chefsheila

    love Quillen and I’ll make this omission. I only read him if you post him dnd. I like him even better when you do it. lol

  13. chefsheila

    I’ll try to find it somewhere else today…. Going from town to town like this I get mixed up!

  14. chefsheila

    What I hate about the Left Coast. The Sunday Shows slip from place to place without notice because of all the ball games

  15. dnd

    “Craig put up a post on how lame the train ride was on facebook. ;0) I snapped back.”

    Good for you Shelia. Some pundits seem to think “if you can’t be witty, be petty.”

  16. chefsheila

    THANKS DND!! lol Everyone was slamming him and now our side is speaking up. So my job is done.

    You can run but you can’t hide. Backchannel will always be there. 😉

  17. chefsheila

    I’ll watch tonight when all the signals ease up a bit so I can watch from video without so many stops and starts from the “Buffer”

  18. chefsheila

    Donna Brazile. laugh of the day. President bush’s Legacy. “Honey I Shrunk The Party”

  19. chefsheila

    I’m going for a walk with the doggies, but I’m going to be around the rest of the day typing my letter.

    See you guys later

  20. Alter was just on MSNBC saying that his sources are saying that it’s full steam ahead on health care!

  21. I really cant think of the EXACT words to say how excited I am for the people that the nightmare is ending. I am optimistic but realistic. I wish our new President the best, as i have done for every new President of my lifetime. I have to admit though, just as with President Clinton, there’s extra satisfaction.

  22. chefsheila

    Pat Buchanon on GPS? wow…crossing the lines

  23. chefsheila

    Steve, I hear you. Those that have no hope are trying to debunk Obama. But those of us that do, know that Obama is not the savior or perfection in human form.

    What we know is, he fits to bill of someone who is willing to try to unite our country and begin the healing process.

    We also know that we can all do it together.

    There are always limited and the nay sayers. Too bad for them.

  24. dnd

    Shelia,
    Notice that Buchanan isn’t screaming like he does on MoJo?
    Peggy Noonan also on GPS. Love her writing.

  25. chefsheila

    I was laughing at the scene dnd. lol

    Listen, you know how I feel about the Pegster. I don’t care what some think, She is and has always been a great writer. No matter the flavor of her writing.

  26. I don’t have a problem with Peggy, agree with her rarely but always interested in hearing what she has to say.

  27. chefsheila

    If any of these nutty shows on 24 hour cable would like to get a clue of how they can improve? Take a look at GPS and then get serious.

    GPS is CNN’s answer to Meet The Press. Watch out.

  28. I did enjoy CNN’s coverage yesterday. They need less punditry and more raw coverage.

  29. Football time now, guys…..my beloved Steelers are 1 game away from the Super Bowl.

  30. dnd

    “The Pegster” LOL! I can see Buchanan calling her that.

    I think Noonan is thoughtful, passionate and brilliant. Don’t always agree with her, but that doesn’t preclude my opinion of her. Noonan is a “thinking” conservative who is not afraid to call her own to task when they screw up.

    Actually, I like Buchanan too, when he doesn’t let his ideology get in the way of his thinking.

  31. dnd

    Hip,
    Will it be the Steelers and Eagles in the Superbowl?
    I haven’t been a big Steelers fan since Franco Harris, the greatest Italian-American in NFL history.

  32. chefsheila

    Steelers and Superbowl? I might watch then

  33. dnd

    “GPS is CNN’s answer to Meet The Press. Watch out.”

    IMHO, GPS is way better than anything on the Sunday shows today. Not since “Firing Line” has there been such a thought provoking show. It is not politics as entertainment as so many of the political shows are.

  34. chefsheila

    And with Zakaria’s question of the week, Time to take a shower.

  35. chefsheila

    Ok, I didn’t realize this celebration was starting so soon. I guess I’ll stay for a bit.

  36. Great crowd at the concert, HBO is broadcasting it in HD, very cool.

  37. chefsheila

    I can’t find it without political commentary. 😦

  38. chefsheila

    No. Unfortunately. Well, I’m sure CSPAN will show segments in the near future.

  39. More and more I hate the people you work for, cheap fucks!

  40. Sheila I think the concert has been unblocked, check your HBO channel.

  41. Nannymm

    Thanks for a well written and thoughtful post. I agree with you that we can do this together.

  42. Nannymm

    Sheila, I agree with Brian. Your employer sounds a bit too frugal for my taste.

  43. Nannymm

    Obama was great!

  44. Oh yeah, he was there too.

    🙂

  45. unlikely_burrito

    Nice letter dnd.

    He sure has that gift, to inspire, and I believe it is 100% truly from his core being.

    I am looking forward to the whole general weight of negativity to be lifted and replaced with possibilities and hope!

  46. BTW for you none U2 fans, this is the song Bono was referring to at the concert:

  47. dog's eye view

    Catching the HBO rebroadcast of Lincoln Memorial concert. Watching U2 with Pride in the Name of Love.

    When he wrote that song, Bono had no idea he would one day perform it on the steps of the Lincoln Memorial, the day before MLK Day, before a crowd of thousands upon thousands and millions home and worldwide, and two days before the inauguration of Barack Obama.

    How cool was this day for Bono?!

    And now the wonderful music that followed Obama’s exceptional Denver convention speech, which was swallowed up with Palin selection the day following, but the best prevailed at last.

  48. dog's eye view

    SNL Presidential Bash ’08 on now.

  49. dog's eye view

    Good morning all. Any holiday coffee achievers out there?

  50. dog's eye view

    Obama consults with McCain, and even reports back to him on conversations with potential job candidates, particularly on national security matters.

    “Mr. McCain, meanwhile, has told colleagues “that many of these appointments he would have made himself,” said Senator Lindsey Graham, a South Carolina Republican and a close McCain friend.

    Fred I. Greenstein, emeritus professor of politics at Princeton, said: “I don’t think there is a precedent for this. Sometimes there is bad blood, sometimes there is so-so blood, but rarely is there good blood.”

    ….Mr. Obama arrived for their Chicago meeting on Nov. 16 with several well-researched proposals to collaborate on involving some of Mr. McCain’s favorite causes, including a commission to cut “corporate welfare,” curbing waste in military procurement and an overhaul of immigration rules. …”

    Obama Reaches Out for McCain’s Counsel http://www.nytimes.com/2009/01/19/us/politics/19mccain.html?ref=us

    Obama is most assuredly a change for the better, during a time of great anxiety and adjustment.

Leave a Reply

