And here we thought no one could take Charlton Heston’s place!

48 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

48 responses to “And here we thought no one could take Charlton Heston’s place!

  1. Breaking News Alert
    The New York Times
    Fri, November 06, 2009 — 8:32 AM ET
    —–

    U.S. Jobless Rate Hit 10.2% in October, Highest in 26 Years, as Employers Cut Payrolls by 190,000

    The United States economy shed 190,000 jobs in October, and
    the unemployment rate crept to a 26-year high of 10.2
    percent, up from 9.8 percent in September, the Department of
    Labor said Friday in its monthly economic appraisal.

  2. TempeBev

    The Ft Hood disaster is the main focus of the news, as it should be. Our thoughts and prayers should be with everyone connected. I have no doubt that it will be turned into a political football as tragedies usually are.

    However, this guy has guts.
    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2009/11/05/alan-grayson-reads-names_n_346745.html

  3. nannymm

    Grayson is my new hero!

  4. TempeBev

    Good luck, Nanny, on your upcoming surgery.

  5. Afternoon peeps, damn another shooting.

  6. dnd

    Jon Voight, another Hollywood liberal 😉

  7. dnd

    Brian,
    Did ya go to the Yankees parade?

  8. Nope, I was installing a big ass network printer for a client. On my way home the subway was filled with people wearing Yankee’s gear.

  9. nannymm

    Thanks, Bev. It’s scheduled for Tuesday morning. I’ll be so glad when it’s over!

  10. dnd

    P.J. O’Rourke on Hardball tonight. What a hoot. One of the few on the right that with a great sense of satire. I hope Tweety brings him back.

  11. Sorry d, can’t agree with you there, he annoys the hell out of me.

  12. dnd

    Who? Tweety or O’Rourke? Tweety was laughing so hard I thought he’d peed his pants. Ditto Robinson.

    I miss National Lampoon…

  13. O’Rourke, I find him a bit forced.

  14. Cool, that’s my state senator on Countdown right now.

  15. TempeBev

    I guess that debate about whether Muslims should be in the military, having gays serve doesn’t sound like such a bad idea.

  16. I knew Nancy would be able to pull it off!

  17. nannymm

    This sums it all up for me:

    Obama: The Central Question of Our Time

    Read more at: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/cenk-uygur/obama-the-central-questio_b_343788.html&cp

  18. I don’t mind saying I’ve been a bit nervous the last 24 hours.

  19. nannymm

    And more about that here:

    Candidate Obama Might Have Some Questions for President Obama

    Read more at: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/mitchell-bard/candidate-obama-might-hav_b_344595.html&cp

  20. nannymm

    I’ve been a bit nervous for many months now. I still am.

  21. Cause you’re the nervous type, but when I saw all those smiling Democratic faces at the press conference I knew we we’re on firm ground.

  22. nannymm

    Firm ground for what, Brian? No matter what we get, it will be far less than universal coverage. Yes, it’s progress; but it could have been so much more. It’s just some more incremental change. And the fight for REAL universal healthcare will go on. I just wonder how many more decades it will take.
    It seems that the change we voted for just isn’t happening.
    Gay rights? No change there.
    End the wars? Nope.
    Repeal all the Bush anti-terror laws that infringe on our rights? Same old, same old. The crap continues.
    Shall I go on? Arianna wrote a great piece about this. Have you read it or any of the other links I’ve posted today?
    Obama One Year Later: The Audacity of Winning vs. The Timidity of Governing

    Read more at: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/arianna-huffington/obama-one-year-later-the_b_343209.html&cp

  23. nannymm

    Btw, I may be the nervous type, as you put it; but I’m not the type to gratefully accept whatever crumbs the Master tosses my way. I expect better.

  24. “but it could have been so much more. ” You don’t know that, look at the struggle it was to get this far, today is going to be a great day for our side, but hey if you want to looking for a downside knock yourself out. I intend to savor this moment.

  25. nannymm

    Savoring the crumbs is not for me. I want a full portion.

  26. I don’t know what planet you’re living on, but I chose reality!

  27. nannymm

    This is what the rethuglicans in the House have sunk to:

  28. nannymm

    Reality? I think you prefer to rationalize. Reality is that this is NOT the change we bargained for. It’s just a sliver of the pie we were promised. Spin it anyway you need to; it doesn’t change the fact that Obama has so far failed to produce any real change we can believe in.

  29. I’m not rationalizing at all. It’s taken 100 years to get to this point. What were you expecting, someone to wave a magic wand and it will be done? I just don’t think you taking the political reality into consideration at all.

  30. nannymm

    Brian, we’re never going to agree on this. I’m with eProf: Universal Healthcare ,Medicare for All NOW.
    You are delighted with the little bit of change we may get. Fine. Enjoy it. Savor it.
    I, however, am disgusted and will keep fighting for what I believe this country needs. I just can’t get all enthused over something that does so damned little.
    Yes, we’ve fought for 100 years, but not for this. The fight has been for UNIVERSAL HEALTHCARE. It has not been for health insurance reform or “healthcare light.” The proof of that is that this fight will go on. If you were correct and the battle were won, there would be no need to carry on. But we need to carry on; and someday we will win. Today just isn’t that day.

  31. First of all this in not a little bit of change. And frankly this person who really struggles with the entire health care issue is a bit tired of hearing people who have good coverage demand we hold out to get something that is just not possible at this time. What is happening today is a major step forward and moves us almost to universal coverage.

    I sit in an over crowded clinic waiting hours to see my doctors because I’ve been forced out of the system, you go to a private doctors office and don’t have to jump the hurdles I do, and I’m one of the lucky ones because I live in a city that makes sure we all have health care coverage. Maybe you should walk around in my shoes for awhile or the shoes of the 46 million who have no coverage at all before you go spouting off about today not being a major victory for the American people.

    Not to mention this is a crushing defeat for the GOP!

  32. nannymm

    Excuse me, Brian. I am NOT suggesting we hold out. It’s too late for that. But I expected more; we were promised more. It is precisely for people like you that this fight has been waged. I accept that we aren’t going to get more right now; but I don’t accept that it had to be this way. I truly hope this helps you and so many others like you. I just hoped to see more help for more people. If that bothers you, well, there’s not much I can say. But stop impugning my motives or concern for others, You know better than that.
    Now I will take off for the day before I say something we both might regret.

  33. Nancy’s ears must be on fire considering how many times the repug have invoked her name today, LOL.

  34. Anyone else watching the floor debate?

  35. nannymm

    Yeah, I’m watching it now. But Boner is tempting me to hit the mute button.

  36. Come on nanny, obviously he had a fresh layer of tan sprayed on just for this very moment.

  37. Memo to Rep Boner, it’s not pronounced “hyper-bowl”

  38. we’re almost there, I’m seriously all a tingle, LOL

  39. Kicking GOP butt, is there anything finer?

  40. Done, 218! Jesus that was a nail biter!

  41. One repug voted yea, it’s officially bi-partisan

Leave a Reply

