An email goes out to BackChannel bloggers: “We need threads, people!” ~BevnTempe

So, I start to think – what can I write about that would be of interest to other bloggers?  I shy away from political topics because I usually express my political opinions using 4-letter words.  It’s easy enough to do that in the comment section. 

I think about what types of conversations I like to have with friends.  My regular discussion group is the gathering of the “after walking the mall” gang.  This group is composed of older male/females, both political parties, and various religions. Usually (but not always) eliminating female problems and the latest co-educational medical ailment/prep, the conversations are usually of the generic variety.  I learned something at my mall group the other day.  Did you know that strawberries come in a can?  I didn’t until one person brought in a sample.

I think back to past discussions and musings, likes and dislikes.  I decided that I like to ramble about different things that will be apparent if you finish reading this thread.  I like to start conversations by asking questions.  This allows me to hear and learn about other opinions and also gets me out of expressing 4-letter words too often.

In writing a newsletter for a volunteer group to which I belong, I always like to include a quote.  I wondered if I had a favorite quote.  I don’t, but I have several favorites I would like to share.  Please feel free to do the same.

“There are many people that we meet in our lives, but only a very few will make lasting impressions on our hearts.” ~ Susan Polis Schultz

“The most beautiful discovery true friends make is that they can grow separately without growing apart.” ~ Elizabeth Foley.

“It is no longer good enough to cry peace, we must act peace, live peace, and live in peace.” ~ Shenandoah proverb

“Imagine all the people living life in peace.  You may say I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one.  I hope someday you’ll join us, and the world will live as one. ~ John Lennon.

And a very special one . . .

HOPI PRAYER of The Soul’s Graduation:

-author unknown

Do not stand at my grave and weep

I am not there,

I do not sleep.

I am a thousand winds that blow.

I am the diamond glints on snow.

I am the sunlight

On the ripened grain.

I am the gentle Autumn’s rain.

When you awaken in the morning hush,

I am the swift uplifting rush

of quiet birds in circled flight.

I am the soft stars that shine at night.

Do not stand at my grave and cry.

I am not there.

I did not die.

My Spirit is still alive…

Written and spoken words are very powerful.

This ends my ramblings for the day.

37 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

37 responses to “An email goes out to BackChannel bloggers: “We need threads, people!” ~BevnTempe

  1. Nice piece Bev, always good to be reminded to take a deep breath!

  2. dnd

    My favorite quote:

    “I don’t care what you call me, just don’t call me late for supper.”

    — dnd

  3. Big day on the Hill, in the end I think Snow will vote for the bill. In fact I’d be rather shocked if she doesn’t.

  4. dnd

    “Rocky Mountain, a Grand Junction-based not-for-profit company, had turned down 17-pound Alex Lange when his parents, Bernie and Kelli Lange, sought to change the family’s individual coverage.”

    http://www.denverpost.com/news/ci_13547963?source=searchles

    I hope everybody on the Finance Committee hears this story.

  5. Liz Cheney’s group ‘Keep America Safe’ takes on ‘radical’ White House

    Read more: http://www.politico.com/news/stories/1009/28212.html#ixzz0TpJBnRam

    It’s official, all the Cheneys are crazy!

  6. dnd

    The funny thing about Liz Cheney and the neo-con crowd is that they are very radical. Now if you look up conservative in the dictionary, you’ll notice that nowhere does it mention being radical. In fact it says that being a conservative specifically means not being a radical.

    Go figure.

  7. More and more I’m convinced the Cheneys are nothing more than a death cult! Geez how could you not think differently after watching that vid.

  8. nannymm

    They’re disgusting! Liz is going to be worse than her father if she ever gets anywhere near the halls of power. Heaven help us all!

  9. nannymm

    Now we know what the repugs are threatening Olympia Snowe with:

    Sens: Snowe’s healthcare vote puts her top Commerce perch at risk
    Sen. Olympia Snowe (Maine) is risking a shot at becoming the top Republican on an influential Senate committee by backing Democratic healthcare legislation, according to senators on the panel.
    http://thehill.com//homenews/senate/62727-sens-snowe-risks-perch

  10. nannymm

    My favorite phrases/expressions are:

    “The hurrier I go, the behinder I get.” A cast iron plaque with this on it always hung in my mother’s kitchen. Now it hangs in mine. And it is soooo true!

