Ponder Racism

mlk2

Holidays are supposed to mean something, certainly more than just an excuse for a three day weekend and a white sale at Bed, Bath, & Beyond, not that I have anything against a long weekend or a good sale for that matter.    This holiday that we observe today is one that is supposed to give us reason to take pause and ponder how far we’ve come and how far we have to go in matters of race in this country.  This past year has given us shining examples of both. 

I expect like many of you I was brought to tears  last election night that this country, a country long plagued by issues of race elected it’s first African American president.  Filled with both relief and excitement I experienced a high and pride  I had never had before during a national election.   As this  past year has unfolded the ugly sobering facts of just how big a part of our society racism is have become all too evident.   Displays of unashamed racism and bigotry are a regular feature of every teabagger rally.  Images of the president of The United States in either white face or dressed as a voodoo witch doctor have become common enough to no longer shock.   As the epic and tragic events in Haiti unfolded over the past week the most disgusting noises heard in American politics since the civil rights movement of the 60s was heard coming out of the mouths of some of the right’s better known pundits.   So on this first Martin Luther King Day since the inauguration of American’s first African American president I hope we’ll all take a moment to pause and ponder just how much of Dr. King’s work is still left to be done.

42 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

42 responses to “Ponder Racism

  1. nannymm

    Morning!
    Regarding Harold Ford and your comment from the last thread,Brian, I totally agree. Ford needs to back off. Upstate NY will never vote for him. And I doubt he’s do too well in Staten Island and many other parts of the City after that interview he gave to the NY Times.

  2. Maybe he thinks the voters of NY aren’t aware of his many right of center positions he took while in Congress.

  3. nannymm

    He’s a damned fool if he thinks we’re that ill-informed. Furthermore, can’t he just see the ads that will be played with him stating his right-leaning positions? If he jumps into this race, the Dems had better hit him hard and hit him early and often. We don’t want or need a blue dog here in NY.

  4. To be honest Gillibrand has been growing on me.

  5. nannymm

    Me, too, Brian. I think she’s doing a good job and given time could be an excellent senator.

    I’m really nervous about MA. I hope the Dem GOTV machine is in high gear. And I hope that young voters and African American voters realize that they need to vote for Coakley if they want to help Obama succeed. They can’t just sit home on their behinds. They need to vote and drag their friends and relatives with them.

  6. eprof2

    An excellent post today, Brian. Well done!

  7. nannymm

    Yes, Brian, it is a very good post. We have come a very long way since the days of Martin Luther King, Jr.. Yet we are far from the goal of a color blind, post-racial society and world. Sometimes I fear that it will be generations still before we reach that point.

  8. nannymm

    My “must read” for today:

    The last word: Why old dogs are the best dogs
    They can be eccentric, slow afoot, even grouchy. But dogs live out their final days, says The Washington Post’s Gene Weingarten, with a humility and grace we all could learn from.
    http://www.theweek.com/article/index/89914/The_last_word_Why_old_dogs_are_the_best_dogs

    • dnd

      Nannymm,
      Great “must read.” Here’s a shout out to Sly:
      “Ain’t but three things in this world worth a solitary dime, that’s old dogs and children and watermelon wine.”

  9. Haiti’s Earthquake: A Photo Gallery

    http://www.nytimes.com/packages/html/photo/2010-haiti/index.html?hp

    This is a must see if you haven’t seen it already.

  10. nannymm

    WTF??????

    U.S. Rifle Scopes In Iraq And Afghanistan Feature Bible Verse Citations
    Here’s one that will play well in the Muslim world.

    ABC is reporting that soldiers in Iraq and Afghanistan have been using rifle scopes that bear abbreviated references to Bible verses, including lines like “For God, who commanded the light to shine out of darkness, hath shined in our hearts, to give the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Jesus Christ.”

    That verse is rendered on tiny letters on the the scopes, made by Wixom, Michigan-based Trijicon, as “2COR4:6” referring to chapter 4, verse 6 of the Second Epistle of Paul to the Corinthians.
    http://tpmmuckraker.talkingpointsmemo.com/2010/01/us_trijicon_rifle_scopes_in_iraq_and_afghanistan_f.php?ref=fbfp

  11. nannymm

    That photo gallery is heartbreaking, Brian.

  12. eprof2

    The NYT photos are, indeed, heartbreaking. And, all I could say all the way through was, “there but by the grace of God go I.” I just can’t imagine being at the center of such tragedy. The will to live must be great!

  13. nannymm

    I can’t imagine it either, eprof. I wish I were able to go and volunteer down there. There is so much to do! But I wouldn’t be much help in my present condition.

