President’s Own Chili. What Fun! by Chef Sheila

 

OH COME ON FOLKS!  How about a little mindless fun around here….  Its cold outside so baby, have some chili to take the Chill off.

There is now a blog  called Obama Foodorama. It is a lot of fun!  If you have a spare hour, check it out. It is all about Obama and food. Go figure.

This recipe  is the Obama family’s favorite chili recipe. President Obama used to make it in college.  What a way to connect with our new Commander-in-Chief!    This chili is different than the chili I am used to, but oh-so good. It is a spicy SOB, so I would take it easy with the chili powder.

Remember, when you use chili powder, it only gets spicier. It might be mild today, but tomorrow it will pack some heat. I have a significant other (Ethan) who is sort of sensitive (wimpy) to spicy foods.

 

Obama Family Chili

1 Tbsp olive oil

1 onion, diced

1 green bell pepper

 chopped Several garlic cloves minced

1 lb. ground beef or ground turkey

1/4 tsp cumin

1/4 tsp oregano

1/4 tsp turmeric

1/4 tsp basil

1 Tbsp chili powder (less for a more mild taste)

3 Tbsp red wine vinegar

Several tomatoes, chopped

1 15 oz. can kidney beans,

rinsed and drained Steamed rice,

 

 combine cumin, oregano, turmeric and basil. Mix well and set aside.

In a large pot over medium high heat, saute onion, green bell pepper and garlic. Add ground beef and cook until browned through.

Sprinkle spice mix over the meat and stir well to combine. Pour in red wine vinegar. Add tomatoes and simmer until they are cooked down. Add beans and simmer for 10 minutes. Serve over rice.

Obama Foodorama   http://obamafoodorama.blogspot.com/

Dnd!  Now its your turn.  ;0)

112 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

112 responses to “President’s Own Chili. What Fun! by Chef Sheila

  1. Actually my favorite chili is a sweet potato chili. Here’s the recipe (I’m sure this recipe will go over really big with doots and dnd!

    🙂

    INGREDIENTS

    2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
    1 medium red onion, chopped
    1 red pepper, chopped
    4 cloves garlic, minced
    2 teaspoons sea salt
    1 large sweet potato, cut into 1/2-inch cubes
    Zest and juice of 1 lime
    1 28-can diced tomatoes
    4 15-ounce cans black beans, rinsed and drained (or 6 cups freshly cooked)
    1 jalapeno chile pepper, seeded and chopped
    1 tablespoon cumin
    1 tablespoon chili powder
    1 teaspoon cocoa powder
    1 lime, cut into wedges
    1 cup chopped cilantro leaves, washed and dried

    1. Warm the oil in a large pan over medium heat and add the onion, red pepper, garlic, and salt. Saute until soft, about 4 minutes.

    2. Add the sweet potato and lime zest, and cook 10 to 15 minutes more, continuing to stir occasionally.

    3. Add the tomatoes, black beans, jalapeno, lime juice, cumin, chili powder, and cocoa, bring to a simmer, cover, and cook for 10 minutes.

    4. Serve over brown rice, if desired, with lime wedges and cilantro, or with corn bread, biscuits, or taco chips alongside.

    Serves 6.

  2. Nannymm

    Good morning! Thanks for the chili recipes. If you think Obama’s recipe is spicy, you really don’t want to try mine!
    I’m going to try that sweet potato chili, Brian. I need a good vegetarian chili recipe since I have alot of friends who are vegetarians.

  3. Gray and cold outside about 28….yet again, and it’s Monday. But I am not going to let i get to me…

    I just made chile and corn bread yesterday. Now I can make Obama and potato chili for a change, thanks for the recipes.

    The super bowl was a pretty exciting game, and I usually don’t even care about it… think I just wanted the distraction.

    ? for everyone: I have a friend who just started on her goal to quit smoking…any tips I can give her? Thanks

  4. chefsheila

    Morning! Brian, I have a black bean and sweet potato to!

