The President’s Weekly Address (02/07/09)

62 Comments

Filed under The President's Weekly Address

62 responses to “The President’s Weekly Address (02/07/09)

  1. From previous post.

    Peter Hoekstra – {R} MIchigan breached security trip to Iraq.

    “A delegation led by House Minority Leader John A. Boehner , R-Ohio, arrived in Iraq earlier today, and because of Rep. Peter Hoekstra , R-Mich., the entire world — or at least Twitter.com readers–now know they’re there.

    “Just landed in Baghdad,” messaged Hoekstra, a former chairman of the Intelligence panel and now the ranking member, who is routinely entrusted to keep some of the nation’s most closely guarded secrets.”

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2009/02/06/gop-congressman-breached_n_164809.html

    So tell me, if any of our congressman get killed in a car bomb can Hoekstra be charged for their deaths? Wouldn’t that be considered leaking classified information and shouldn’t he have all his security clearances pulled?

    Oh that’s right, he’s just another Fascist Republican and we all know that they consider themselves Above The Law.

    God Bless.

    PS: Tried to call several Senators and all their voice mails are full.

  2. It’s a shame that education was cut out of the bill by Collins and Nelson from what I have heard.

    Same old policies put forth by the Repug’s as before more cuts for their corporate masters so they can continue to line their corrupt pockets.

    God Bless.

  3. Agreed AP, I suspect there will be quite a few bills coming over the next few weeks to make up for what was taken out of the stimulus package.

  4. Brian…

    Check this story out from another blog about the Stimulus Procedure and tell me what you think. Is this possible?

    “Congressional procedure is painfully opaque. It’s difficult for me to determine Senate procedure on a conference committee report and that is making it hard for me to predict what is going to happen next on the stimulus bill. So, let me lay out what I know and also what I’m not sure about.”

    http://www.boomantribune.com/story/2009/2/7/0574/91460

  5. dnd

    Hauling over Brian’s post from the last thread:

    Salazar Voids Drilling Leases On Public Lands in Utah

    http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2009/02/04/AR2009020401785.html?wprss=rss_politics

    Isn’t it a refreshing change to have a Sec of the Interior who believes in preserving America’s pristine areas? I hope he puts the kibosh on drilling on the Roan Plateau soon.

    As much as I hated to lose Salazar as a Senator, he’s looking like one of Obama’s best cabinet picks.

  6. horsedooty

    looks like Michael Steele may not be squeaky clean as was first thought. Hey, he’s a Republican, who’d a thought there might be an ethical issue with him?

    http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/29066465

  7. good morning…..the ice is melting….it’s over 40 today…

    Hey Brian, fyi the video says “no longer available” when I click to play….

  8. horsedooty

    Hey UB,

    just tried it again and it worked for me.

  9. dnd

    “just tried it again and it worked for me.”

    Ditto. Try it again Sra Burrito.

  10. Worked for me UB, and yes dnd I know that oil drilling post would catch your eye!

  11. Nannymm

    Good morning. all!

    A-P, agree with you about Peter Hoekstra. His security clearance should be pulled. If a Democrat had done that, all hell would break loose.

    As for Salazar and the oil leases, thank God!

    U-B, the video is working for me, too.

  12. Good morning UB, Dooty, dnd and Nannymm.

    It would be a real shame to ruin our National Parks and Wildlife Sanctuaries.

    I hope Harry Reid doesn’t screw up the bill. Never know what he will do to lose what should have been won.

  13. Nannymm

    Anon, that booman post was interesting. Personally, I think if the repugs want to fillibuster, get out the cots! And let them talk as long as they like. Let the American people see how uncooperative they are and get pissed at them. We Dems have got to stop this crap of giving in to them! WE WON!! It is ridiculous that the LOSERS are controlling the agenda!!

  14. Nannymm…

    Hopefully Reid has something up his sleeve and be able to foil the Repug’s.

    If not we will see the Depression sooner rather than later.

    God Bless.

  15. horsedooty

    morning AP and Nanny and Brian and UB and dnd

    swell morning here if a little windy. 66F right now at 10:30 am

  16. Well I’m out of here for awhile. Got things to do, places to go and people to see.

    Now where have I heard that before?

    God Bless.

  17. chef sheila

    Good morning to all….Good Afternoon. I have the worst allergy headache too date….not going anywhere. I’m jsut going to vegetate.

    …and think about what really pissed me off the most this last week and write about it! lol

  18. dnd

    Shelia,
    If you want to be pissed off, MSNBC is showing the Senate hearings on the stimulus bill.

  19. dnd

    Babs Boxer speaking now. She’s forgot more about economics than most of those goofballs will ever know.

  20. Nannymm

    Good morning, Sheila. I hope you feel better soon.

    I’m watching MSNBC, too, dnd. Barbara Boxer nailed it! She all but called the repugs hypocrites for their sudden concern about running up the debt. I guess debt is OK if repugs are spending the money on wars, the reconstruction of Iraq, and tax cuts for the rich. But to spend money for peaceful purposes, rebuilding America, and helping the poor and middle class is wasteful deficit spending. Repugs are despicable!

  21. dnd

    Nannymm,
    Remember when Cheney said: “Deficits don’t matter.” LOL!

  22. Nannymm

    Why, dnd! Of course, REPUG created deficits don’t matter. But, when Democrats ADD to repug deficits, it’s downright criminal! It’s Immoral, I say! We Dems out to be shot and hung from the rafters. Let’s get with the program! ONLY repugs can spend money. Why, we Dems, are just too addle brained to know what to spend it on.

  23. McCain, back in Senate, plays against hype

    Reporting from Washington — Mac is back.

