From Progressive to Neo-Bush! eProf2

Neo-Bush.1209

I can’t explain why I haven’t been posting since July. Today, while visiting Fran’s Ramblings, I vented about Obama’s Afghanistan speech last night and realized why I hadn’t been posting: I have been trying to give the new president his "honeymoon" and didn’t want my voice added to the offensive and destructive diatribes of the far right and the party of no. My silence was offered in the hope of letting Obama do the right things after eight years of misery.

I overlooked some of the early Obama decisions as being centerist and cautious for the new guy in the White House. I wanted him to succeed.

I overlooked his earlier decision to send 21,000 troops more to Afghanistan in March. I overlooked his extremely tepid support of health care reform when he took single-payer off the table and compromised just about every progressive position in the hope of bringing one Republican into his "bipartisanship" point of view.

But, last night was a major turning point for me when it became official that he has authorized 32,000 more troops to a war that is only going to drain our resources of life and treasure. For a man who says he understands history, he focused on military reports and not on the lessons of Iraq, the lessons of Vietnam, the lessons of Lebanon, the lessons of Korea, and certainly not on the lessons of ancient history that reveal Afghanistan hasn’t left the 14th century yet and the US can’t pull them into the 21st century nor even the 19th century.

Sending in more troops with the goal of bringing all of the troops out in 18 to 24 months is shear folly. And, this from the man who is considered to be a student of history.

Sorry, Mr. President, I fear you have morphed into the neo-Bush!

103 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

103 responses to “From Progressive to Neo-Bush! eProf2

  1. dnd

    Regardless of how you feel about the president’s plan, Xerox has a great idea to let our troops know how much we appreciate their service:

    http://www.letssaythanks.com/Home1280.html

    It’s free, it’s easy. Please pass on to your friends and family.

  2. Good to see you back eprof. I have like many my doubts about just how successful we can be in Afghanistan but I think you’ve made more than quite a leap equating Obama with Bush. I’m very curious as to what exactly you thought the president meant when on the campaign trail he said things like “Afghanistan is the forgotten war” and “It’s a war worth fighting”?

  3. tonyb39

    Epof,
    I thank you for this post.I understand how you feel.I like the President and I’m glad I voted for him,but he’s a very big disappointment.Whether its healthcare,trying terror suspects in NYC or gay issues, he seems to be missing in action,refuses to take a stand and fight for anything.Oh,i forgot he appears to fight hard for the vote of one lone Republican( O.Snowe)..If this keeps up i won’t vote for him again.I’ll leave the top of the ticket unchecked as I could never vote Republican..

  4. Did they close all the discos in Florida tonight?

  5. Rachel just did an outstanding interview with Susan Rice. Now there is just one example of how the current administration in no ways resembles what proceeded it!

  6. Tony I don’t understand your comment regarding the terrorist trials. Care to expand on that, I fully support the 9/11 hijackers being tried in civil court here in NYC.

  7. TempeBev

    Great writing eprof2. You very eloquently express what so many of us feel but are hesitant to express. I commend you for putting it in words.

  8. tonyb39

    Brian,
    You funny! Nope,Parliament House is open in Orlando,i choose your sight,ha aren’t you all special…I fully support the 911 hijacker’s being tried in NY also,its fitting..It just seems that rather than taking a stand, this President puts the burden on the Attorney General.I want the President to stand up in the face wing nut opposition,not look weak and put it on Holder..I remember that bastard Bush saying”I have political capital and I intend to spend it” Bush wasn’t even elected.President Obama really has a mandate and capital but he’s not using it…Just my opinion..

  9. You’re wrong Tony, this is solely the call of the AG, more so than any other cabinet office the AG has to be semi-autonomous. The president should not be taking the lead on this. Well I’m off to the Bronx, lucky me, see you all later.