    Got mine from Harborwoman. Yours sounds like a keepr too.

  5. Nannymm

    Hi UB and Sheila. Glad you’re back today, Sheila. We really missed you yesterday!

  6. chefsheila

    Nanny here is mine,

    The only way I quit completely.

    First I got used to understanding that I was going to gain weight and resolved to understand that 5 to 10 pounds for quiting was a small loss compared to the gain of quitting.

    I started by repeating and visualizing the course I was going to take to quit. I did it until the plans were a part of my day. I thought about it as like my job.

    Then I started by cutting down to four a day over a couple of weeks.

    Then I went to 3 a day for about 3 months.

    2 a day for a bout 2 months

    and then I went cold turkey.

    Peppermints are under rated. They gave me the feeling of cool air in my lungs.

    I went for a walk around the house and or around the yard or at work around the block, everytime I wanted one.

    Good luck to her. I went cold turkey 3 times before I did it this way.

    I was alergic to the patches.

  7. chefsheila

    thanks nanny,

    I went on a mission to find an old friend in CA. It was a long day but Sooooo worth it!

  8. chefsheila

    Oh and Nanny,

    let her know this one point that a lot of people don’t know.

    There is a trigger point for adrenolin (Fight or Flight) in your brain. When we have smoked for a number of years, the nicotine takes over in turning it off when it gets triggered.

    When people quit, the trigger will go on for a littlest things. It won’t turn off until it relearns how to do that.

    So this is why people freak when they quit.

    Seriously, warn their family and then when it happens go for a walk, sit down and breat slowly, keep remembering that this too shall pass.

    I a very calm person. On ciggerates I was ZEN like. When I quit, it was quite alarming LOL But my staff took it and took my apologies and kept me going.

  9. dnd

    Happy Groundhog Day!

  10. chefsheila

    ….What do gourndhogs sound like? 😉

  11. horsedooty

    I have a friend who just started on her goal to quit smoking…

    tell her you can never smoke again. No back sliding. I used the “one step at a time” patch and never had to buy the second set of patches. Tell her that she will learn how to control the “urges” she will also learn how long the cravings last and how to control the “urges”. for me the longest was about 8 minutes. They got shorter the longer I went without smoking. I learned how to change my mind and forget about smoking. Been about 12 years for me. I tell everyone I smell better and I certainly smell better.

  12. dog's eye view

    yum, some great chili recipes. Good topic today. Have made Harborwoman’s chili –it’s wonderful; Brian’s recipe with the cocoa powder sounds like the next vegetarian chili up. The Obama chile will be made at some point too. Regrettably, I am the only spicy food eater in our house, and the full sized freezer failed a few months back. Will have to experiment with smaller quantities, I guess.

    Plus: good tips on quitting smoking, and congrats to everyone who ever accomplished that task. “Peppermints are under rated.” Charming thought.

    ======

    LATimes story on Jill Biden and her community college teaching, but it’s mostly a discussion on whether she should call herself “Dr.” or not. Odd tangent. They get in a dig at her husband as “pompous.”

    Anyhoo: community colleges are where it’s at for higher education for many, many Americans, and an underrated resource, so kudos to Jill for being our first working second lady, and for her professional field.

    http://www.latimes.com/news/nationworld/nation/la-na-dr-jill-biden2-2009feb02,0,3990925.story

  13. chefsheila

    Also,

    I did try Nicerete one time…..I got a sore throat!!!

    I know you guys are wondering….Imagine being addicted to a product you were allergic too.

    Now thats addicted!

  14. chefsheila

    Doots!!

    12 years! fantastic!

  15. horsedooty

    Doots!!

    12 years! fantastic!

    no relapse either. after about 6 months I pretty much quit thinking about smoking until someone asks a question about how to quit. Like now. I pretty much was in the clear wrt “urges” after about a month. Do like the ANON people do and take it “one day at a time.”

