Open Thread

42 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

42 responses to “Open Thread

  1. dooty

    so is the Vapor Rub close at hand? Wait I don’t want to know.

  2. I have yet to apply my morning layer of Vapor Rub, probably after I walk the dogs.

  3. nannymm

    So now Obama is going to try Khalid Sheikh Mohammed in a military tribunal. Unbelievable! Is there nothing he won’t back down on? He’s undermining everything the Dept. of Justice has tried to do. So much for an independent DOJ. I guess it’s only independent until the politics gets in the way for Obama. And so much for Obama not being swayed by polls. Tell me another one….

  4. nannymm

    Opps! I forgot the link.
    Sept. 11 Trial Won’t Be Held In Civilian Court
    http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=124336554

  5. dooty

    so have yall noticed the right is now turning against Liz Cheney?

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2010/03/05/conservatives-turn-agains_n_487410.html

  6. nannymm

    I saw that about Liz Cheney, as well as the letter McInsane put out there. Cheney deserves to be pilloried and McInsane has once again proven himself to be an old out of touch geezer.

  7. nannymm

    Re: Craig leaving MSNBC. I didn’t realize he was still under contract with them. I haven’t seen him on in ages. His “email resignation” seems rather unprofessional to me. Even if it is now acceptable to resign via email, shouldn’t it be more professional in tone?

  8. dooty

    yeah he was under contract but I don’t know how that works.

    I don’t think anyone on MSNBC actually values his input. Now that Imus is on Fox Business News it makes sense to move that direction.

  9. Smart of him to “resign” before his contract expires with no offer of renewal.

  10. Judging by the comments on the Huff post no one over there is crying many tears over him leaving.

  11. Roy Ashburn ARRESTED: Anti-Gay State Sen. Got DUI After Leaving Gay Nightclub, Sources Say

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2010/03/04/roy-ashburn-arrested-anti_n_485419.html

    Just not a good day for the in the closet set!

  12. Pentagon Shooter Worshipped Private Property Rights, Denounced Government ‘Schemes’ Like Public Education (AUDIO)

    http://tpmmuckraker.talkingpointsmemo.com/2010/03/pentagon_shooter_praised_private_property_rights_d.php?ref=fpb

  13. BTW if Craig’s so called journalistic integrity was so offended by what’s going on at MSNBC why didn’t he ask to be let out of his contract early?

  14. dooty

    I noticed Jamie in there defending the Craigster with all her wordly might also.

  15. being den mother to a cult is a 24/7 job.

  16. nannymm

    What Craig does is of only minor passing interest to me. I’m far more concerned with the likelihood that Obama is going to over-rule AG Holder and move the 9-11 terror trials to military commissions. It’s appalling.

  17. tonyb39

    http://www.taylormarsh.com/2010/03/05/will-obama-cave-to-cheney-crowd-on-ksm-trial/

    “Will Obama Cave to Cheney Crowd on KSM Trial?”

    “The Obama White House couldn’t find a strong stance if someone wrote it out for them after poll testing it. Coupled with CNN’s report that the White House briefing has been canceled, this is incompetent juggling of spastic incoherence, coupled with mind numbing, paralyzing vacillation.

    Andy McCarthy is all too happy to remind everyone of the reality of Pres. Obama’s Bush-esque stance on national security:

    The Washington Post article that Dan posted about last night is a head fake. President Obama is not caving on military commissions. He has already caved on them: He failed (thankfully) to abolish them, Congress enacted legislation endorsing them again in 2009, and the administration has already directed a commission trial for the Cole bombers. The real agenda here is to close Gitmo. That’s the ball to keep your eye on.” …

  18. “What Craig does is of only minor passing interest to me.”

    Well bully for you! As far what’s going to happen on KSM trail I’ll wait till we actually have the facts. Right now it’s up there with the reporting the president was going to ask to pass a lighter version of the senate bill, that didn’t happen either.

  19. tonyb39

    Brian,
    Yes, we do have to wait for the facts.I hope they don’t cave in to the wing nuts…

  20. TempeBev

    I think all of you original BC contributors can take pride in yourselves for leaving Trail Mix when you did several years ago. Craig has been most uninspiring whenever he was on MSNBC. I think your group was aware of that way before he was on TV. Hope he finds a home somewhere. It’s not nice to be out in the cold with out a blanket.

    • dnd

      “It’s not nice to be out in the cold with out a blanket.”

      And that perspective is precisely why we love you Bev.

  21. BTW Tony,
    Today is a perfect example of just what’s wrong with Craig. Kieth has repeatedly had Craig on his show over the past few months and provided links to the groups Haitian relief efforts. I’ve seen several slammings of Olberman today over on Trail Mush, has Craig once stepped up to the plate to say “knock it off”? Nope!

  22. Hey Bev,

    Where you been hiding?

  23. TempeBev

    Still here, just waiting for the perfect moment to utter something worthwhile. Thx for asking.

  24. dog's eye view

    Wow. What a day or two to be without internet. (So much for the broadband card.)

  25. Any time you utter something is perfect Bev!

    🙂

  26. nannymm

    Brian, I only meant that I don’t think Craig is worth our time; he’s a lightweight with little to contribute.

  27. tonyb39

    Brian,
    I see nothing wrong with Craig.I don’t think its his responsibility to step up and stifle free speech,especially when it concerns a public figure..Yes,KO has been generous in helping with Bob’s Haiti relief effort and that’s great,speaks well of him.It doesn’t mean everyone will suddenly think well of him though.I trusted KO’s journalism and i expected neutrality during the Dem primaries,well the joke was on me.I personally don’t watch him as his over the top BS during the primaries soured me forever!Also,we don’t really know what is really going on behind the scenes at MSNBC between the power players..

  28. You’re very funny Tony, free speech on Trail Mush is def limited to those who agree with Craig and those who follow him blindly.

  29. dooty

    Keith, in my opinion, is not particularly supposed to be neutral. His is an opinion show and to some degree so is Tweety.

  30. tonyb39

    Brian,
    I know you have history with Craig and I’m sorry things went bad.I don’t feel like i follow anyone blindly over at TM or i wouldn’t be there.I like the sharing of opinions there as well as here at TBC.I’m pretty much non-confrontational because i realize everyone has a right to their own thoughts and opinions..My weak spot is for the Clinton’s,no apology’s,best damn President and Hillary,well I just love her..Oh,glad you think i’m funny,i sure am..

  31. tonyb39

    Dooty,
    I think your correct.KO’s show is opinion,Tweety too.I watched for years loyally,but you see the opinions expressed mostly were directed at the wing nut Republican’s. The Democratic primary changed all that.I wanted neutrality in that KO was a liberal Democrat and I felt he owed it to his predominantly Democrat viewers to remain neutral.KO’s show, he chose a different route and so did I..

  32. Morning peeps,
    Finally starting to feel human again!

  33. nannymm

    President Obama: Replace Rahm with Me …an open letter from Michael Moore
    You’re such a good guy, Mr. President. You came to Washington with your hand extended to the Republicans and they just chopped it off. You wanted to be respectful and they decided that they were going to say “no” to everything you suggested. Yet, you kept on saying you still believed in bipartisanship.

    Well, if you really want bipartisanship, just go ahead and let the Republicans win in November. Then you’ll get all the bipartisanship you want.
    http://www.michaelmoore.com/words/mikes-letter/president-obama-replace-rahm-me-open-letter-michael-moore

Leave a Reply