  14. nannymm

    Star College Quarterback Tim Tebow To Star In Anti-Abortion Super Bowl Ad

    In 2007, Florida quarterback Tim Tebow became the first underclassmen to ever win the Heisman Trophy. This Super Bowl Sunday, he’ll star in the first-ever Super Bowl ad funded by Christian anti-abortion group Focus on the Family.
    Tebow will appear alongside his mother, Pam Tebow, in a 30-second spot with the theme “Celebrate Family, Celebrate Life.”
    http://tpmlivewire.talkingpointsmemo.com/2010/01/star-college-quarterback-tim-tebow-to-star-in-anti-abortion-super-bowl-ad.php?ref=fbfp

  15. nannymm

    Thanks for that shout to Sly, dnd. He’s hanging in there, enjoying the special treats I give him and all the extra love and attention. And I’m enjoying every moment I have with him.

  16. Breaking News Alert
    The New York Times
    Mon, January 18, 2010 — 7:09 PM ET
    —–

    Democrats Seeking to Push Senate Health Bill Through House

    The White House and Democratic Congressional leaders,
    scrambling for a backup plan to rescue their health care
    legislation if Republicans win the special election in
    Massachusetts on Tuesday, are preparing to ask House
    Democrats to approve the Senate version of the bill, which
    would send the measure directly to President Obama for his
    signature.

  17. nannymm

    I really wish Victoria Kennedy had run for Teddy’s seat. If we lose in MA tomorrow it’s not going to be good for Obama or his agenda.

  18. With hearts and minds focused squarely on the devastating earthquake that occurred in Haiti on January 12, the ASPCA extends its full support to those organizations providing humanitarian relief in the ravaged island nation. Soon, the animal victims of this disaster will need help, too—that’s why the ASPCA has joined the Animal Relief Coalition for Haiti (ARCH).

    http://www2.aspca.org/site/MessageViewer?em_id=66524.0

  19. nannymm

    Teddy must be spinning in his grave. The very idea of a repug winning his seat is making me physically ill.

  20. Thank you for the post today Brian, and the link to the photos….I have passed the link on to my children as they often don’t even watch the news. Sad but true.

    Life is hard, I constantly try to think of what can I do to help…..it’s over whelming at times.

  21. Nanny,
    When I hear about the likes of the verses on the rifles I want to scream……

  22. http://architectureforhumanity.org/about

    here’s an organization that work all over the globe…worth a look

  23. Hey UB, the only thing we really can do at this point is give money. The donation by text was a stroke of genius!

  24. 90999
    so true,
    you know I was just thinking, and it did hurt, but isn’t it totally amazing that one man’s words can move a country or a society or a part of society……where are those people of today???????

  25. where is the MLK of today? where is the JFK of today?………I am sad that no one, not even Obama, has been able to capture the country…..just saying

  26. Haven’t I captured your heart UB ?

  27. lol ….Brian…of coarse you have…..but it’s just not enough…..I told all the losers at my poker table to text their ten bucks….they are from all over the world -it was funny…
    …….okay only one of my tables I could call losers….I won once and lost twice……was in NYC last weekend working my tail off….not in a good way…..but in May we will have an actual apartment….so I think that is a good time to arrange a get together…or a drink together …or what ever…

  28. and……. why don’t you and dnd like facebook?

  29. I use facebook, I just never remember to log on. d will have to answer for himself.

  30. because of the simplistic thinking and comments , or the moronic games and quizzes?or is it “farmville” that would be my gripe….but I ignore it….(no offense to you farmvile peeps , but seriously????)

    One of my friends posted this ” Farmville interventions forthcoming”

    okay enough of this tangent…..
    peace all

  31. okay so May looks good? we will be furnishing an apartment in Brooklyn, God knows where……I’ll have my place to stay, maybe a place to park the soccer-mom-van, and time to chill…

    let plan on it, no excuses this time

  32. “we will be furnishing an apartment in Brooklyn”

    Cool, lets have a big pajama party in brooklyn!

  33. that’s the ticket……only we will only have “rights” to one room….the price you pay being my daughter…lol

  34. Her mom and her political junkies on-line friends all crashing on her floor…lmao…..pay back is a b*tch isn’t it…..good thing she is more laid back than I am

  35. the plan is in place……we will just do what we can at the time……see we are really just going in May if her roommates move, if not, it could be anytime in the summer….because if they stay in their current apt….there is no timeline , but if they had to move they wanted my van to help them……I am the moving company because I have a van…lol….I said okay to this and they were happy , that’s all that matters.

    peace now….night night

  36. Kathy

    Brian= ;long time since I have been here- excellent post-

    As a native MA resident, raised in a house with Kennedy on the wall, I have been so anxious about the senate race- holding out for good news tomorrow-

  37. Hey Kathy, long time no see! Hope you’re well.

    NEW THREAD

Leave a Reply