  16. chefsheila

    Its funny. its been about 3 years for me. I have only had one session where I thought I really wanted a ciggarette.

    One of those follow the smell of smoke moment.

  17. chefsheila

    Ground saw his shadow…….yuck!

  18. dog's eye view

    congrats to Sheila and doots and any lurkers who gave up the (legal) weed.

    Strength of will. It’s got to be so hard to quit smoking or drinking.

    Just spent some time helping a friend who is having far more trouble with alcohol than we’d suspected. So hard to get out from under an addiction. I took her to 3 AA meetings; very impressed with those in the program and their honesty.

    She’s not ready to quit yet. It does not seem you can impose that from without.

  19. chefsheila

    No one can treat the addict but the addict.

    Only when their own personal rock bottom moment comes will they make the steps toward recovery

  20. BevnTempe

    The chili looks great. Since I avoid the kitchen at all costs, I probably will just have to look at the picture.

    I quit smoking 25 yrs ago. I got hypnotized! Smoked like a chimney before I went to my appointment and have never had a real craving. I think when I’m 85 yrs old I’m going to stop dieting and start smoking again!!!

    Congratulations to all the Steelers fan. We did have you worried for a few minutes.

  21. dog's eye view

    Sheila: we keep wondering what rock bottom will look like! Friend is perilously close. But you are right, and whether rock bottom or death comes first, I cannot guess.

    News of a skydiving death, or of a man dying doing what he loved (heart attack). Sad to lose him, but suspect family members will be comforted that his final moments were not in a hospital or ambulance.

    http://www.thestate.com/breaking/story/671150.html

  22. dog's eye view

    Yippee. Am going to see The Pretenders in concert tonight in a small venue.

    Thank you Craigslist.

  23. dog's eye view

    Bev and eprof: those Cardinals almost pulled it off. Was rooting for them; hope this was the practice for another Super Bowl appearance soon.

  24. dnd

    Chili is not so much a recipe as a process. Ok, more like a state of mind. A Zen like experience, really. Here’s my suggestion for a bowl of red:

    Get a couple of pounds of beef shoulder and a pound of pork shoulder, trimmed. Cube into 1/2″ pieces. Heat up some oil or bacon grease in a Dutch oven or other large heavy pot and sear the meat. You’ll need to do this in batches so the meat sears and doesn’t steam.

    While this is going on, wash some dried chili pods. I like Ancho or NuMex Big Jim, but whatever you can find works. Remove the stems and seeds, place in a pot of water, cover, bring to a simmer for five minutes, remove from heat and let steep for 10 minutes. Puree the chilies with about a cup and a half of the water they steeped in. You can use chili powder instead of the puree, but it won’t be as good. If you do, use pure chili powder; the stuff in the spice isle has all sorts of other spices in it.

    Saute some chopped onions in the Dutch oven and toss in a mess of garlic. Add the meat and puree and some water, cover and simmer for a couple of hours until the meat is fork tender. At some point add some toasted ground cumin, a little oregano, and a little turmeric and maybe a bay leaf of two. Taste and season as you go. Skim off excess fat.

    They’ll hang you in Texas if you add beans, but I like ’em. Canned nopales (cactus) are also good.

  25. dnd

    Almost forgot, some people like to thicken it with a little masa.

  26. dog's eye view

    dnd: what number of chili pods do you suggest for this Southern gringo (gringa)?

    Be nice!

  27. dnd

    dog,
    Depends on how big they are and how much you like chili flavor. Four to six might be a good place to start.

    BTW, if you want to add some heat, crumble up some dried De Arbol or Guajillo chilies. De Arbol are about 6 times as hot as Guajillo, but the Guajillo have a much more interesting flavor.

  28. dog's eye view

    Thanks! Taking Sheila’s advice that chili hotness develops over time seriously.

    Would that real life followed that pattern.

