Happy Birthday to us, and they said it couldn’t be done!

 
 
32 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

32 responses to “Happy Birthday to us, and they said it couldn’t be done!

  1. TempeBev

    Happy birthday to us,
    Happy birthday to us,
    Happy birthday to all of us,
    Happy birthday to us.
    And many more . . . .
    ♫♪♫♫♪♫♫♪♫♫♪♫♫♪♫

  2. And btw we’ve also crossed the 100,000 hits mark too!

  3. trout boy

    happy birthday all.

  4. dog's eye view

    Hard to believe it’s been a full year. Doesn’t seem that long.

    What a tumultuous one, too.

    Extra cake to Brian, for keeping this site together. Congrats.

  5. dnd

    Who’s bringing the ice cream? Party hats?

    Pin the tail on the donkey? 😉

  6. eprof2

    Well done friends!

  7. “Pin the tail on the donkey? ;)”

    *bites my tongue*

  8. Is it just me or doesn’t anyone else think the moment of silence in the House for Jackson was a bit over the top?

  9. Pastor Urges His Flock to Bring Guns to Church

    http://www.nytimes.com/2009/06/26/us/26guns.html?_r=1&hp

    Bat shit crazy!

  10. TempeBev

    It’s been 24 hrs since the death of Michael Jackson and I’m really tired of all the news coverage – TV, radio, Internet etc. I missed the moment of silence in the House, but yes, that is definitely way too much!

  11. dnd

    Pastor Pagano or perhaps more appropriately Pastor Rambo, should open up his Bible to Exodus 20:13 or Deuteronomy 5:12, otherwise known as the fifth or sixth commandment, depending on your denomination:

    “You shall not murder”

  12. eprof2

    Here in AZ the Republicans are trying to pass legislation that will make it possible to bring guns into bars and restaurants. Great mix: booze and guns. Who says the ol’ west doesn’t exist any more?

  13. nannymm

    Happy Birthday to us!! I’ve got the party hats and favors. Brian is in charge of cake.

    I had to turn my TV off. I liked Michael Jackson’s music (especially Off The Wall) but enough is enough! This wall to wall coverage is way too much. And that moment of silence was overkill. But what is really annoying me is all the speculation about whether drugs caused his death and who is going to get his kids. The man has barely been gone 24hrs. The press needs to give it a rest.

  14. dog's eye view

    MTV is running one MJackson music video, then a DJ and ads surrounding.

    Apparently still preferable to CNN. Couldn’t bear the repetition and bailed on them late morning.

    Anything else happening in the world?

  15. dnd

    https://clistersbackchannel.wordpress.com/2009/06/26/happy-birthday-to-us-and-they-said-it-couldnt-be-done/#comment-25225

    eprof2,
    About 30 years ago I when into a bar called the Stockman’s Cafe in Missoula, MT. There was a sigh behind the bar that said you had to check your guns with the bartender.

    At first I thought it was one of those cutesy signs you see in places that cater to tourists. It wasn’t…

  16. TempeBev

    Yeah, the Republican legislature in AZ can’t come up with anything more important that allowing guns in bars. And they’re doing a great job of fighting with the Republican governor.

    When I get sick of the national crap all I have to do is read the paper about the crap going on in AZ politics. It truly is amazing what they haven’t done this year.

  17. dnd

    I’ve never been a fan of pop music, particularly the syrupy kind offered up by the Jackson Five. Always creeped me out to see a 10 year old singing love songs.

    That said I think I have an explanation for Jackson’s non-stop TV coverage. When Jackson went solo, the popular music scene was at a serious low point compared to the 60’s and 70’s. With Quincy Jones at the helm, he could really mold Jackson’s talent into something that would stand out in a sea of mediocrity. People in their teens and twenties tend to latch onto what’s popular and keep it with them for a long time. So by default, he got a huge fan base.

    Now as the news these days likes to focus on what’s sensational, what could be more sensational than the death of a pop icon beloved by his huge devoted fan base? Toss in the bizarreness and turbulence of his later life and you’ve got the recipe for 24/7 coverage of his death.

  18. nannymm

    Hey Bev and eprof2, if you think your legislature is nutty, you should check out Brian’s and mine here in NY. The repugs took over control with the help of 2 dems. Now it’s still a big mess.
    http://www.politickerny.com/3909/republican-takeover-attempt-senate

  19. Amen to that nanny, they should all be locked up!

  20. unlikelyburrito

    I am just stopping in to wish you all a happiest of birthdays……seriously busy, no time to keep up, hardly watch tv, or news……Nothing new happening, got a weirdo hair cut the other day and not sure what I was thinking…lol… heading to Vegas on Sunday…….maybe I’ll post some pics on my blog….I think I might get married ……..

    Hope all is well…and I miss you guys, every last one of you! You guys are the best! nice on the 100K mark too

    peace~
    UB

    I hate it when people die. 😦 no matter who they are….MJ r.i.p.

  21. nannymm

    Hi, UB. Glad to hear you’re well and busy. Have fun in Vegas. I miss you here on BC and on chat. Come back soon!

  22. I want to see pics of that haircut!

  23. trout boy

    thought you were already married. learn something new nearly everyday.

    have fun.

  24. dnd

    Weirdo hair cut. Getting married in Vegas. Those Ohio winters certainly take their toll 😉

  25. It’s going to be a real wax works type of weekend.

  26. Just a fast drive by…

    Well Happy Birthday all you back channeler’s and congrats on your 100,000 hits.

    God Bless.

  27. unlikelyburrito

    I am married, but I have never been married “vegas style” ….I am not willing to show any pics just yet…..my daughter thinks it’s cute, but you know she thought a mo-hawk was “cute” …. still shy about it….no sure whether to laugh or cry.

    no kidding dnd, we are weaklings and the winter almost extended all the way through June…..finally got some heat last few days…and now of coarse…it’s too damn hot….lmao.

    I miss you too Nan, hope you and your guys are well. …. I will be back again, I swear….I have two trips in July one in Aug and one in Sept…then I will have some time, before swim season…..(these trips mostly driving kids to college, and one masters tack meet for the hub.)
    (August – Brian….this time for sure)

    be cool…..

  28. trout boy

    you got a mo-hawk? I gotta see pictures.

  29. trout boy

    Probably got a color job with the haircut too? right? day-glo?

Leave a Reply

