Seasons of Food ~ nannymm

Yesterday, while taking a break between baking huge batches of zucchini bread and frying dozens of zucchini fritters, I was chatting with a friend when it dawned on me that while everyone else is thinking about and lamenting summer’s end and the start of the school year, I am looking forward to the end of zucchini season and eager to begin tomato and basil season. That, of course, will soon be followed by early apple season. Then it’s late apples and pear season. And before you know it, all those wonderful pumpkins and winter squash will be ripe and in season.

The seasons of food are how I measure time. Ask me the date and chances are good I’ll have to take a glance at the Betty Crocker calendar hanging on my fridge. But ask me what’s in season and the answer is there, not just on the tip of my tongue but on my counter or stove, in the oven, or awaiting a trip to the freezer.

For me, spring is really about fresh peas, early lettuce, baby spinach, rhubarb and strawberries. Summer is broken up into mini seasons, blueberry and raspberry time during which we live on fresh muffins and scones, berries with yogurt or cream, blueberry waffles and pancakes, raspberry and blackberry jam, with cobblers and pies wrapped and piled into one of the freezers. Bean season is mostly over now; quarts of green and wax beans are blanched and packaged and frozen for the long winter that soon will be upon us. Zucchini bread, casseroles and fritters have joined them. Soon, quarts of tomato sauce will fill the shelves, as will pints of pesto. Tray upon tray of eggplant parmigana will be prepared and frozen. Herbs will be hung to dry. Then, it’s on to apple sauce, apple crisp and apple pies.

Before you know it, it will be fall harvest and that last wonderful bounty to wash, prepare and put up before snow blankets the North Country. My mouth is watering just thinking of fragrant pumpkin butter and pear tarts. And who doesn’t love fresh pumpkin pie? Then, I’ll haul out the cast iron dutch ovens in honor of soup and stew season and fire up the wood furnace to cook over. Mmm… already I can smell the wonderfully rich braises and the freshly baked crusty bread that will accompany them. And on those long, chilly but cozy evenings ahead, I’ll trudge downstairs to the freezers or canning shelves and pull out a bit of sunshine from one of the many seasons of the recent past. Then, I’ll curl up with a blanket and a good book, possibly a beautiful new cook book, to read and dream of the seasons of food to come. Maple season is usually early here…

39 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

39 responses to “Seasons of Food ~ nannymm

  1. Nanny that’s a pretty anemic looking apple pie! Now on the other hand…

  2. nannymm

    Hey! I didn’t bake that one!

  3. dnd

    For some reason, I’m hungry…

  4. Me too dnd, I think I’ll bake a pie tomorrow, maybe blueberry!

  5. TempeBev

    Nanny – what a unique perspective of time. Unfortunately, I never learned to cook from scratch. Thank goodness my kids picked it up on their own. Thanks for a great article.

  6. nannymm

    That’s a good anti-Grassley ad. I hope it keeps playing.

  7. eProf2

    Now, that’s some food for thought! That calendar, unfortunately, doesn’t work for me. We have two cycles for our victory gardens: February to June and September to December. After two years and three seasons, I’m learning how to garden here in AZ.

    Like the rest here on BC, Nanny, you’ve made me hungry. 🙂

  8. nannymm

    I’m jealous, eprof! Our growing season is so short here. Thank heavens I do know how to make the most of it. This year is unusually short. Spring was so cold and wet; summer didn’t really get started till the last week of July. Now, here it is August 31st and we had our first frost last week. At this rate we’ll have snow before October. 😥

  9. nannymm

    Justice Arthur M. Schack is my “Hero of the Day.”

