Do it for Teddy!

Over the summer I’ve pretty much avoiding reacting too much to what’s been going on regarding the health care reform debate.  The real work of passing universal health care starts now.  Over the next few weeks many groups supporting real reform will be holding rallies, setting up phone banks, running TV ads.  I urge you to get involved in anyway you can, the time is now and btw  living in a red state is no reason not to get involved!

moveon.org

Health Insurnace Reform Now

Health Revolution Petition.org

Universal Health Care Action Network

60 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

60 responses to “Do it for Teddy!

  1. nannymm

    “living in a red state is no reason to get involved!”

    Hmmm…… shouldn’t that be “living in a red state is no reason NOT to get involved?” or “living in a red state is no reason to remain uninvolved?”

  2. nannymm

    Wonder what that could mean?

  3. nannymm

    OT
    Another one of my dogs got sprayed by a skunk early this morning. 😦

  4. Did you try the air horn nanny?

  5. nannymm

    It was 5am. The neighbors wouldn’t have appreciated it. 😉

  6. Want me to bring Tucker up for a visit and he can teach your guys how not to get sprayed?

    *ducks*

    (Just to bring you guys up to date, Tucker had a skunk encounter the other night and managed not to get sprayed.)

  7. nannymm

    I don’t see anything particularly offensive in the totality of what Reid said. That one quote taken out of context is a cheap shot IMO.

  8. nannymm

    You must have wimpy skunks down there, Bri.

  9. Not wimpy at all, just overcome with the calmness vibe that Tucker radiates wherever he goes!

    Nanny I didn’t see anything offensive about the Reid piece, and I think Teddy would have no problem with anyone exploiting his passing if it moves us closer to universal health care.

  10. dnd

    This morning I turned on the tv and Morning Joe was on. As I was reaching for the remote, Barnacle asked Scarborough what not being prepared for H1N1 meant for health care reform. In typical passive-aggressive hyper-partisan style, Scarborough feigned a look of concern and said if they can’t be prepared for this how can they deal with health care.

    Apparently Scarborough doesn’t understand the role of government in working with private industry in preparing flu vaccine. Apparently Scarborough doesn’t understand that private health care providers administer the flu vaccine. Apparently Scarborough doesn’t understand that private health insurance may or may not pay for your vaccination (mine doesn’t, and judging by the lines at places like Costco or the local grocery stores where they provide the vaccination, many other’s insurance doesn’t cover it either). Apparently Scarborough doesn’t understand that this doesn’t have a damn thing to with the current health insurance reform debate.

    Or maybe he does, and he’s just a disingenuous lying son-of-a-bitch that wants to scare people and throw gas on the fire.

    Worse yet, no one on the set called him on his shit.

  11. I vote for disingenuous lying son-of-a-bitch

  12. dnd

    Vestas is sinking $1 billion into wind energy efforts in Colorado:

    http://www.denverpost.com/ci_13248896

  13. dnd

    “I vote for disingenuous lying son-of-a-bitch”

    Either way, his qualifications limit him to hosting a show on Fox. If MSNBC wants to keep him, they should have a permanent co-host like Lawrence O’Donnell to call him on his shit. My guess is that they aren’t drawing many viewers from “Fox and Friends” since Morning Joe is consistently third in the cable ratings.

  14. eProf2

    Greetings from the desert:

    According to Politico.com today, the WH is changing their strategy on health care and will be challenging the 60 or so liberals in Congress to get used to the idea of NOT having a public option. If true, I’m going to urge my Congresswoman to vote against it, regardless of what else is in the bill. I’m holding my judgment, but it feels like health care reform is playing with the edges, not very meaningful at all. Obama and his team, playing to the middle and the right, want to be able to tell voters in 2010 that it was the progressive Democrats that killed Health Care Reform. How pitiful is that?

    http://www.politico.com/news/stories/0909/26672.html

  15. Geez eprof how is your attitude any different than that of the right?

    “I’m going to urge my Congresswoman to vote against it, regardless of what else is in the bill.”

    Talk about a baby with the bathwater mentality, and what about the countless of millions who will be greatly helped by the other aspects of the bill (yet unknown).

  16. Social Security, A Brief History
    http://www.ssa.gov/history/pdf/2007historybooklet.pdf

    Something to consider eprof while you’re urging your congresswoman to vote against reform if the bill doesn’t contain everything you want it to.

  17. eProf2

    Brian, my attitude is of the left, the far left that working to bring health care to all, not to the select few who can afford health care in this country. I’m sick and tired of the minority having the ability to thwart those changes that would bring this nation into the 21 century and take care of all Americans in need of health care.

    That’s a big difference in my book.