    But now, Sen. John McCain is cutting a new profile — one that is far more partisan than when he became so familiar to Americans months ago as the Republican nominee for president.

    http://www.latimes.com/news/nationworld/washingtondc/la-na-mccain7-2009feb07,0,99076.story

    Yet another reason to heave a big sigh of relief that this man in not now living in 1600. Bread lines and McCainvilles would be popping up from coast to coast!

  24. Doots –
    65F at 10 this morning that’s just criminal …and no tax income tax too right…?

    I have to move….got my gas bill today it came in 100.00 more than I expected..

    Shelia sorry about the headache…..you need a piece of space cake.

  25. that should have read “state income tax”

  26. horsedooty

    UB, that is correct no state income tax. it is 73F today now at 5:21pm. Little windy. We had about 4 days of winter so far. We can make room for you here in town.

  27. Thanks Doots.

    I am telling you….I am starting to look….but the problem is I have grown attached to my home and surrounding area. That never happened before, after about 4 years I was ready to move and we did, but this place…. we’ve been here 11.

    It’s scary to have this attached feeling. Want to go, and then don’t back and forth…..but the taxes are hellish in Ohio and the weather is challenging at best.

  28. dnd

    Sra Burrito,
    I don’t live in Texas, but I find the food and people very inviting. The weather is too hot for me in the summer, but I love the culture. And the music can’t be beat.

  29. I have lived there twice (TX)….once I loved it the other time not at all…the heat can get old fast…but every place has something good and somethings not so good. It was a booming place when I moved there in the early 80’s…the 80’s were good to Texas as I recall.

  30. Gay woman fights over hospital visitation rights in Miami court

    http://www.miamiherald.com/277/story/892447.html

  31. Nannymm

    That is a sad story Brian. Some of the comments are even sadder.

  32. horsedooty

    UB,

    dnd speaks the truth about the heat here in Texas. But hey, that is what air conditioning is for. If you don’t have it in your car now, sell that car before you move to Texas and buy one with a/c. My home electric bill is about $250/$300 per month during the summer months. I have gas heat and it runs about $75 per month during the winter.

  33. dnd

    Shelia,
    Your boyfriend Robert Reich is on the roundtable on This Week

  34. good morning all…..

    Here’s a refreshing opinion from Reed Hastings is the chief executive of Netflix

    “President Obama should celebrate our success, rather than trying to shame us or cap our pay. But he should also take half of our huge earnings in taxes, instead of the current one-third.”

  35. Just how many boyfriends does Shelia have???

    😛

  36. Nannymm

    Good morning!

  37. *stretches and yawns*

    morning peeps!

  38. dnd

    Sra Burrito,
    Thanks for posting that SNL link. Spit coffee all over my keyboard…

  39. Yeah, that was great, I saw it last night.

  40. dnd

    Sebelius? Bredesen? Sure they don’t carry the Daschle baggage, but they also don’t have the experience to get anything through congress. Bill Bradley would be a better choice.

  41. Agreed Bradley would be my first choice, but I could live with Sebelius in the job.

  42. dnd

    If it’s Sunday, it’s my favorite curmudgeon, Ed Quillen. This week he writes about the bailout:

    “Last fall I was talking to a friend who ran a computer shop. We were both self-employed. “Ed, I know you’re as inept a businessman as I am, wasting time on stuff we like to do instead of what is most profitable. We’ve been running our businesses into the ground for years. So where’s our bailout money?” ”

    http://www.denverpost.com/quillen/ci_11638961

  43. dnd

    Sebelius is brilliant, but she doesn’t seem to have any qualifications for the job. And it could be seen as a thank-you appointment for her support during the campaign. But I could be wrong; I think I might have been wrong once or twice before 😉

  44. Steele Confuses Stephanopoulos: Claims Government Jobs “Aren’t Jobs,” Private Sector Jobs Never Go Away

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2009/02/08/steele-confuses-stephanop_n_164991.html

    What an idiot!

  45. Nannymm

    It’s astounding to me that anyone can spout that drivel with a straight face. The look on Stephanopoulos’ face said it all.

  46. dnd

    After I saw Steele on This Week I thought to myself: “well, that five wasted minutes of my life I’ll never get back.”

  47. Nannymm

    He is representative of those repugs Obama wants to compromise with. Well, I hope Nancy Pelosi says, “No how, no way! No bill!” Money for education and food stamps and other democratic priorities must be restored to this stimulus package or the House should not approve it. Why on God’s green earth are we acquiescing to the wishes of the morons on the right? Steele and his ilk have no idea what they are talking about! Their ideas aren’t even worth listening to, never mind adopting! Obama is on the wrong side here. he needs to remember who got him elected.

  48. Nannymm

    “Nancy Pelosi told her leadership team that she had told the president, “I don’t mind you driving the bus over me, but I don’t appreciate your backing it up and running over me again and again.”
    http://www.nytimes.com/2009/02/08/us/politics/08stimulus.html?th&emc=th

    WAY TO GO, Nancy!!!!

  49. dnd

    Just got home to find three does and a four-point buck lounging in my back yard. I told them it would be several months until the garden they like to munch on came in. They told me they can wait.

  50. nice d! Did you have any food you could throw out for them?

  51. dnd

    Brian, they’re munching on the grass and pooping on the lawn.

    It’s clear they know I gave up hunting, otherwise venison chili would soon be on the menu 😉

  52. dnd

    I don’t want to encourage them. They reek havoc with my garden in the summer.

    I need to get a pet to deter them. Maybe a mountain lion 😉

  53. Get a dog, everyone should have at least one!

Leave a Reply

