Go Al, Go!

30 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

30 responses to “Go Al, Go!

  1. tonyb39

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/darcy-burner/joe-liebermans-healthcare_b_392139.html?view=print

    “Joe Lieberman’s Health Care Bill Is Worse Than Doing Nothing – Kill It”

    “The first rule of medicine is, “Do no harm.” The post-Joe Lieberman version of the Senate health care bill fails that basic criterion. Unless Democratic leadership steps up to fix this misguided proposal, our only recourse will be to kill it.

    The fundamental failing of the newest Senate proposal is that it requires individuals to purchase health insurance, but does nothing to rein in what insurance companies charge. There is nothing to stop spiraling health costs from eating up an ever-increasing percentage of our national productivity.

    The House bill has two major cost-control mechanisms: the public option and the 85% medical-loss ratio requirement. The Senate bill is on track to have neither, and nothing new to replace them. The Senate bill is a recipe for national disaster. If it’s that bill or nothing, I prefer nothing.”

  2. tonyb39

    http://www.taylormarsh.com/2009/12/15/howard-dean-best-thing-to-do-is-kill-the-senate-bill/

    “Howard Dean: ‘Best Thing to Do Is Kill the Senate Bill’”

    “MSNBC is also reporting that Howard Dean is urging Democrats to kill the Senate bill, as it stands now. He’s right. Greg Sargent has the quote:

    “This is essentially the collapse of health care reform in the United States Senate. Honestly the best thing to do right now is kill the Senate bill, go back to the House, start the reconciliation process, where you only need 51 votes and it would be a much simpler bill.” – Howard Dean”

    • dnd

      I’m Good Enough, I’m Smart Enough, and Doggone It, People Like Me!

      Al Franken is way smarter than the humorless right give him credit for.

  3. I love Howard Dean but on this he’s dead wrong.

    • dnd

      tonyb,
      The assumption is that Joe the Bummer is calling the shots.
      When Harry Reid was a boxer, he was known for hitting below the belt.
      Don’t be surprised if you see Lieberman walking around bunched over.

      (ok, I lied about Reid hitting below the belt, but in Lieberman’s case, I think he’ll make an exception.)

  4. d the next generation of great Democratic senators, Franken & Brown, I think Whitehouse may also be on his way to becoming one of the next generation of leaders.

  5. tonyb39

    “Don’t be surprised if you see Lieberman walking around bunched over.

    (ok, I lied about Reid hitting below the belt, but in Lieberman’s case, I think he’ll make an exception.)”

    DND,
    From your lips!! I might give to the DSCC again if I could just see that..

  6. tonyb39

    “I love Howard Dean but on this he’s dead wrong.”

    Brian,
    Your smart, but wrong here,i agree with H.Dean..Are you sure your not putting The President having a political win over what’s best for the country?

  7. How is it in the best interest of the country for the GOP to gain control of either chamber of the congress tony?

  8. Also tony you’re hero Bill Clinton happens to agree with me on this one too.

  9. tonyb39

    Brian,
    Its not in the best interest of the country for the GOP to regain control of either house of congress.I listen daily to Ed Scultz and I agree with him,passing a bad bill and calling it a win will do more to give Rep’s.control than killing this one and starting over.

  10. Well you didn’t listen to Ed tonight, he said this bill should be passed!

  11. tonyb39

    Brian,
    Your right its recorded and I haven’t got to it yet..Its not what he and most of his callers were saying On XM-radio today.I will have to give it a look and see what changed his mind..

  12. tonyb39

    Brian.Fine conference committee then.I didn’t hear the last hour today of the radio show,maybe Ed thinks we have a shot at getting the Public Option back from conference?

  13. Tony I’m not making any predictions, but there are many things in this bill that will be of great help to a great many people and that can be tweaked, improved, and expanded. It’s worth passing.

  14. tonyb39

    Brian,
    I know you keep up on things,but H.Dean was sure convincing and it took guts for him to come out and say kill it.I watched him on Countdown,amazing..I don’t trust the insurance companies from personal experience.Over 30 million new customers all forced to buy their BS product,scary..

  15. People are dieing, this bill will save lives. Also don’t forget that anything in the bill be permanent and not up for review in 10 years if we rely strictly on reconciliation (people tend to forget that’s exactly why Bush’s tax cuts are set to expire). I’m comfortable with this bill being the foundation of health care reform and expanding it through whatever process.

  16. So Tony, bring us up to date, what’s the dish from Puma Pastures?

  17. AmericanInSURGEnt

    Are people dieing in Iraq,Afghanistan,Pakistan,the Crow Reservation in S.Dakota,the Congo,and Sudan?
    Goooooooo team!

  18. And I’m sure AI you’re doing everything within your power to help eliminate the suffering of those you listed.

  19. tonyb39

    “So Tony, bring us up to date, what’s the dish from Puma Pastures?”

    Ha,i knew you were going to use the P word!!
    Puma’s were and are a figment of your imagination..You a funny boy,TM is good,if that’s what you mean..

  20. AmericanInSURGEnt

    I signed the petition,did you? Im not supporting the people that are expanding and continuing to perpetuate the suffering of those I listed. You are.
    I can admit when I’ve been duped,can you?
    I voted for Obama. I fell for the bullshit like most people. What was it? 70%?
    His actions of extending and starting new wars wasnt the “hope” most people had in mind. His lack of even the slightest attempt or insinuation of bringing to justice Bush,Cheney and the crew for the things they did is a crime itself. Its become blindingly obvious there is no difference between the left and the right they both serve the same masters. Youre a party guy to the end Brian,I dont expect you to have the ability to anything other than shake your pom poms.

    “war is peace”
    Barrack H. Obama

  21. Wow, you signed a petition and they haven’t declared world peace yet?

  22. AmericanInSURGEnt

    What an intelligent response.

  23. AmericanInSURGEnt

    My reference to the petition was to point out ,that in reality,you wouldn’t make the slightest effort if it weren’t self serving. Thank you for allowing me to do so.

  24. tonyb39

    “Also tony you’re hero Bill Clinton happens to agree with me on this one too.”

    I missed this earlier.I know i remember Bill’s trip to the hill a few weeks ago.I know it makes sense for short term political gain,but in the end forcing 30 million into the clutches of the thieving insurance corps is shit,SINGLE PAYER,Medicare for all..We should have started there..I Love Hillary more than Bill and I disagree with her too in regards to Afghanistan.Hill and that Gen.McCrystal were pushing the President on Afghanistan and I’m so sorry,their wrong.

  25. Tony,
    At the risk of being called petty and nit-pickish (usually that’s dnd’s job) it’s “they’re wrong” not “their wrong”. Now don’t go getting your disco nickers in a twist!

  26. tonyb39

    “they’re wrong” not “their wrong”. Now don’t go getting your disco nickers in a twist!

    This is a blog Brian and I’m tired!..Now if you require perfection from this former lunch bucket Dem. to post on you blog,just say the word? I can post other places that allow me to use texting lingo…Come to think of it,piss off…

Leave a Reply