    Yes, I’ll ask everyone to vote against a bill that only enhances the profits of insurance companies. Yes, getting rid of pre-conditions as an excuse for not allowing someone to have insurance is a good thing, but what does it do if all you’ve done is allow the insurance companies to accept medically needy individuals to buy insurance if the insurance companies raise the rates so high they can’t afford the insurance to begin with.

    Oh, that’s compassionate legislation, all right.

    Where is Obama’s backbone? If he doesn’t want to fight for these changes and now wants to go after the left of his own party, which worked hard to get him elected, that’s not the change we can believe in, is it?

    I said I was willing to hold my judgment for awhile longer but, I have to tell you, I really feel like the move to universal, government run, health care is not only slipping away but is already lost.

  18. It doesn’t sound like you’re holding judging, it’s sounds like you’ve drawn a line in the sand and that’s that. I just wish everyone would chill till we actually here where the president has decided to stand .

  19. eProf2

    To chill means to let things get cold and to lose momentum. I want the President to quit issuing statements about what he “might” do and come up with statements about what he “will” do to back the progressive wing of his own party. First, he allowed Baucus and others to give away the single-payer system without a whimper. Now, it looks like the public option is off the table when he himself said weekend before last that it was only one part of a comprehensive health care bill. Now, it appears from several sources today, that the president is going to try and convince the liberals (me included) to give up their positions on health care I guess because he’s concluded that the Republicans and his dream of bipartisanship is dead. Is pleasing the Republicans more important to him than pleasing those who helped get him elected?

  20. Well find out soon enough where he’s going to stand.

  21. And you’re wrong, he never supported a single payer plan.

  22. TempeBev

    Brian and Eprof2 – you both make good points. However, I agree it appears Obama has strayed off the path for which and by whom he was elected. I hope this turns out not to be true.

    DND – totally agree with you.

  23. eProf2

    During the campaign Obama repeatedly said he was in favor of “universal health care.” So, he must have been playing with semantics as a lot of folks thought this meant single-payer government run health care. We bad!

    Then when the leading Democrat, Baucus of Montana, said single payer was off the table at the beginning of this debate, the president didn’t say anything one way or the other signaling with his silence he wasn’t in favor of universal health care as a single payer system. A big chunk of Obama’s supporters felt disappointment if not abandonment.

    So, the left took up “public option.” Now that that seems to be left off the table, too, by the president’s own words, the left is trying to figure out exactly what’s left in an “health INSURANCE reform” bill.

    You’re right: we’ll find out in about a week as the WH has announced another national speech about health care next week.

    I’ve finished “ranting” for now. I’ll go back to my desert hole and wait and watch what’s going to happen in the coming weeks and months. Adios!

  24. He’s long stated he supports the idea of single payer but it would never happen. He said it on the campaign trail repeatedly.

  25. dnd

    In the spirit of the late Senator Kennedy, the perfect is the enemy of the impossible.

    The genius of Kennedy was the ability to negotiate to either get what he wanted, or to get something that would put him on the path onto what he wanted.

    If there’s no one in Congress that can fill that role, the President will have to step up to the plate.

  26. dnd

    What the Democrats should focus on is that the Republican “plan” such as it is, won’t cut costs.

    Portability? Anyone who knows anything about the ways businesses provide health insurance knows this is not feasible.

    Buying across state lines? Get real. It’s all health care providers can do to negotiate/argue with the insurers they have.

    Their only worthwhile notion is no pre-existing conditions.

  27. It’s a scary day on the blog when I’m the reasonable one, LOL

  28. dnd

    Must be time to clean your bong water Brian 😉

  29. nannymm

    Re: Morning Joe:
    I vote for disingenuous lying son-of-a-bitch, too.

  30. Prez to address a joint session of Congress a week from tonight!

  31. you don’t clean bong water, you change it.

  32. nannymm

    Ok, I just read through all these comments. I agree with eprof. I am sick and tired of being told that we have to wait. We have been fighting for universal healthcare for nearly 100years! How much longer should we wait???? Till hell freakin’ freezes over? Till the third world nations surpass us in quality of healthcare? GIVE ME A BREAK!! Obama said he supported UNIVERSAL care. Now, I expect him to deliver or I will not vote for him again. As I have said repeatedly on this blog, he needs to grow a pair or borrow Hillary’s.

  33. nannymm

    Ben and Jerry’s thankfully retained its activist edge after being bought by food giant Unilever in 2000. Now, to mark the legalization of same-sex marriages in Vermont, the ice cream company has changed the name of its popular “Chubby Hubby” ice cream to “Hubby Hubby” for the month of September.
    http://leisureblogs.chicagotribune.com/thestew/2009/09/hubba-hubba-hubby-hubby-ice-cream-introduced.html

  34. nannymm

    Levi’s quickly puts their jeans on Ted Kennedy’s dead legs.