  10. nannymm

    eProf!!!! My political soul mate is back!!! It’s so good to see you here!
    Of course, I agree with every word you said. I am so disappointed in Obama; he’s not at all what I expected. I thought he’s be strong, a man who stuck to his convictions. Instead, he’s wishy-washy at times and way too eager to “split the difference” and try to please both sides. In the end, he is pleasing no one. What the hell happened to him? Or was this the real Obama and we were all too blind to see it? Whichever it is, I’m beyond disappointed. Like Tony, I may not be able to vote for him again.
    To all you people out there who think Bill Clinton was the master of triangulation, look again. I think Obama is trying to out do Bubba big time. I’m beginning to think we would have done a helluva a lot better with Hillary in the Oval Office. At least we knew she has a hawking streak in her. And I’d bet my bottom dollar she’d have done a much better job with healthcare reform.

  11. nannymm

    Please ignore my numerous typos. I’m still doing most of my typing with my left hand. It’s a bit harder than you’d think. Slower, too.

  12. dnd

    Nannymm,
    If you’re gonna be laid up for a while, you might want to look into a chording keyboard, which you can operate with one hand. Takes a little practice, but then so did the conventional QWERTY keyboard.

  13. AmericanInSURGEnt

    I tried to tell you people a few months ago he wasnt what we all thought. Unfortunately it wouldnt matter if Barney the purple dinosaur was in office right now because the US gov along with every other superpower in world are moving us into global governance under the guise of terror and climate change. It has nothing to do with either of those things. Cmon people wake up!!! You are smarter than this!

  14. AmericanInSURGEnt

    And by the way..I am not a racist. Brian knows me and knows this isnt true.

    Nanny,if you want any advice on your rehab,I am happy to help,its what I do.

    And ultra Kudos to eProf..thank you for seeing that the only thing thats changed is the rhetoric.

  15. dnd

    A little something from Spongbob Squarepants to get everybody into the holiday spirit:

  16. Afternoon peeps,
    D not being a christian does that mean I’m allowed to be a jerk over the holiday season?

  17. nannymm

    Why change now, Brian. 😉

  18. dog's eye view

    Great to see eprof and tony and nanny and insurgent back.

    Now, eprof: a bridge WAAAY too far in calling Obama a neo-Bush. Although you did not surprise me a whit in doing so.

    I suspect the troops were sent more to provide options in dealing with Pakistan than in order to drag [rural] Afghanistan into the Renaissance era.

    Have a lot to say and not much time today, so a blogpost response is in order.

    Leave you with this: Obama has been president for less than 11 months. I suspect the issues Bush-Cheney left him with are even more rancid than we know.

    Patience is in order for all of us, and more patience than anyone expected. Sacrifice too, although we’ve not been asked for enough yet.

    There’s not anything more disheartening to me than seeing people who call themselves “progressives” stamping around and threatening not to vote next election. The Democrats have an enormous problem with people sitting out the primaries and off-year elections. Republicans never do. Lesson there, folks.

    Blowing off steam is one thing, and this blog is great for that.

    But we need to learn from history too. Remember Mr. Nader and his “the parties are both the same” and people who thought their vote didn’t count for much?

    Remember?

    I don’t want to see any more soldiers and civilians dying in Afghanistan, or suffering lifelong injuries.

    But Tinkerbelle ain’t coming, and Obama probably made the best choice he could.

  19. nannymm

    Who said anything about not voting, Dog’s Eye? Tony and I said we may not vote for Obama. BIG difference!

  20. nannymm

    I’m listening to my new Susan Boyle CD. OMG! What a voice!

  21. I have to agree with something Dog said, comparing Obama to Bush is quite the leap and a tad offensive to my eye.

  22. nannymm

    Well, I see eProf’s point. Obama is not acting like the man we voted for on so very many levels, Brian. That’s what I find offensive. It’s also disheartening.

  23. I don’t really see that nanny to be honest, what I see is a lack of a lot patience on some people’s part. I think he’s mapped out a time on a lot of things is sticking to his game plan, that’s how he tends to operate.

  24. dnd

    Nannymm,
    Obama may not be acting like the may you voted for, but he’s acting like the man I voted for. I guess it’s all a matter of perception of what he said on the campaign.

  25. AmericanInSURGEnt

    I agree with Nanny ,being mislead and showing a complete 180 to the campaign rhetoric is offensive. We all deserve better.

