Comparing the House and the Senate Health Care Proposals

us-capitol[3]

Senate Democrats unveiled sweeping legislation Wednesday to overhaul the nation’s health care system. Earlier this month the House passed its own version. The proposals are broadly similar but differ on some major issues, such as on a new government insurance plan, abortion and immigration. Many provisions of the Senate bill, including the mandate for individuals to obtain insurance and the creation of insurance markets, would take effect in 2014, a year later than similar provisions of the House bill. A look at how the proposals compare on some key issues:

 

 

Comparing the House and the Senate Health Care Proposals

 

Came across this in The Sunday Times, lots of useful info.

22 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

22 responses to “Comparing the House and the Senate Health Care Proposals

  1. Breaking News Alert
    The New York Times
    Sun, December 06, 2009 — 11:05 PM ET
    —–

    U.S. Forecasts Smaller Loss From Bank Bailout

    The Treasury Department expects to recover all but $42
    billion of the $370 billion it lent to ailing companies
    during the financial crisis last year, with the portion lent
    to banks actually showing a slight profit, according to a new
    Treasury report.

    Read More:
    http://www.nytimes.com/2009/12/07/business/07tarp.html?emc=na

  2. dnd

    Today’s the 67th anniversary of the attack on Pearl Harbor.

    President Franklin D. Roosevelt proclaimed, “December 7th, 1941 — a date which will live in infamy”.

  3. eProf2

    Being in AZ, we’ve been treated to several historical accounts of the USS Arizona prior to December 7th. When I was in the Navy, my battle station was absolutely dead smack in the middle of the ship taking care of the gyroscope. All hatches were closed up and down and fore and aft. My worst nightmare was to be caught at my battle station should the ship take a hit and go down. So, when I think of Pearl Harbor and the USS Arizona, I can really emphatize with what those sailors who died on that fateful day went through.

    The passing of WWII veterans is gaining speed as more than 1,000 WWII vets die each day as they approach their 90’s. There are only 22 USS Arizona survivors still alive today.

    Here’s to their memory.

  4. eProf2

    Thanks, Brian, for the NY Times lead on comparisons of the House and Senate bills. I particularly liked the menu approach from the left-hand side listing the issue and then the differences.

  5. I aim to please! McCain is going crazy btw!

  6. nannymm

    Good post today, Brian. This whole healthcare bill is getting to be a nail-biter. I’ll be glad when we actually know what the final bill will be. Then, we can begin the fight for stage two of healthcare reform since it’s quite clear that stage one will be far from sufficient.

  7. Hey nanny how you feeling, your voice come back yet? Is Paul enjoying the quiet?

    *ducks*

  8. nannymm

    HaHa! No, my voice is still all messed up. I sound like I’ve been sucking helium. But Paul is getting it, too. He’s home sick today.

    • dnd

      Yes! Cheney/Palin in 2012! Two people who are consistently wrong on absolutely everything and have absolutely no moral compass!

      Wingnuts unite!

  9. I find it fascinating that apparently he’s getting a lot of support from the Log Cabin Repugs, too funny.

  10. Hey nanny when it rains it pours! Hope Paul is feeling better shortly.

  11. Senate Dems May Open Up Medicare To Pacify Progressives

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2009/12/07/senate-dems-may-open-up-m_n_382728.html

    Lowering the age for medicare will go a long way in reducing premiums for the rest of the country. This is something I’ve been hoping for quite awhile (hey I’m 51 after all). This could be really big news, keep your fingers crossed!

  12. dnd

    I got a letter today from my previous health insurer, Anthem, informing me of my new rates. Why they sent this is a mystery as I had sent them a letter and fax informing them that I would be discontinuing coverage and requesting proof of continuing coverage for my new insurer. But I was glad to get it. The new rates were up 34% (yes, 34%) from the previous year. It made me happy that I got a new insurer, and gives me another reason to write to my senators about health insurance reform.

  13. AmericanInSURGEnt

    I have a question that hopefully someone can answer.
    Will congress members keep their current health care plan that we pay for? Or will they have to opt in with the rest of us?

    Also I just need to address this whole global warming thing or as they call it more recently,climate change. First let me say I am pro environment. I grew up on a family farm,milked cows,collected eggs,cleaned horse stalls. I played in he woods all day,hated hunting,I wouldnt kill anything and still dont. I typically stay away from cities and crowded areas as I prefer to be surrounded by peace and quiet if I am able. I despise the corporate structure for the simple fact that a profit driven company cares none for people or the planet if it interferes with the all mighty bottom line.This being said.
    With the recent surfacing of emails from the U.N.’s primary source of climate data showing discrepancies in the “data” and the formula’s used to compile this “data”. If you believe in the Al Gore version of climate change or not it seems that congress and the president should slow down and take another look before passing legislation and signing a global treaty based on the this now questionable data. Im no scientist,hard to believe I know,so I dont know what “facts” Ive heard or read or seen about climate change to be true or false,none of us do. It just seems that if the situation is as dire as Mr. Gore makes it out to be then I fail to see how you and I paying more taxes to repent for our carbon sins will stop the big wave. I mean if it was really a threat to our existence then wouldnt more radical measures be taken?
    I know I probably wont get a response from any of you but i had to say it anyway.

    p.s. I wonder what the carbon footprint of the last decade of war is?

  14. While I’m concerned that the Medicare Advantage program might go away due to the billions in subsidized private insurance to cover the 20 percent not covered by Medicare, it will mean I’ll have to buy gap insurance from another company. However, the way the prices for Medicare Advantage have been going through the roof since its inception two years ago, private, non-subsidized insurance may just turn out to be about the same price.

    My Humana policy went from $46 to $88 this year and will go up another 120% for 2010. That’s not the whole price of the insurance as Humana also gets my Medicare Part A, B, and D payments that normally would stay with Medicare. So, the total payments for full coverage, 100%, will probably be in the neighborhood of $325. A bargain at that price when I consider my wife pays around $550 for private health insurance coverage as she’s not quite 65 yet (March). When she’s on Medicare and we opt for 100% coverage for both of us we’ll be out of pocket more than $500 a month; a net savings to us both being in a government run insurance program.

    This whole business of health insurance, private or public, is a nightmare to figure out. And, the worst part is that you don’t know what you’ve got until you need it. Arghhh!

  15. $650 a month for both of us.

  16. dnd

    “This whole business of health insurance, private or public, is a nightmare to figure out. And, the worst part is that you don’t know what you’ve got until you need it. Arghhh!”

    Precisely eprof2. I would’ve hoped that a cornerstone of the health insurance reform would be to make it understandable, but alas, that will have to wait.

  17. Medicare Advantage is corporate welfare at it’s worst! Much better it be done away and the savings can be used to close the donut hole, a place where people are really suffering!

Leave a Reply