  29. dog's eye view

    via Andrew Sullivan: Marc Ambinder provides text of Daschle letter to Senators Baucus and Grassley (take it this might be Senate Finance Committee?) apologizing for tax errors:

    http://marcambinder.theatlantic.com/archives/2009/02/tom_daschles_letter_of_contrit.php

  30. chefsheila

    Try just flavor instead of heat too.

    The canned green chilis in the store give subtantial flavor iwthout heat.

  31. WASHINGTON, Feb 2 (IPS) – CENTCOM commander Gen. David Petraeus, supported by Defence Secretary Robert Gates, tried to convince President Barack Obama that he had to back down from his campaign pledge to withdraw all U.S. combat troops from Iraq within 18 months at an Oval Office meeting Jan. 21.

    But Obama informed Gates, Petraeus and Joint Chiefs Chairman Adm. Mike Mullen that he wasn’t convinced and that he wanted Gates and the military leaders to come back quickly with a detailed 16-month plan, according to two sources who have talked with participants in the meeting.

    Obama’s decision to override Petraeus’s recommendation has not ended the conflict between the president and senior military officers over troop withdrawal, however. There are indications that Petraeus and his allies in the military and the Pentagon, including Gen. Ray Odierno, now the top commander in Iraq, have already begun to try to pressure Obama to change his withdrawal policy.

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2009/02/02/generals-seek-to-reverse_n_163070.html

  32. Congrats to all the quitters. I am sharing your tips with a friend….she already feels defeated and it’s only day 2….so thanks so much..I find it interesting that you all used different methods…congrats again….

    Dnd – that chili sounds really authentic…. I may try making it for the carnivores in my home.

  33. Nannymm

    Dnd, your recipe is very much like mine. I got it many years ago from an elderly Mexican woman and it is delicious!

    Burrito, I’m another “quitter.” For me, the method was far less important than the motivation. When I decided to quit, my grandson had been pleading with me to do so. He had said, PLEASE, Nanny! I don’t wan’t you to DIE!” So, he was my motivation and here is what I did.
    First, I promised him that I would stop smoking. Then,I took a small framed picture of him and put it where my cigarettes normally would have been. Then, every time I reached for a smoke or thought about having one, it was my grandson’s photo I would find. I’d look at it and tell myself something along the lines of, “Nope! I promised! No cigarette. I’m going to be here to see him grow up.” Then I’d give him a kiss (his picture if he wasn’t here) and put the pic back until next time. It worked for me. I never cheated. And reminding myself of why I was quitting was enough to help me control any urges I had to give in.
    I hope your friend is successful in her efforts.

  34. BevnTempe

    Changing the subject from chili and coffin nails, what do you think about Dashchle’s situation? If he knew in June 08 he owed taxes and didn’t pay until Jan 09, do you think he should be confirmed.

    My personal opinion is no. But I’m open to other’s opinions.

  35. *blows smoke rings over the blog*

  36. dnd

    Bev,
    The tax code is so complicated that it’s not unusual to dispute a underpayment claim. My guess is that his accountant told him he could beat it.

    If you lose, not only do you have to pay back taxes, you have to pay substantial penalty and interest, plus he knows his return will be scrutinized for the next several years, so it’s not like Daschle was just blowing off the IRS until he felt like it. .

    So I think the tax issue is moot for his appointment.

    His wife lobbying for the health care industry is another issue…

  37. Nannymm

    Bev, If I’m going to be consistent, I’d have to say he shouldn’t be confirmed. Why? Because if he were a repug and Bush had chosen him, I would not overlook his tax situation. It’s unfortunate, however, as I think Dashcle would do an excellent job.
    I also think Obama needs to be careful here. He can’t overlook too much or make too many exceptions or he will damage himself politically and ethically. If that were to happen, he would have a much more difficult time getting and keeping support for the many important initiatives he wants to pass.
    So, sadly, I think Tom Dashcle should withdraw.

  38. dog's eye view

    Bev: I think Daschle should pull his nomination down.

    Nanny stated it very well at 1:53.

