Weekly Address: Real Conversations About Health Insurance Reform

52 Comments

Filed under The President's Weekly Address

52 responses to “Weekly Address: Real Conversations About Health Insurance Reform

  1. dnd

    I think the President is wise to use these anecdotal stories of people who were screwed by their insurance companies. He needs to do it more. The subtext being that if your insurance company hasn’t screwed you yet, just wait. They will.

    He also needs to reinforce that the #1 cause of bankruptcy in the US is due to medical expenses.

    The fear of losing your shirt because of your insurance company trumps fear of the Obama “death panel.”

  2. dog's eye view

    Agreed. What dnd said.

  3. dnd

    Anybody need some zucchini? You’d think I’d learn not to plant so much. 😉

  4. Ratatouille freezes nicely!

  5. dnd

    Seeing Obama in Grand Junction it’s clear that President Obama is reading and taking tips from our blog.

    FYI, Grand Junction is in a “red” part of the state, so his warm reception indicates his message is getting through.

  6. We’re having a very heated Democratic primary race for DA here, and for the life of me I can’t decide who I’m going to vote for.

  7. Hey Brian – if you can’t decide, look into who they send charitable contributions to, it may shed some light .

    worth a try.

  8. Send zucchini my way dnd. My veg garden, at best, was a bucket of fail!

  9. interesting idea UB, I’m leaning towards Cy Vance because I like the list of those who endorsed him. On the issues there is very little space between the two of them.

  10. I like Cy’s web site better from a design stand point, but I know that isn’t what matters.

    It’s nice that you care so much, where I live in small suburbia, it’s so crooked that nothing really matters…..even family members in power have been known to basically eat their own.

    endorsements are important too….

  11. Well I have a lot of respect for Vance’s dad and I think that has a lot to do with why I’m leaning towards him. Snyder has been a “celebrity” judge for a long time here, I’m not sure how I feel about that.

  12. UB Manhattan DA is a very powerful office, made Dewey a star!

    🙂

  13. Personally, if you truly respect someone’s father that says a lot about how the child of that father was raised. It usually makes a huge difference in a child’s life, the Father is the un-sung. I think only because we have been lead to expect so little.

    Celebrity is manufactured at best. By your statement I think you “know” how you feel about that.

    What has gotten into me…..yikes….bring me a martini..
    re: to news screaming at me about M. Vick…..
    I HATE VICK. I hope he fails miserably…..he has earned a place with the lowest of all humans.

  14. I don’t think you’re making the connection UB, Cy Vance Jr.’s dad is pretty “sung”

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cyrus_Vance

  15. I know NYC everything is so big…..I was in line to testify for Tiffany’s v. EBay a couple years back….all I wanted to do was get on stand and walk down those steps….those iconic steps…..flash flash flash…lol

  16. no Brian,I mean in general……about the “sung”

  17. Mother always get more credit…that’s all I was saying

  18. Ah ok, well I sure you sing your husband’s praise frequently!

  19. no …only when he earns it….. 😛

  20. Is that when you break out the famous flannel thong?

  21. lolol…he is a good Dad though…..the father – son relationship is tough, whereas the father-daughter is easy, and mom’s are moms to all……at least in my experience.

  22. shut up……I am going to actually get a flannel thong just to be able to answer you once with a ….hell yeah!

  23. I had a pretty good relationship with my dad except for a few tough years in my late teens, my parents had a very messy divorce that caused a lot of hard feelings all around. But when I was a kid my dad was definitely my favorite parent. I’m still surprised almost 12 years after his passing how much I continue to think about him.

  24. should it be plaid?….I have always had a weird opposition to plaid….but in this case I think it would be the most classic design.

    someone once asked me….How can you tell the women from NH from the cows?….and the answer was: the real cows weren’t wearing plaid flannel shirts.

    That came from someone who lived in Boston…..

  25. Well don’t we both know a cow from NH?

  26. My dad past away, a few years back…he was my guy……I was the only child (only daughter and youngest) that truly believed in him, I have no regrets with my father. Of that I am very proud…to the end the bitter last breath I was there, with pride.

    His sons have turn out to be the complete assholes my father fought his entire life.

    dysfunctional family…..ah yeah, but I am getting to old to care.

