If You Want an Ice Cream Cone, Ask for a Pony ~ dnd

and-a-ponyOver the weekend the “public option” for healthcare reform was downplayed by President Obama and HHS Secretary Sebelius.  The rumor is that a national cooperative, as proposed by Senator Kent Conrad (D-ND), might replace the public option.  The co-op option seems to be acceptable to those ideologically opposed to a public option.

I think this is a head-fake by the administration.  I think this is Obama playing chess while the Congress is playing checkers.  My reasoning?  As I’ve said before a national or large regional cooperatives are essentially the same as a public option.  So if demanding a public option, which raises so much opposition, and “settling” for a co-op is what it takes to healthcare reformed passed, Obama gets what he wants, congresscritters get what they want, and most importantly consumers get what they want.

48 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

48 responses to “If You Want an Ice Cream Cone, Ask for a Pony ~ dnd

  1. Morning peeps,

    d i see your point, but I remain skeptical regarding a co-op until I see some details, as we both know it comes down size!

    Hey nanny hows the dog doing, no shit right after we chatted I saw a skunk in the park when I was out with the dogs. It seems to be a heavy skunk year!

  2. eProf2

    State by state co-ops or regional co-ops are a long way away from being Medicare for all and represent little or no savings to the entire health care system, such as it is. I did some venting yesterday but have decided to just stay mum until more of the Congressional work is revealed in all of its splendid glory (yeah right). Have a good day everyone.

  3. TempeBev

    I sincerely hope Obama knows what he’s doing. Even Ed Schultz is beginning to doubt him. I have vented on the blog and to my husband, since most of my friends are repugs. I think the MSM is not helping the cause (except to fill air time in Aug) with all their maybe’s and what if’s. I agree with eprof2 that we need to see what come out of Congress when they return in glory (haha) in Sept. It’s time to catch up on reruns or go shopping when there is nothing but speculation on TV.

  4. I agree eprof, we can’t get into a lather at ever bend in the road. Conference committee is where the rubber meets the road.

  5. dnd

    eprof2,
    I too think Medicare for all makes sense. Cheap, simple, effective and the infrastructure is already in place. They need to work out the fraud and waste, and the funding needs to be revised, but all that’s doable. Plus it provides a business opportunity to insurers to sell supplemental insurance.

    I think Obama’s mistake was not coming out of the chute with a Medicare for all program and using LBJ style arm twisting to get it done.

  6. dnd

    The Health Insurers Have Already Won:

    http://www.businessweek.com/magazine/content/09_33/b4143034820260.htm

    UnitedHealth CEO makes $102,000.00/hr. Good work if you can get it…

  7. dog's eye view

    I hope you’re right, dnd. The chess/head fake sounds about right.

    The president has to make his case, again and again, and with a prime time address to the nation or two.

    Wish he would reassure Americans that his health plan is not going to kill Grandma, but his opponents’ ideology is already taking out many people in the under-65 age set. Quality of life, and ability to be a productive member of our “free” society.

    It is damn pathetic that one of the world’s top economies is even struggling with this.

    ====

    I am concerned about these fools showing up near town halls and presidential appearances with weapons.

    Don’t recall that ever happening during Bush-Cheney years.

  8. No one shedding tears over Noak’s passing?

  9. dnd

    I liked ‘ol Novak, but I think he kind of lost it without Rowland Evans.

  10. dnd

    Here’s a good site that lets you know where your congresscritter stands on the public option. It also lets you know how to contact them and let them know how to you feel about their stance.

    http://www.standwithdrdean.com/where_congress_stands?page=1

  11. Good to see we’re getting some liberal push back!

  12. Granny

    I feel discriminated against…what about grandpa and the “death panels”

  13. We all know men die first, no need for gramps to meet with the death panel.

  14. AmeRICANInSURGEnt

    Why is this health care issue the main focus these days if there is no bill yet? I dont get it. Maybe its a distraction from Obama’s massive warmongering? Just a random thought.

  15. nannymm

    Hi, everyone. This has been one busy month for me! I hope it calms down soon because I’m worn out!
    The dog is fine, Brian. But I can still smell skunk outside. I think the damned critter sprayed my wood pile. That should smell lovely when I burn it this winter. LOL
    As for health care, Obama is still pissing me off. He needs to stop with all this bipartisan crap and tell the repugs to kiss off. And he needs to get the dems together and start knocking heads together and twisting arms. If he can’t get dems to get this done, then he is toast in 2012. IMO, he blew it when he didn’t insist on universal single payer health care from the start. He’s given away the store already. There isn’t a lot left so he needs to get his ass in gear and get some cujones to fight for the crumbs. No matter what we get now, it won’t be good enough. It makes me sick!

  16. nannymm

    OMG! Ed Schultz is echoing what I’ve been thinking. Hillary was right about a lot more than some people want to admit. I’d bet she wouldn’t give away the farm in an effort to buy a couple repug votes. She knows better.

  17. What nanny, cause she did such a good job of it her last time around?

  18. nannymm

    No, Brian. Because she learned from it; she learned never to trust the repugs on this issue.

  19. dnd

    Nannymm,
    In 1993 Hillary didn’t trust the Republicans on this issue. She didn’t trust the Democrats. She didn’t trust nobody. And that’s why Hillarycare failed.

