The mammography controversy, another good argument for the public option ~ BrianInNYC

1105[1]

I find it very interesting that in the controversy surrounding   the US Preventive Services Task Force recommendation about when a woman should get  a mammogram it hasn’t occurred to anyone that this is a perfect example of why we need a public health care option.  As soon as the new suggested guidelines were released there was a huge public out cry against the task force’s report and within days members of the administration were walking back from the report.  Now let’s suppose we were not in the middle of the health care debate.    This shows exactly why we need a public option, had this matter be left to the board room instead of the public forum what recourse would the public have?  Very little I suspect.  I for one would much rather have these decisions left to people directly answerable to the voting public then a bunch of over paid CEOs who are only answerable to the shareholders and their own wallets.

17 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

17 responses to “The mammography controversy, another good argument for the public option ~ BrianInNYC

  1. nannymm

    Good point, Brian.

  2. TempeBev

    Can’t wait for the fighting to begin. I’ve basically given up watching the political shows on TV. What will be, will be.

  3. dnd

    Cynic that I am, I’m not sure I want an emotional health care issue left up to the electorate. Think abortion. The mammogram issue was instantly politicized. “It’s rationing!” the hair on fire set screamed.

    What the media skipped in reporting this story was 1) who had set the age to begin regular mammograms at 40, and 2) the recommendations were guidelines for a dialog between patients and doctors, not insurers.

  4. dnd

    “I’ve basically given up watching the political shows on TV.”

    Me too Bev, and have a much happier outlook for it. Political shows these days are to politics what professional wrestling is to amateur wrestling.

  5. Evening peeps,

    d I’m not sure your comparison to abortion really holds up, the debate about abortion really has nothing to with the medical aspects of the procedure.

    Could someone please explain to me why we should be afraid of anything the 9/11 hijackers have to say in court? Really who gives a rat’s ass.

  6. nannymm

    I’m with you. I don’t care what they say. Let them spout off. Nothing they say can hurt us or change anyone’s mind about the horror of what they did.

  7. dnd

    Brian,
    “d I’m not sure your comparison to abortion really holds up, the debate about abortion really has nothing to with the medical aspects of the procedure.”

    I’m not talking about the medical aspects of the procedure, I’m talking about the emotional nature of the debate, particularly the anecdotal reports of women under 50 who were diagnosed with cancer as a result of mammograms.

    I’m hoping all this leads to research that can accurately diagnose breast cancer from an inexpensive blood test.

  8. TempeBev

    Hi everyone – since tomorrow will be a family involved day, I’m wishing everyone a very Happy Thanksgiving a day early.

  9. Afternoon peeps, well I spent the day with my mother at Macy’s so I guess it’s officially the holiday season

  10. dnd

    When I heard on the news that President Obama was going to pardon a turkey and that it would be going to Disneyland, I thought it would be Bush 43. 😉

    Ok, that wasn’t very nice since it was 20 years ago that Bush 41 gave the first official presidential pardon to a turkey.

  11. dnd

    Brian,
    Mom didn’t want to go to Macy’s on black Friday?

  12. Yea right a 78 woman going to Macy’s on Black Friday!

  13. May you all have a Happy Thanksgiving…..

    God Bless.

  14. Morning peeps,
    Happy happy to you all!

Leave a Reply