    And since eProf is the most well educated person on this blog and would seem to have the most diversity in life experiences..Id say he knows what he’s talking about. If it wals and quacks it must be a duck.

  26. AmericanInSURGEnt

    How many examples of Obamas campaign rhetoric versus his actual policies and actions would you like me to post?

    We could start with signing statements or czar appointing or war,let me know if youd like to see the side by side comparison. It isnt pretty but its real.

  27. nannymm

    Well said, AI.

  28. nannymm

    Let’s not forget human rights, gays in the military, warrantless wiretapping, “my administration is going to be the most open and transparent admin in history,” closing GITMO, etc, etc, etc. Frankly, it might be easier to make a list of promises he’s kept. The list of things he’s revised, abandoned, or backed off of is far too long for me to compile.

  29. dog's eye view

    It seems to come down to what one thought one was getting with Obama.

    He is the president I voted for, and there is not a day that I don’t wake up thankful to have intelligence, courage and wisdom in office again.

    Although, sadly, faced with the worst set of circumstances — too many of them preventable — since FDR.

    And maybe more difficult, because you’ve got deeply entrenched rot and a careerist politocracy and media whose interests differ from the public they exist to “serve.”

    Throwing the baby out with the bathwater — which is what is being threatened here, stated or not — might get you a date with something far, far worse than GWBush 2001 or Ronald Reagan.

    Be careful what you wish for.

    And take a long view. I think that’s what our President is doing.

  30. dog's eye view

    Is Obama a president or dictator?

    Are there any, say, checks on what he’s able to do?

    Did you like being carried along like flotsam during the Bush era?

    This isn’t a “my way or the highway” guy.

    Maybe we could be happy that we got a LOT of what most of us wanted?

    Jeebus, the guy hasn’t even spent one Christmas in the White House yet.

  31. nannymm

    Is that the end of your sermon today, Dog’s Eye? For the record, we can disagree here and don’t need any one to preach to us.

  32. AmericanInSURGEnt

    In all fairness Dogs eye I think eProf was NOT forgetting history and thats why he and more and more Americans are getting fed up with being told one thing and getting another. I mean with Bush at least we knew he was a liar,mass murderer,war criminal,globalist. With Obama it seems he speaks with a velvet covered forked tounge.
    As far as giving him time? Im sorry to many kids have died and to many families have been torn apart and for what? I dont think we anymore time for that.
    He wasted no time in spending 14 trillion of tax payer money,he spent no time expanding the patriot act,he spent no time passing the credit card bill(hows that working out for everyone?lol),he spent no time getting a 2000 page health care bill together. Just pointing out the obvious.

  33. nannymm

    No shocker here.

    Obama Pleases the Neocons

    President Barack Obama’s escalation of the Afghan War has upset many rank-and-file Democrats who had hoped for a more peaceful strategy, but Obama’s order to dispatch 30,000 more U.S. troops is being welcomed by neoconservatives, a group that has long favored U.S. military interventions in Muslim lands.
    http://www.consortiumnews.com/2009/120309.html

  34. eprof2

    I’m glad to see that I stirred up a hornet’s nest of points of view on President Obama’s decision to send more troops to Afghanistan.

    Yes, I think we could, indeed, make a list of shortcomings and achievements on policies pursued thus far by the president. I listed only two, the big two: health care and war policies, both of which I’m at odds with Mr. Obama.

    After ninety-one days of debating troop strength, the president might have given the American people a list of what those options were and why he rejected them and chose troop increases over the rest. That would be transparent.

    Instead, he basically said here is my decision and why, which I appreciated but disagreed. I agree with several of you that he did a much better job of presenting his thoughts than Bush did in his decision-making. I’m of the opinion, however, that he reached the same conclusion Bush might have; namely, give the generals what they want or as close as the economics dictate rather than take the boldest of moves and announce no more troops.

    Now, that would have not only satisfied a lot of his supporters, including the vice president, but would have brought him no more criticism, and grief, than what he’s getting right now from partisans of the left and the right.