    “The kiss of the sun for pardon, the song of the birds for mirth. One is nearer God’s heart in a garden than anywhere else on earth.”

  11. nannymm

    “Finally fed up with Orly Taitz’s repeated frivolous and conspiracy-ridden filings in a Birther lawsuit, the judge in the case has fined the crusading attorney $20,000.”
    http://tpmmuckraker.talkingpointsmemo.com/2009/10/judgement_day_birther_taitz_fined_20000_for.php

  12. nannymm

    She’s come a long way, Baby!

    “Losing her life’s dream (or being freed from it?) has pressed the secretary of State’s reset button in an interesting way.”
    http://www.thedailybeast.com/blogs-and-stories/2009-10-13/hillary-embraces-the-womans-thing/

  13. nannymm

    LOL. I actually have a bit of free time for a change. And I’m enjoying it. 😀

  14. nannymm

    Why are seniors so selfish?

    Think About the Grandkids
    One of the troubling dynamics behind President Obama’s attempt to overhaul the health care system is the way it has cut along demographic lines. According to a poll by The New York Times and CBS News last month, only 20 percent of people 65 and over support the president’s efforts. Only 31 percent say the federal government should guarantee health insurance for all Americans.
    http://www.nytimes.com/2009/10/12/opinion/12mon4.html?_r=1&th=&adxnnl=1&emc=th&adxnnlx=1255441865-ya3ZoJ2EByAwyoxTToYHWg

  15. nannymm

    Please read the first comment by sweetpb307. He has one helluva an answer to those who say Obama hasn’t done anything yet. WOW!

    http://wonkroom.thinkprogress.org/2009/10/09/what-the-president-should-have-said/

  16. nannymm

    Happy Birthday, White House! On Oct. 13, 1792, construction of the White House began with the laying of the cornerstone. “Then known as ‘the President’s House,’ it was the first public building to be erected in Washington and remained the largest residential edifice in North America until after the Civil War.”

  17. nannymm

    Snowe is a YES!

  18. Whatever faults there are with the Baucus bill and there are many all committees have now passed a health care bill in both chambers, this is quite an accomplishment!

  19. PWC statement — Not so helpful for AHIP

    PricewaterhouseCoopers, the authors of AHIP’s report, put out a statement last night that basically said, “Hey, we weren’t paid to evaluate the effects of the entire bill, but rather a small slice of it.

    http://www.politico.com/livepulse/1009/PWC_statement__Not_so_helpful_for_AHIP.html#

  20. dnd

    Is there someplace online to view the Baucus bill? The only thing I’ve seen is the Chairman’s mark.

  21. dnd

    Will Snowe become a Senate leader in her party or shunned?

    It’ll be interesting to see what the right-wingnut pundits have to say about her vote.

  22. I suspect a shunning is in the near future, not from her fellow senators but certainly from her party’s base. The truth is the GOP needs her more than she needs the GOP.

  23. nannymm

    dnd, here is your answer.

    Sens: Snowe’s healthcare vote puts her top Commerce perch at risk
    Sen. Olympia Snowe (Maine) is risking a shot at becoming the top Republican on an influential Senate committee by backing Democratic healthcare legislation, according to senators on the panel.
    http://thehill.com//homenews/senate/62727-sens-snowe-risks-perch

  24. dnd

    Sen. Snow may be the next Bob Dole, someone who is willing to work across the isle while keeping their principles. This may be a tough fit with the current climate.

  25. dnd

    Sen. Hatch says this will be expensive and lead us down the slippery slope to single-payer. How can it be both?

    If the right say that the public option, which is not in this bill, will prove more popular than private insurance, how can it be more expensive?

  26. I thought the repugs would have been better off saying nothing. I thought they came off rather petulant, especially Hatch.

  27. nannymm

    I agree with both of you. The repugs keep contradicting themselves and sound silly and petulant while doing it. It’s impossible to take them seriously.

  28. I was glad to see that Blanche finally remembered just what party she’s a member of!

  29. dnd

    Stephanie Miller on the Ed Show today.

    Must see TV!

Leave a Reply