    If I was a betting man, I’d bet that Hillary has sat down with Obama and told him: “Don’t repeat my mistakes.”

  20. nannymm

    Well, if she has, it hasn’t worked, dnd, And BTW, I thought only repugs called it Hillaycare? Sort of like they now call it Obamacare….

    One more thing, it failed in ’93 for a lot of reasons. One of the major ones is that the dems did not have the majorities that they have now. With the current dem majorities, we should have gotten this done already.

  21. dnd

    Nannymm,
    There’s only a two member difference in both the House and the Senate in ’93 and ’09.

    I’d thought “Hillarycare” had entered the popular lexicon. Granted it was started by Republicans, but they are the ones who started referring to her as “Hillary.” Now everybody does.

    Hillarycare had some good points and some not so good points, but the reason it failed is that she didn’t trust anybody, to the extent that her secret meetings were found to violate the Federal Advisory Committee Act.

  22. nannymm

    Well, dnd, given what has happened, I’d say Hillary had good reason not to trust. And while that may be one reason why health care failed in ’93, it is far from the only reason. Pretending that it was all Hillary’s fault just doesn’t make it so. There were many reasons including the fact that repugs are lying fear-mongering assholes who will do anything to stop real progress in this country and derail any success by a democratic administration.

  23. d I’m curious to what your take is on the comments being uttered by the repugs now regarding co-ops?

  24. dnd

    Brian,
    Proof that co-ops will present a real threat to for-profits. Kyl, Hatch and DeMint just figured out that co-ops are essentially the same as a public plan. I predict that they will soon be calling them “communist” plans shortly.

  25. dnd

    Nannymm,
    Of course it wasn’t all Hillary’s fault that her health care plan failed. It was Bill’s! Unelected First Ladies don’t make policy. They may campaign for them, and often do very effectively, but they don’t make them. This just pissed the Congress off. And her secret meetings just gave them an excuse to torpedo it. The Clinton’s made a serious political mistake.

  26. nannymm

    So what is Obama going to do next to appease the right wing repug crazies? If he had a spine he’d tell them to go fuck themselves because they have ZERO interest in passing any health care reform.

  27. nannymm

    They sure did, dnd. And so is Obama. In fact, his mistake is worse because he had the playbook and failed to follow it.

  28. Have you given up on the idea of bi-partisan support for health care reform yet? You see I think that’s part of the prez’s plan, letting the repugs show their true colors and then steps in to take over. I hope I’m right!

  29. nannymm

    I’m curious, dnd. Don’t you blame the repugs and their LIES at all for the failure of health care reform in ’93?

  30. nannymm

    I hope you are right, Brian. But, I have my doubts.

  31. dnd

    “I’m curious, dnd. Don’t you blame the repugs and their LIES at all for the failure of health care reform in ‘93?”

    Nope. They didn’t have to lie in ’93. The Clinton’s fucked up, big time. But they (the Republicans) are doing it with abandon now.

  32. dnd

    “You see I think that’s part of the prez’s plan, letting the repugs show their true colors and then steps in to take over. ”

    That’s why I said: ” I think this is Obama playing chess while the Congress is playing checkers. “

  33. nannymm

    Well, I hope you are both right, then. But I just don’t see it. If we get a public option it will be because progressives are now revolting and will force the issue, not because Obama has some master plan to outsmart the repugs.

  34. nannymm

    As to Bill and Hillary, dnd, we’ll just have to disagree.

  35. eProf2

    Hey, Nanny, will you let us know when you get good and mad!!! My wife says the prez doesn’t have any huevos on this issue. The prez has given away just about anything worthwhile in this debate already so he can’t go back and put the issues on the table again. Mostly, he’s going to have to appease the Blue Dogs now so he can claim a victory and leave. Oh, that’s what leaders do in wars. Actually, KO said tonight that there is a danger of losing the Blue Dogs to a new political party if the progressives don’t beat them to it. “It just doesn’t matter; it just doesn’t matter; (louder still) it just doesn’t matter!!!!

    To quote my kindred spirit on the other side of the world: “the prez should tell them (Repugs) to go fuck themselves!”

  36. Nanny sometimes politicians like to be “forced”.

  37. nannymm

    eprof, I agree with your wife. And let’s face it, women like men with cujones; without ’em, they’re useless. 😀

  38. nannymm

    OK, now on to a different problem. I have FIVE dogs to take out and there are TWO skunks in my yard. Two nights ago hubby and spent hours de-skunking a dog, our back porch, and assorted other items. Guess the dogs are either gonna hold it or I’m mopping up the mess. No way am I going to repeat Sunday night’s fun. 😉

  39. Do you have an air horn, use that to scare the skunks away before you let the dogs out.

  40. CNN is reporting that the White House is preparing to “ram” health care through the Senate.

  41. eProf2

    I’ll believe it when I see it!

  42. nannymm

    I’m with you, eprof. Maybe if we all keep the pressure on Obama and the recalcitrant dems, we can either force them or shame them into it.

  43. nannymm

    “Democrats Seem Set to Go Alone on a Health Bill”

    They’d better!

Leave a Reply