    I am surprised he has not; think many within Obama private staff are aware of the damage being done.

    Daschle’s a talented guy, but this is too distracting. And he was just plain wrong to not pay enough attention and not move forward with a correction on the car issue sooner. Poor judgment.

    Maybe he can turn his efforts toward a simplified tax code!!

  39. dnd

    It’s a shame that Daschle is such a distraction. What’s really at issue right now is the House stimulus plan. It’s a freakin’ mess and will do little to stimulate the economy. It’s basically a bill that is a laundry list of a lot of states issues that were denied by the previous administration. I’m not saying those things shouldn’t be addressed. I’m saying they aren’t going to stimulate the economy and generate new jobs. Much of it isn’t a priority right now. As such it’s ripe to be a partisan, political issue.

  40. Daschle will be confirmed.

  41. dnd

    Here’s the real ethics issue: Bev bet Hip some Goldwater salsa that the Cards would win. Hip never came back with what he’d send Bev if the Steelers won. So is Bev on the hook to send Hip some Goldwater salsa?

  42. Poll: Majority Of Republicans Want Party To Be More Like Palin

    While the media and political elites debate the future of the GOP, rank and file Republicans see see no need to deviate from the party’s current path. According to a recent Rasmussen poll, a plurality of Republican voters think the party has grown too moderate over the past eight years, and a majority think the party should become more like controversial Alaska Governor Sarah Palin.

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2009/02/02/poll-majority-of-republic_n_163166.html

  43. dog's eye view

    He might be confirmed.

    A better question: SHOULD HE BE?

    I don’t think the nomination should go forward. Too difficult after Geithner (whose tax issue was more defensible) and too much a double standard. He may not have fully paid his taxes, and needs to meet a higher standard than your average citizen who is not likely to get nominated for a good government job.

    He’s got extraordinary talents, but might have to exercise them from some other perch.

    Business as usual on Wall Street — and in Washington — is not going to cut it. These are different times, and perception is very important.

    Anybody want to guess if this goes to a confirmation hearing? I guess it won’t but am frequently wrong!!

  44. dnd

    Brian,
    Of course Daschle will be confirmed. The question was should he be confirmed.

    I’m reserving judgment until after I see what kind of job he does 😉

  45. In all candor dnd I’m torn, I think he will do an outstanding job, Also we don’t know if it’s an intentional not paying of taxes or an honest oversight. Having had my own IRS issues I can sympathize.

  46. chefsheila

    Here’s my take.

    The tax codes are so crazy now and Daschele is only in a bad state this last year?

    Its so minor, why don’t we call just get a little looser with our critiques.

    its time to see moderation on both sides and both sides know this now.

    I think Daschele still has a good chance.

  47. dnd

    One more rant on the stimulus bill. Neither party has a lock on being stupid. The Republicans just want tax cuts. As I mentioned yesterday, tax cuts don’t generate jobs, DEMAND generates jobs.

  48. chefsheila

    Hear heare dnd.

    I’m not happy with stimulous myself….more infrastructure would have been good.

  49. BevnTempe

    Thanks for your input – and Steve and I have already talked and settled the issue of the bet.

  50. Nannymm

    I think there is a bigger issue here that we might want to discuss. Most people have something in their past, their personal lives or their business dealings , that could be embarrassing or could disqualify them for public service based on our current standards. Generally, these are all minor issues that are unlikely to have any bearing on the position in question. Yet we persist in making such blemishes into major factors, Why? Aren’t we discouraging and/or disqualifying people with excellent records and job credentials?
    Personally, I think we ask too much of public officials. We want them to be “pure” with pristine records. Yet, no one can really meet that criteria. It seems to me that we would, as a nation and a society, be better served if we looked at these candidates/officials as the flawed human beings that they (and WE) are, cut them a bit of slack, and looked more at what qualifies them to do a job than at what DISqualifies them.
    Obviously, we need to have standards. I just think we need to re-think what those standards should be and how they should be applied.
    Comments?

