I’ve Learned… (BevnTempe)

 

 
 

I’ve learned that you cannot make someone like or love you.  All you can do is stalk them and hope they panic and give in.

I’ve learned that no matter how much I care, some people are just assholes.

I’ve learned that it takes years to build up trust, and only suspicion, not proof, to destroy it.

I’ve learned that you can get by on charm for about fifteen minutes.  After that, you’d better have a big dick or huge tits.

I’ve learned that you shouldn’t compare yourself to others – they are more fucked up than you think.

I’ve learned that you can keep puking long after you think you’re finished.

I’ve learned that we are responsible for what we do, unless we are celebrities.

I’ve learned that regardless of how hot and steamy a relationship is at first, the passion fades, and there had better be a lot of money to take its place.

I’ve learned that sometimes the people you expect to kick you when you’re down will be the ones who do.

I’ve learned that we don’t have to ditch bad friends because their dysfunction makes us feel better about ourselves.

I’ve learned that the people you care most about in life are taken from you too soon and all the less important ones just never go away.

I’ve learned to say “Fuck ‘em if they can’t take a joke” several times a day.

~ Author unknown

and . . .

“You can’t always get what you want,

but if you try real hard,

you’ll find you get what you need. “

~ The Rolling Stones

26 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

26 responses to “I’ve Learned… (BevnTempe)

  1. Morning peeps, good one Bev!

    • dnd

      Great one Bev. A little cynical for first thing in the morning, but true, true, true. 😉

      • dnd

        From the previous thread: “I may puke if he starts that bipartisan crap again.”

        Nanny, I’ll hold your hair while you’re throwing up. 🙂

  2. “I’ll hold your hair while you’re throwing up.”

    What a gentleman!

  3. nice Bev…made me smile more than once. 🙂

    Hope everyone is well.

  4. nannymm

    Good post, Bev. And so true.

    Dnd, you’re a true Italian gentleman.

    Tony, the day I miss him will be the day hell freezes over AND donkeys fly. Let’s face it, some things just ain’t EVER gonna happen. 😀

    Brian, stunning to see Ken Starr on the same said we’re on, isn’t it?

  5. nannymm

    Damn! Here we go again. Remember that tea bagger, Doug Hoffman, who ran for Congress in the special election in my (NY 23rd) district and lost to Bill Owens. Well, he’s baaaaack….

    The defeated Conservative candidate in NY-23 is, as expected (and as he would quietly inform people at CPAC), going for a rematch with Rep. Bill Owens (D-N.Y.). Hoffman, assured of the Conservative Party’s nomination, is gunning for the GOP and Independence Party nominations, too — both went to Dede Scozzafava last time, while the Independence Party rhetorically supported Owens after Scozzafava dropped out.

    Hoffman rather infamously un-conceded the race after counting errors revealed that he’d lost by a smaller margin than expected; he conceded again, and that issue disappeared.
    http://washingtonindependent.com/78714/doug-hoffman-strikes-back

  6. TempeBev

    No, I don’t miss him at all. Every time I see his face on TV, it just reminds me of one of those bobble head figurines. Stupid and dumb.

    There are probably repugs who miss him, although they also fall into my category of stupid and dumb.

    He should be humiliated by those signs, but again, stupid and dumb.

  7. Well Nanny posted the poll results that showed if the election were held today Obama would still win. It’s a stupid premise, miss George Bush, yeah right.

  8. nannymm

    Goldman Sachs Group Inc (GS.N) was sued on Monday by a large union pension fund that accused the Wall Street investment bank of overpaying its executives.

    The International Brotherhood of Electric Workers fund filed the lawsuit in Delaware Chancery Court, seeking to recover money for the company on behalf of other shareholders.

    It seeks to stop Goldman from allocating roughly 47 percent of 2009 net revenue as compensation, saying such allocations “vastly overcompensate management and constitute corporate waste.”

    http://www.reuters.com/article/idUSTRE62763320100308

  9. nannymm

    In a possible strategic move to regain the “ethical high ground,” House Democratic leaders are floating the idea of a party-wide ban on earmarks for the remainder of the year.
    http://www.thedailybeast.com/cheat-sheet/item/house-democrats-may-ban-earmarks/strategy/?om_rid=I7tSsb&om_mid=_BLlkghB8DnG-Cg&

  10. nannymm

    Surprise, surprise, surprise!

    Massa under investigation for allegedly groping male staffers
    http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2010/03/09/AR2010030902157.html?hpid=topnews

  11. I gotta get a job on the Hill!

    LOL

  12. nannymm

    You can do better than that, I’m sure, Brian.

  13. nannymm

    Nap time for me. Don’t know why but I just can’t keep my eyes open. Hope I’m not getting sick.

  14. tonyb39

    Bev,
    Good piece,lov it, gets right to the point..Funny too..

  15. I don’t normally post to blogs but I enjoyed this post so keep up the good work. -cheers-

  16. dog's eye view

    Very good post, Bev. Tongue in cheek, but a lot of wisdom there too.

  17. tonyb39

    http://trueslant.com/matttaibbi/

    “Shorting America Rocks!”

    “It’s weird enough living in a country where a man can legally own an arsenal of machine guns, but his neighbor growing a pot plant will send a team of DEA agents kicking his door in with a no-knock warrant. But this goes even beyond that. If I go online today to HaveNoLifeAndBetOnSports.com and bet fifty dollars on the Bucks against the Celtics tonight, I’m a criminal. But some gazillionaire firm in New York can legally bet against the United States of America in unlimited amounts in a trade that has nothing to do with anything, but a guess about how many other people will make the same bet.

    Jesus, are we a weird country.”

Leave a Reply