    If you are thinking about your Dad that’s a good thing…..seriously…that is your gift. Even with the ugly divorce and all you still have the core…..which was good , very good. 🙂

  27. mooooooooooo I think I know of one big super fat cow that claims to be from that area…lololol

  28. lolol……we took a family portrait tonight…….last one was 7 years ago…..this is the last weekend we will be together for months…..weird changes going on……

    just my family, which in my case, is my only family

  29. okay dear peep..I have to run before I crash on the keyboard…..

    I am still hoping to meet up with you the 28th I think it is…..I don’t have a calendar in front of me….but I got your new cell….so that is good

    ~peace

  30. dnd

    If it’s Sunday, it’s my favorite curmudgeon, Ed Quillen. This week Ed opines on the health care town halls:

    http://www.denverpost.com/quillen/ci_13059456

  31. d what time you get Meet The Press out there?

  32. nannymm

    Morning all. Just stopping in for a minute before I head out for the day.
    Xan’t help ya out with the zucchini, dnd. I have 22 sitting on my counter that I picked last night. I need to do some serious cooking and baking in the next day or two…. zucchini bread, zucchini casserole, zucchini pancakes, etc, etc, etc.

  33. dnd

    Watching it now Brian.

  34. dnd

    In honor of the anniversary of the death of Elvis Presley:

  35. dnd

    Seeing Rachael Maddow sit next to Dick Armey and call him on his lies, and that’s all he’s doing, leads me to believe she should be the moderator of MTP.

  36. Well I wanted to see more fireworks, but I did like Rachel’s occasional looks of disgust! Well I’m working today, see you all later.

  37. dog's eye view

    President Obama’s NYTimes op ed today:

    Why We Need Health Care Reform

    http://www.nytimes.com/2009/08/16/opinion/16obama.html?pagewanted=all

  38. dog's eye view

    Saw “District 9” last night.

    Not really into shoot ’em ups with aliens, but this one had a social message that stays with you.

    My friend loved the movie, and awaits the sequel.

    For me, one of those movies you like better after the viewing experience.

  39. eProf2

    I enjoyed the MTP show this morning. Gregory needs to stop talking with his hands flying off in all directions as they were a distraction from the conversation. Rachel did a great job for her first appearance on MTP, which garners a whole lot more folks than MSNBC at 9:00 pm eastern time.

    One of the things I learned on the show was how the Democrats have given the “health insurance” bill over to three Republicans, two Blue Dog Dems and one liberal leaning Senator. I thought the American people voted in 60 Dems to only 40 Reps — so why a 3-3 “bipartisan gang” to settle the Senate bill? What ever comes out of committee will be so watered down as to be almost meaningless and maybe 4 or 5 of the “gang” will end up voting against a final bill. Disgusting!!!

  40. nannymm

    I couldn’t agree more, eprof. That so-called “gang 0f six” should be at least four strongly progressive dems and maybe a token blue dog and a ‘moderate repug. The dems are giving away the farm here and it’s sickening.

  41. dnd

    eprof2 & nannymm,
    Obama should hire Bueno de Mesquita to use his game theory technique on health insurance reform:

    http://www.nytimes.com/2009/08/16/magazine/16Bruce-t.html?ref=magazine

    I also think Obama should try quoting FDR:

    “It is common sense to take a method and try it. If it fails, admit it frankly and try another. But above all, try something.”

  42. dnd

    Lance Armstrong wins the Leadville 100:

    http://www.google.com/hostednews/ap/article/ALeqM5jmyER0rClHJs-U7VDMao6q3gUJjAD9A3ICO02

    BTW, Leadville is the highest incorporated city in the US…

  43. nannymm

    This is an idea our congress critters should look into:

    “…there is a way of organizing town halls that would offer lawmakers representative and informed feedback about their constituents’ major concerns: a deliberative poll. Whereas ordinary polls represent the public’s surface impression of sound bites and headlines, deliberative polls bring together a scientifically selected microcosm of a lawmaker’s constituents under conditions conducive to thinking about issues. In effect, an entire Congressional district really can be put in one room.”

    http://www.nytimes.com/2009/08/16/opinion/16fishkin.html?th&emc=th

Leave a Reply