  51. chefsheila

    Thats exactly my thoughts.

    Its time to change the “Micro Critical” micrscope that both parties impose on the candidates.

  52. BevnTempe

    Nanny – I agree with your reasoning. I think it was Daschle’s bad luck to be the 2nd potential cabinet member that had tax problems. It may not be fair, but to those of us who are very careful with our income and record keeping (especially those of us under the $2 mil level) it just raises some questions about the way it has been presented in the media. (That may be the problem).

    Anyway, I’m sure it will be interesting to follow his confirmation hearing.

  53. dnd

    Spot-on Nannymm. I’ve underpaid my taxes, though not on purpose. Fought with the IRS. They won. I paid the penalty and interest. I’ve also overpaid my taxes, though not on purpose. IRS let me know and sent me a check. The tax code is a mess.

    That’s why I’m sympathetic to Giethner and Daschle. Mistakes happen. I know.

  54. Also if we want the best brightest holding public office we shouldn’t resent their making big bucks when they work in the private sector. As long as it’s honestly done of course. I don’t think we lose sight of the fact that being in public service requires great finical sacrifice.

  55. Nanny,
    Thanks for sharing how you quit…..it was another different method. I ‘m going to pass these on when she seems dejected……maybe every once in a while.

    I also agree with the removal of the “Micro critical” analysis of every single move a person has made in their life. When I look back, whoa…..some thing were more fun then anything, but most likely nothing I would want listed on my bio…and Taxes!…the whole tax code is so freakin complicated who knows what happened there. Depending on the complexity of your returns, it may take a well trained Tax Attorney just to figure out the error.

  56. It’s getting to the point where all I want is some movement on the economy……with all the bright people in this country, why can’t they get it together???

    Maybe they should have the graduate economic students work on it as a project, after all they don’t have to get re-elected, and they don’t owe any favors, and they have fresh eye…….

    I tired of all the negative reports….

  57. Nannymm

    I don’t think we can expect much, if any, movement on the economy in the near future, UB. Our economy is huge and can’t be turned around quickly. Imagine trying to turn an ocean liner around. It’s a very slow and exacting process that requires alot of maneuvering room. We’re in this for the long haul. Attempts to move the economy too fast could result in disaster.

  58. dnd

    Ok, back to serious business: Chili Verde.

    Some cubed pork or chicken (though I prefer shredded) dumped into some sauteed onions and garlic with chicken stock. Roasted green chilies. I prefer a mix of Sandia and Espanola. Cumin and bay leaf for spices. Tomatillos add a tartness and a little bit of sweet. Fresh serrano chilies add the heat and distinctive flavor.

    You can thicken it with a bit of masa. Adding some hominy makes it like a Posole. And beans extend it.

  59. Nannymm

    A final word on tolerance of mistakes:
    The hard part will be applying this tolerance to the other side. But if we are going to advocate giving Dashcle the benefit of the doubt and overlooking his tax issues, then we will need to apply the same standard when repugs have problems. I’m not looking forward to that. It’s so much more fun to go after them. But fair is fair…. So let’s keep each honest on this one.

  60. chefsheila

    I think we are seeing the change creeping in…but how much they can swallow this year is the big story.

  61. chefsheila

    And…….There is always Gov Dean

  62. Nannymm

    STOP THAT, dnd!!! You’re making me sooo hungry! I haven’t made Chili Verde in ages. But I think it’s now on the menu for tomorrow. 😉

  63. Well, the undermining of the consumers’ and business owners’ confidence is beginning to show up in drastic measure….I think, once you loose the ability to see any recovery and growth possible at all ……things will get even worst then they really need to be.

  64. Nannymm

    That’s a good point, UB. I think Obama must continue to point out that we will get through this while also reminding us that it will be a long and painful process. Since we can’t see the light at the end of the tunnel, he needs to be the Artist-in-Chief who paints that picture for us.