  35. AmeRICANInSURGEnt

    Kudos to eProf!
    Its nice to see people starting realize that Obama is not what he appeared to be on the campaign trail. As Ive stated in the past this entire health care “debate” has been nothing more than a media darling to keep us busy. There is no actual bill so what is everyone doing? Speculating? LOL.
    With his approval rating nearing a meek 40% the thin veil hiding the real Obama is falling away.
    He won by a landslide and now that landslide is burying him. He was nothing but a slick commercialized product sold to the American people under the guise of change. We are getting change alright,just not the kind we were led to believe.

  36. nannymm

    This is shameful! American’s should have healthcare here at home. We’ve waited long enough!

    American Retirees Move To Mexico For Health Care
    http://wonkroom.thinkprogress.org/2009/09/01/mexico-health-care/

  37. dnd

    Nannymm,
    That thinkprogress piece was misleading. Reading the USA Today link they used for this piece, it was basically about early retirees who had moved to Mexico to retire, not because they couldn’t get affordable medical care here. I’ve know several couples who moved to Mexico to retire because it’s much cheaper to live and the climate suites them.

  38. nannymm

    I read that, too, dnd. But, I still don’t think that ANY Americans, including early retirees, should have to move to get healthcare.

  39. dnd

    Bill Richardson went to Cuba on a “trade mission” as NM Governor (winky-winky).

    http://www.google.com/hostednews/afp/article/ALeqM5iue74J8orUMz9Feawi-fDdFmQztA

    I hope he brought back some cigars, rum and recommendations for President Obama.

    ps. I read somewhere that Richardson paid his own ticket as the NM budget is tight.

  40. dnd

    Nannymm,
    I don’t think any Americans should have to move to get healthcare either. But the reason they moved to Mexico was not for healthcare! It does thinkprogress no good to post misleading articles.

    And don’t mess with me. I’m in a stinky, nasty mood. I’ve spent the last two days fighting with my insurance company about a legit claim they’ve denied. When I called my doctor’s nurse to explain why I haven’t gone for that blood test they wanted because my insurance company won’t pay for it, she said: “That’s why we need health care reform.” She also told me that the lab at the local hospital has decided to cut costs to patients who pay in cash by 50%. Apparently some bean-counter has figured out that 50% of their costs comes from hassling with the insurance companies.

  41. eProf2

    That’s some story, dnd. Even at 50% the costs of health care are particularly burdensome to so many Americans with and without health insurance.

    But, you can always have a car wash to help you pay for your doctor and hospital bills! See Rachel’s show last night on shooting victim in PA.

  42. eProf2

    “When I give food to the poor, they call me a saint. When I ask why the poor have no food, they call me a communist.” Ditto for health care!

  43. nannymm

    OK, dnd. I won’t mess with ya tonight. Sounds like you’re getting hassled enough. But remember…..
    tomorrow is another day. 😀

  44. nannymm

    “When I give food to the poor, they call me a saint. When I ask why the poor have no food, they call me a communist.”

    Where did you get that quote, eprof? I don’t recall ever hearing it before; but I like it.

  45. dnd

    Diane Sawyer to replace Charles Gibson as “World News” anchor:

    http://abcnews.go.com/WN/story?id=8471429&cid=yahoo_pitchlist

    Brian Williams must be very, very happy.

  46. eProf2

    Nanny, to the best of my knowledge it is anon. I got it in an email from my cousin who didn’t give any attributes. But, it’s not original with me and that’s why I put it in quotes.

  47. dnd

    eprof2,
    Either way it’s a good quote. Unfortunately it means that most of the churches/mosques/synagogues are commies 😉

  48. dnd

    Hey eprof2, I hope you’re rooting for the Rockies!

  49. nannymm

    I noticed that,too.

  50. So CNN is reporting a 2 year trigger. Can we live with that?

  51. eProf2

    dnd, yes, I’m rooting for the Rockies and the D-Backs to win a few against the Dodgers this week. Our two teams meet starting Friday for a weekend duel. Then, I may have to root for the D-Backs.

    Also, there was a time in American history during the McCarthy era in which churches, et al, were, indeed, called communists. It was during that era that a lot of mainstream churches started their descent into fundamentalism and right wing politics culminating in the last two decades of destructive church politics for fear of being labeled communists.

  52. eProf2

    OK, dnd, the D-Backs just gave you a one game advantage by beating LA.

    All: I’m taking a break from the Back Channel for awhile. I can be found at Face Book as Steve Cragg and through my blog, eProf2, and occasionally on Trail Mix, where things, in my opinion, seem to be back to civil discourse after the brutal presidential election cycle.

    See you online.

  53. I sure hope you’re right, Brian. Obama’s talk lately feels an awful lot like capitulation and is scaring the hell out of me.

Leave a Reply