    Is that called hair splitting and fence sitting? That’s what’s driving so many people to examine both their previous vote and their future vote. It’s probably way too early for me to withhold my vote but the president is surely pushing his electability with this decision and so many others in the past year since his election.

  35. nannymm

    eProf, you’re my hero! 😀

  36. nannymm

    I knew you’d say that, Brian. LMAO!

  37. I knew, that you’d know!

  38. AmericanInSURGEnt

    Nanny I like the vid you posted. Its amazing that 40 or so years later we doing it all over again. I really don’t care what the reasons are,there’s a better way.

  39. nannymm

    Ya got that right, AI. It seems as if we never learn. And young men and women die because of it. We call them heroes. Hmmm…. I think they’re human sacrifices for the benefit of political bravado.

  40. dnd

    “Is that the end of your sermon today, Dog’s Eye? For the record, we can disagree here and don’t need any one to preach to us.”

    Nannymm, there are other blogs that are better suited to personal attacks. Can we just stick to the issues here?

  41. dnd

    eProf2,
    I too would have appreciated if the President had articulated a list of recommendations, and why he rejected them in lieu of sending in more troops.

    If there was a strategic reason for not doing that, I’ll give the President the benefit of the doubt. If not, then I’m less than pleased…

  42. nannymm

    Excuse me, dnd, but that was hardly a personal attack. Re-read Dog’s Eye’s posts. I find her suggestion that some of us are making threats to “not vote” and “throw the baby out with the bathwater” to be insulting. Disagreeing is allowed here. Furthermore, I don’t need lectures from you, either. I was sticking to the issues.
    As for other blogs, I’m aware of them. Are you? In short, may I suggest that you mind your own business? My comment was to Dog’s Eye. If she has a beef, she can address me directly. She’s a big girl.

  43. dnd

    Nannymm,
    That was a great vid. The concept of war seems so antiquated. I hate it.

    The complication in Afghanistan is that we aren’t fighting a nation-state. It’s possible that this “surge” is an effort to drive the Taliban to the border where they will be the guests of predator drones. It seems that black-op’s would be more effective.

    There’s so much we don’t know. All I know if this is a Bushian tactic to hide bad decisions, Obama has some esplaining to do.

  44. nannymm

    Frankly, dnd, I think it’s a purely political decision to avoid the “weak liberal Democrat” label that so often gets plastered on Dems. I hope I’m wrong, but I don’t think so. The whole idea makes me sick.

  45. AmericanInSURGEnt

    dnd why do we have to fight anyone be it a nation state or a group? Are you more “free” than you were 8 years ago?

  46. nannymm

    Good point, AI. All one has to do is stand in line at the airport to know the answer to that!

  47. *sighs*

    Starting to sound like a blog we all used to hang, chill peeps!

  48. AmericanInSURGEnt

    Thats my point nanny it seems the only people that “hate “our so called freedoms are right down i-95. Or maybe I should say,the only people that take them away. Again just an observation.

  49. nannymm

    Hell No on Bernanke!
    He just said in his hearings that he would get more money by going after Social Security and Medicare. When Sen. Reed suggested that we could also get the money by taxing some of the richest people in America (some of whom got rich causing the economic crash in the first place), all of sudden he demurred. He says that’s not his place to say if we should ever raise taxes. But apparently it is his place to encourage going after your retirement money. So, taxing the rich is never under consideration, going after the retirement money of the middle class is his first option. Sorry to be blunt, but fuck that.

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/cenk-uygur/hell-no-on-bernanke_b_379268.html

  50. dnd

    Cenk Uygur is the Glenn Beck of the left. Often wrong but never in doubt.

  51. dog's eye view

    Nanny: I stand by what I said. I am as entitled to my views as you are to your own.

    It’s important to be able to agree to disagree.

    I thank dnd for pointing that out.

    And I thank eprof for writing such a good blogpost that got us out discussing a vital topic.

    Which I hope we can continue to discuss. Civilly.

  52. nannymm

    It wasn’t necessary for dnd to point out what we all know. As for disagreeing civilly, I thought that is what we were doing.