  65. Nannymm

    I don’t know if I like this or not.

    New Hampshire Gov. John Lynch (D) said Monday that he will appoint a Republican to fill Sen. Judd Gregg’s (R-N.H.) seat if President Obama nominates the senator to be his Commerce secretary.
    http://thehill.com/leading-the-news/lynch-would-appoint-a-republican-to-greggs-seat-2009-02-02.html

  66. Nannymm

    Some relief for homeowners facing foreclosure is in the pipeline. A House committee approved a bill last week that would allow bankruptcy judges to order banks to reduce mortgage payments. That’s known as a “cram down.” And as CBS News correspondent Bill Whitaker reports, for many homeowners, it’s their last hope.
    http://www.cbsnews.com/stories/2009/02/01/eveningnews/main4767753.shtml?tag=topHome;topStories

  67. Nannymm

    Brian, WP ate my last post. Can you free it?

  68. dog's eye view

    There’s the rub, nanny, and once again very well stated.

    I think Daschle is very well qualified for the HHS slot, but timing is everything, and he could end up a poster child for the insular Washington world which makes laws but does not enforce them upon themselves.

    People get the issue of politicians feeling they are above the law. Taxation is a complicated issue, true. But it appears that Daschle did not pay much attention to his taxes — one of the first things checked in a confirmation process.

    This coming on the heels of Wall Street firms paying big bonuses with bailout money?

    Bad time for this to come to light. Timing is important.

    The revolving door issue with congress/lobbyists is going to get a good look too. Obviously, people with congressional knowledge can make excellent lobbyists. And well-compensated ones.

    Daschle’s problem might not be so much personal, as alerting people that Washington’s got a double standard, often.

    =======

    Agreed re chasing away good public servants over venial sins and failings.

    It’s always been a problem. I don’t see it improving in the blogified world. It’s our loss.

    A good topic for a dedicated thread.

  69. dog's eye view

    If you’ve ever wondered about that Caesar’s wife quotation (Shakespeare), here’s the scoop.

    Looked it up while thinking about Daschle’s issues. Because perception can trump reality.

    http://www.dl.ket.org/latin3/mores/religion/bonadea.htm

    No clue if this is the full story, but, hey, it’s teh internets.

  70. dnd

    Just clicked on CNN to see Hillary sworn in by Biden. Bill, Chelsea and her mom’s on stage with her. Best of luck Madame Secretary. We’re all rootin’ for you to succeed.

  71. Nannymm

    I’ll second that, dnd.

  72. Kathy

    Hey all-
    Woo the chili looks great- my son is in the nothing but beige foods phase.- he was psyched to get to have squeezable cheese in a can with Ritz crackers for the Super Bowl.

    I made a nice lentil soup Saturday and Lo Mein tonight….

    Nannym- I am in NH and well familiar with Judd Gregg. He is no moderate, and suddenly lunched towards the center in the past couple of months on spending.

    Democratic activist here are also not too happy with Gov. John Lynch allegedly being part of a deal to appoint a repub. Most here think he is basically a rep, though he was voted in last Nov. at about 70%.

    NH has trended democratic the last few years- for something like 130 the legislature was republican. Now the state senate and legislature are democratic, as is the governor’s council, and the gov. Both the speaker of the house and senate are are women, – in fact the current senate is the first legislative body anywhere that has a female majority.

    On the other hand, Judd is the only repub left in the NH delegation- in fact, there are only 3 senators in all of NE who are republicans- him and the 2 ME ones. NH repubs are domicated by old boys, father and sons- Bass, Sununu, and Gregg. On the other hadn, the dems are heavy in the grassroots – my congressman Paul Hodes was one of the first supporters of Obama in June 2007.

    If you want to see how NH dems feel about this, check out http://www.bluehampshire.com

  73. dog's eye view

    Kathy! Great to hear from you, beige foods and all.

    Do keep us posted on all things NH and Kathy-related.