    A ‘Little Judge’ Who Rejects Foreclosures, Brooklyn Style

    The judge waves you into his chambers in the State Supreme Court building in Brooklyn, past the caveat taped to his wall — “Be sure brain in gear before engaging mouth” — and into his inner office, where foreclosure motions are piled high enough to form a minor Alpine chain.
    http://www.nytimes.com/2009/08/31/nyregion/31judge.html?_r=1

  10. eProf2

    Frost? In August? Our overnight was 81 degrees last night and it’s 106 right now. I guess you’re not starting anything new right now. Do you have to cover up every night?

  11. nannymm

    We’ve been done planting for ages. Now it’s nearing the end of our harvest. As for covering up, when frost is predicted we have to.
    I’m so jealous of your weather, eprof! Someday, I’ll be back to a warm climate.

  12. We had a pretty “chilly” night here last night, down in the 60s and I’ve had the a/c off for two days now.

  13. nannymm

    Rub it in….. 😥

  14. dnd

    The air in Denver is hazy. Satellite photos indicate it’s due to the one wildfire in Colorado, two in Utah and 10 in California, mostly California. I can only imagine what the air is like in L.A.

  15. For some reason I woke up with such a strong urge for flanken. Do you goys eat flanken?

  16. hmmmmm, Ariana and Keith just mentioned maybe Barney Frank might run for Teddy’s seat. I could get behind that!

  17. I just put a cake in the oven, who wants to lick the bowl?

  18. FYI folks since this is going to be a quiet week there won’t be a daily thread change till after the labor day weekend.

  19. nannymm

    Hi, Brian. It’s another slow day, I see.

  20. indeed it is. I think the rest of the rest of the week is going to be quiet. I can’t speak for anyone else but last week left me very drained.

  21. You’re just learning this nanny?

    🙂

  22. eProf2

    Greetings from the desert:

    The Obamas have a great looking garden. It will interesting to see what it looks like in late September and early October. I hope they keep the time sequence film going. Thanks, Nanny, for the link.

  23. dnd

    It’s no wonder the Obama’s have such a great looking garden, given how much horseshit they get from Congress.

  24. You sure it’s not chicken shit?

  25. nannymm

    I say both. 😀

  26. dnd

    I think PhRMA, who’s been running ads in favor of health insurance reform, should put together an ad countering Michael Steele’s fear mongering ad targeted at seniors:

    “Hello. I’m Marian Robinson. I’m President Obama’s mother-in-law, and I’m on Medicare. Recently RNC chair Michael Steele has been trying to frighten Medicare recipients that the President’s health insurance reform would reduce benefits for those of us on Medicare. Bullshit. Let me remind you that Republicans have been trying to reduce your benefits since Medicare started.

    Health insurance reform isn’t about you. It’s about getting your children and grandchildren the health care coverage they need at an affordable price.

    Thank you. And may God bless America.”

  27. nannymm

    I like that, dnd! I think you should send that suggestion to AARP, DNC, and PhRMA.

  28. Excellent idea d! Send it to the White House

  29. eProf2

    Absolutely great material for the president. If he can’t make the case, no one can! Pull out all the stops and use the grandmother.

  30. nannymm

    Now here is another crazy repug idea:
    President Scarborough? “Morning Joe” Would Be a Viable Threat To Obama in 2012
    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/andy-ostroy/president-scarborough-mor_b_273620.html

  31. dnd

    Nannymm,
    My favorite comment on that Morning Joe for prez was: “OMG! I thought this would redirect me to the Comedy page or link to the Onion.”

    Scarborough is a passive-aggressive bully poseur who has no problem lying to make his position credible. His motto is: “The secret of success is sincerity. Once you can fake that you’ve got it made.”

    Besides, Scarborough doesn’t want to be President. Too much work and responsibility. Scarborough wants to be Rush Limbaugh. Or Glen Beck…

  32. dnd

    Ok, on reflection, Scarborough really wants to be William F. Buckley. But even he, with an ego that knows no bounds, understands that ain’t gonna happen. Buckley was brilliant. Scarborough’s only talents are bullshit and sarcasm. And, to his credit, he is very, very good at it.

Leave a Reply