  53. Isn’t this what we used to call in group, cross talk?

  54. nannymm

    Ihappen to agree with Cenk Uygur. IMO he is hardly the “Glenn Beck of the left. ” But to each his own….

  55. dnd

    “Is that the end of your sermon today, Dog’s Eye? For the record, we can disagree here and don’t need any one to preach to us.”

    “As for disagreeing civilly, I thought that is what we were doing.”

    I don’t regard that sort of comment as being civil. But I understand that what is said in text lacks the face-to-face interaction.

  56. dnd

    Nannymm,
    Cenk Uygur is a flame thrower. That’s what gets eyeballs on Huffpo. That’s why I compared him to Glenn Beck. His hyped up issues with Bernanke have nothing whatsoever to the powers that Bernanke possesses. It’s all bullshit. That’s why I compared him to Beck.

    The reality for those that understand economics is that Bernanke kept us from the economic abyss.

  57. dog's eye view

    Being passionate about politics is fine, because too many people are apathetic.

    nanny: I personally feel some of your remarks directed at me have been insults, plain and simple. Being called an Anti-Catholic still bothers me, particularly since Bev later made some of the same points and I don’t recall her being assailed.

    I appreciate dnd’s mediating, because it was needed and helps to keep this blog a forum for ideas and not a “me wall.”

  58. AmericanInSURGEnt

    This is the true prejudice in this country,class.
    When 1% of the world has 90% of the wealth then it can only be class division. The other things that people think divide them such as race,equal rights,political stance are all meant to keep us divided and fighting amongst ourselves. It takes the focus off of the real problems,wich is how we got into this mess. We either haven’t been paying attention or we have been paying attention to the wrong things. And who can really blame us? We supposedly “elect” people to positions of power thinking they have similar ideals as us although we may not agree 100% with everything these officials say. We at least trust that at their core they are compassionate caring human beings like most us and generally care about other people and want the best for most. But what if that isnt the case? What if our assumptions are wrong? What if these people do not have our best interest in mind.?
    If our government spent a third of the money they have spent on wars and banks over the past decade on things that actually improved our
    quality of lives such as our food ,then the need for so much health care would drastically decrease. Its just one example.
    There is expected to be a 200% increase in alzheimers and cancer over the next 10 years. Why? With all our technological advances how can this be and where is it going? Whats next? A 400% increase over the next 20? All Im saying is its money and effort better spent then chasing the boogey man that is Bin Laden,who by the way according to the FBI is not even wanted or connected to 9/11. Again these are just observations if anyone sees where these might be wrong I’m open to any info.

    http://www.fbi.gov/wanted/topten/fugitives/laden.htm

  59. nannymm

    dnd, that post was directed to Dog, not you. I had no idea you were her defender and spokesperson. I thought she was a big girl and could fight her own battles. I know I don’t need or want any man to fight my battles. But, to each his own….
    There are alot of things you and she both say that I don’t consider civil but that’s the way it goes. So let’s just drop it. And in the future, you might remember that I don’t take kindly to people suggesting that differing ideas are “pie in the sky” or ‘veiled threts.” Just as you and dog are entitled to your ideas, so are we entitled to disagree. Capice?

  60. Capice? what does that mean pray tell?

    *scratches my head*

  61. nannymm

    I have the perfect solution, dog. I’ll happily ignore you and your posts if you will reciprocate.
    And for the record, Bev is far more reasonable and considerate of my Catholic beliefs than you. And she writes in full sentences and complete thoughts.

  62. nannymm

    dnd, knows. It’s from one Italian to another.

  63. AmericanInSURGEnt

    “The reality for those that understand economics is that Bernanke kept us from the economic abyss.”

    LOL holy shit that was a good one dnd.

    Can you please explain how Ben Bernake saved us? I’m fairly knowledgeable as to how our financial system works but I would like to hear your view on this.

  64. I know what Capice means, geez I’m a new yawker for god’s sake. But I seriously think everyone needs to seriously chill before I go getting all Craig on your asses!

  65. dog's eye view

    That’s not a solution at all, nanny. No one need be ignored here.