  74. Nannymm

    Thanks for the info, Kathy. I didn’t think any Dem would be pleased about this. Has a repug governor ever appointed a Dem to a Senate vacancy? I doubt it.

  75. Just saw your post nanny, I released it

  76. Kathy

    Here is good stuff on Judd Gregg and his interest group ratings

    http://www.votesmart.org/issue_rating_category.php?can_id=53321

  77. Nannymm

    Thanks, Brian.

  78. chefsheila

    Kathy! Good to see you. Sorry I missed ya!

  79. Nannymm

    Coleman is desperate. I wish the Senate would just seat Franken. This is ridiculous.

  80. chefsheila

    Man, I agree with that. Franken will finally be seated two years from now 😦

  81. chefsheila

    Ok we all can let out our collective breath. Now its time for Daschele Discomfort.

  82. dnd

    Interesting, as wolves are being reintroduced in Colorado, particularly in Rocky Mountain National Park to help deal with the exploding elk population.

  83. Go Ashley Judd…..I can’t ever look at the video again…like Nanny said they look like Siberian Huskies….my babies…that still love me, unlike the teen monsters that live and breath in my house.

  84. You can tell I am proud of them….but one bad thing……And i will take photos later on this….the little impish one, Ice, has ruined all my new furniture, (it was the furniture meant to last, the last buys for this house) and I don’t have the money to replace it…… so now my once finally pulled together living room is destroyed…….and I love her still.

    She even chews through the quilts I put on the furniture to protect what is left….and I still love her. 🙂

  85. that the gray or brown one? And btw my dogs know better than to fuck with my shit!

  86. the grey one….she just about 1.55 years old…the brown one Batman is mellow

  87. I’m a softie, and she did when I wasn’t around

  88. She has one eye that’s called a “party eye” half blue and half black…

  89. Nannymm

    My Siberian likes to chew also. She ate the new carpet in my grandson’s room as well as the arms on my desk chair. Anyone would think I never feed her!

  90. Maybe you two should borrow my cattle prod.

  91. Nannymm

    Oh yeah! She can open the kitchen cabinets and help herself. She’s quite fond of granola bars. 🙄

  92. Nannymm

    Fed Ex it, please.

  93. Do you walk your dogs or just let them out?

  94. Stimulus Spin War: Obama To Go On Media Offensive

    Barack Obama is slated to sit down with the five major television news networks tomorrow, a media play that is almost certain to be part of a broader effort to sell his stimulus package to the American public

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2009/02/02/stimulus-spin-war-obama-t_n_163305.html

  95. Nannymm

    We do both. In the winter we let them out more than we walk them. It’s hard to walk them when it’s cold and icy. But when it’s nice out, we walk them alot. Sly is the one I can’t walk anymore. He barely makes it down the driveway. Poor dog is almost 17 and crippled with arthritis. But he loves to sit on the porch and bark at anything that moves. 🙂

  96. Nannymm

    Obama needs to be a salesman on top of everything else. Poor guy!

  97. Nannymm

    Good night. Sleep well.

  98. chefsheila

    Good Morning, Good Morning to you!!!

  99. chefsheila

    Joe the plumber is going to speak to staffers on the Hill this morning…. He’s speaking about how he doesn’t like the economic recovery package…..The GOP is imploding!!!!

  100. Kathy

    sheila- I hear Joe the P on Thom Hartmann last week- they hyped him about his trip to Israel- and when he was actually on, they asked him plumbing questions- it was funny and appropriate

  101. Nannymm

    Good Morning!
    Thanks for that little tid-bit, Kathy. I wish I’d seen that show; it’s about time someone recognized that “Joe” doesn’t know a thing about politics, economics, Israel, etc. Frankly, I’m not sure I’d trust him to do my plumbing!

  102. Nannymm

    MSNBC is reporting that Tom Dashcle is withdrawing his nomination for HHS Secretary.

Leave a Reply