    And no one need be insulted or bullied either.

    Capice?

  66. AmericanInSURGEnt

    And no one needs to be called a racist or accused of racism under a false context. Its wrong.

  67. nannymm

    Then why don’t you and dnd stop doubling down? Two against one in any disagreement isn’t cool. Then again, maybe you need the help.

  68. nannymm

    AI, some people think it’s Ok for them to be rude, condescending, and call names. But the reverse sends them into a tizzy. LMAO!

  69. dnd

    nannymm,
    I am not dog’s defender. I thought you comment was out of line. Capice?

    I’m Abruzzi. That should tell you all you need to know.

  70. dog's eye view

    insurgent: I agree that there’s a definite class issue in our society, which is becoming less mobile (access to education, being able to afford a house — truly — without financial gimmickry).

    It seems to be a third rail most do not want to discuss.

  71. AmericanInSURGEnt

    dnd no comment on the Bernake thing?

  72. AmericanInSURGEnt

    Thanks for recognizing dog:P

  73. dog's eye view

    FWIW, I think Bernanke (among others) probably did save us from a Depression, and I think a lot of people don’t realize how severe the rot runs.

    The kleptocracy from Wall Street is disgusting, and I hope the Treasury and maybe Justice Department can claw some of it back.

    We live in interesting times.

  74. dnd

    AI,
    Bernanke didn’t have the monetary flexibilities that Paul Volcker did. He couldn’t twiddle with M1 and the interest rate as Volcker did. This is a very different recession than the stagflation Volcker faced in 1980.

    The only choice Bernanke had was to print money. All cogent economist say he saved our ass.

  75. nannymm

    Well, dnd, I think you’re out of line. I also think you should mind your own business. This WAS between dog and me until you injected yourself into it.

  76. dog's eye view

    M1. I knew dnd would come up with something like that.

    To me, it’s just a road. In Britain.

  77. AmericanInSURGEnt

    Yes Im sure Summers ,Geithner,Bernake,Paulson all former wall st execs will turn on their own kind and bring down strict regulatory guidelines in the name of the people.
    The fed got increased regulatory power after the great depression so “it could it could prevent future financial crisis”. Aaand we all know how well thats worked out.
    Obama did the same thing,gave the fucking fed “more power to prevent future financial crisis”
    Seems Obama forgot pretty much all history. I definitely agree dog,we live in amazing times.

  78. AmericanInSURGEnt

    Ok dnd..interesting point of view.

  79. dnd

    “Well, dnd, I think you’re out of line. ”

    I’m out of line? I’M OUT OF LINE?
    Well, nannymm, as I am Abruzzi, you know that I’m a gentleman. So you have the advantage as I won’t tell you what I think. But I think you know…

  80. nannymm

    Frankly I don’t give a crap what you think. Just mind your own business and we’ll get along fine.

  81. dnd

    “Frankly I don’t give a crap what you think. Just mind your own business and we’ll get along fine.”

    Well I don’t give a crap what you think either, since you apparently you do it so rarely.

  82. dog's eye view

    Hell of a way to almost hit 100 comments.

    Abruzzi, hmm. Kind of the back of the shank of the boot. Abruzzo. Mountainous, faces the Adriatic, and sounds beautiful.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Abruzzo

  83. dnd

    Dog, all of Italy is beautiful. The Abruzzo region is the best.

  84. dog's eye view

    OK, somebody’s gotta do it.

    Post 100. Triple digits.

    Was hoping eprof would leave a comment. Or somebody, on something substantive.

    Back to the Daily Show. And eventually to chase down all of Jim Bunning’s comments today at Senate hearing. Hear it was a stemwinder.

  85. eprof2

    Dog, leave it to me to generate all this light — or was it heat today. The honor of 100 goes to you as I was super involved in the Civil War of football: Oregon v. Oregon State, with the winner going to the Rose Bowl. UofO won, 37-33.

    Good night all!

  86. dog's eye view

    eprof: good column, and you must write more!

    So: did the proper Oregon team win? Did you have a dog in this fight?

Leave a Reply

