Dear Mrs. Reagan

Dear Mrs. Reagan,

It must be almost as surprising for you to be receiving a letter from me as it is for me to be writing it, however there is something that has been bouncing around in my head and I just can’t shake it.   On more than one occasion I have you heard you say that biggest regret of your husband’s when leaving office was that he was unable to rid the world of the threat of nuclear weapons.    There wasn’t too much that I agreed with your husband about, but on this score I was 100% behind him and have long felt in the over heated political atmosphere we now find ourselves in a much overlooked part of your husband’s legacy.  Sadly for us and the world your husband enjoyed an advantage that our current president does not.  An opposition party that was willing to put matters of party aside when it came to the bigger issue of nuclear disarmament. 

Not since your time in the White House have we had a president who has made nuclear disarmament as big a part of his agenda till now.  Unfortunately the party of your late husband has decided that it’s only way back into political favor is to oppose our current president on any and every front.   This issue, this truly life and death issue is just too important to be kicked around the partisan football field.  Sadly for our country there just doesn’t seem to be any Republicans out there who are willing to step up to the plate and say flat out this is not an issue that we should be playing politics with.

 

And this leads me to the point of this letter to you.    I feel it would help cool down the over heated rhetoric that is bound to erupt when the Senate takes up the current START treaty if you were to issue a statement saying that you support Presidents Obama’s efforts in riding the world of the threat of nuclear holocaust.    Quite frankly I also have another motive in hoping you would issue such a statement.   I fear for our country right now.  The overheated rhetoric coming from the right is dangerous and getting out of hand.  I feel that a brief statement of support from you in support of President Obama would go along way in calming very rough waters.  I understand that you have long left world of politics, partisan or otherwise.  But for the life of me I can’t think of anyone who could so effectively help to calm the ugly mood we all see around us than you could. 

With best wishes for your good health,

42 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

42 responses to “Dear Mrs. Reagan

  1. TempeBev

    I hope this letter is being sent by special delivery directly to her. I hope even more that when she reads it, she’ll follow your instructions and call a press conference and remind the dumbshits what Ronnie wanted since they always refer to his greatness. Great idea-great letter.

  2. tonyb39

    Brian,
    Really good idea and i hope it helps! Maybe u should think of sending a copy to Ron Jr.? I wish someone like Mrs.Reagan could help,but i don’t know if anything could change the hateful crowd that stands in opposition to this President.Just look at President Clinton’s treatment,Bill did so much of what Republican’s mouth they are for and they tried to impeach him! It will always be something,although i think in so many ways this President,because he’s black is being treated the worst..

  3. tonyb39

    http://www.nytimes.com/2010/04/17/us/politics/17hospitals.html?th&emc=th

    “In Hospital Decision, Obama Finds Safe Ground on Gay Rights”

    Allowing same-sex partners the same rights as straight couples to visit and make medical decisions for their hospitalized loved ones enjoys broad public backing, even as the country remains polarized over the question of marriage rights for gay men and lesbians.

  4. tonyb39

    http://www.nytimes.com/2010/04/17/opinion/17blow.html?th&emc=th

    “A Mighty Pale Tea”

    “On Thursday, I came here outside Dallas for a Tea Party rally.

    At first I thought, “Wow! This is much more diverse than the rallies I’ve seen on television.”

    Then I realized that I was looking at stadium workers. I should have figured as much when I approached the gate. The greeter had asked, “Are you working tonight?”

    • dnd

      Reagan biographer Lou Cannon noted that Reagan believed nuclear weapons could fulfill the biblical prophecy of Armageddon. And he didn’t want to be the one responsible for Armageddon.

  5. D, take note, this video was recorded at a concert in Verona Italy, so much for your “regional theory”

  6. dog's eye view

    Terrific letter and I think you should send it.

    Perhaps she is as worried as you are about the political climate today. She truly might be — they are making a mockery of a party that was near and dear to her late husband (now its secular patron saint).

  7. TempeBev

    I’ll contribute $ for stamps!!!!

  8. Oh I’m sure she’ll read it here!

    🙂

  9. New Republican Group Sparks Worries About Party’s Future

    http://tpmdc.talkingpointsmemo.com/2010/04/new-republican-group-sparks-worries-about-partys-future.php?ref=fpa

    This is a pretty interesting read, I’d love to see Rove take over the GOP.

  10. Brian…

    Both this time and a little earlier when I accessed this site I got a hacker attempting to access my computer.

    I’ll try again later and get the IP address that Norton blocked of the hacker.

    Check and see if anyone shows up in your URL info that may be trying to find UDP ports open on any ones computer who comes to your site.

    Later and …

    God Bless.

  11. just a cookie from the traffic report widget.

  12. Brian & dnd…

    I have had the same IP attempt to hack my computer on another blogspot blog before. It always looks for a user defined port to gain access and I reported it to my ISP provider before.

    Some times it will make more than one attempt while I’m on a site.

    One site is It’s My Right to be Left of Center and as I said its looking for user defined ports. Since I’m on a router my ISP basically ignored my complaint even though the IP shows up in Whois IP when I run a check on the hackers IP address as someone from my same ISP.

    So its not a cookie check as if it was it would have Norton popping up each time I accessed a site.

    Next time I will get the IP address and let you know what it is in case you can find anything out about it.

    Time to get ready to hit the sack in a short while so take care and …

    God Bless.

  13. Okay, here you go…

    Just happened again while checking out another blogspot blog that I link too.

    Attacker IP is 207.69.188.187(domain(53)) UDP Port ID#56519.

    This time is was a different port, however it’s the same IP that attacked earlier. It goes back to Earthlink and this hacker is a busy little bee.

    Here is the Whois page for this IP less the (domain(53)) info.

    http://whois.domaintools.com/207.69.188.187

    I sure would like to see this SOB banned by Earthlink and even arrested for hacking.

    Anyway good night, sleep tight and don’t let the bed bugs bite.

    God Bless.

  14. TempeBev

    amazing – just amazing.

  15. dog's eye view

    It’s going to be so interesting to see what Charlie Crist does in Florida. I hope he does run as an independent.

    Tony: what are Floridians saying about that one? And is there a competitive Democrat in the race? (One never hears about that in the national press.)

  16. dog's eye view

    What better way to commemorate date of Oklahoma City bombing and Waco conflagration?

    Gun rights protestors assemble in national park in Northern Virginia.

    http://www.nytimes.com/aponline/2010/04/19/us/AP-US-Second-Amendment-Rallies.html

    from article:

    “Organizers said it’s the first armed rally in a national park since a law passed allowing people to carry firearms in national parks. Organizer Daniel Almond said he wanted to hold the rally in a place where ”we can exercise our rights.” He pointed in the direction of Washington and said, ”Over there the constitution is being violated and in that we can no bear arms.”

    Almond said April 19 was chosen because it represents the anniversary of the Revoluntionary War battles of Lexington and Concord. He said it was not meant to commemorate the Oklahoma City bombing, which took place on April 19, 1995.”

    ===

    What this article does not tell you is that Gravelly Point is just across a narrow channel from Washington National Airport (officially Reagan National Airport).

    Depending on where they are, you have protestors who are carrying (they say unloaded) firearms about 300 feet directly under the path of landing aircraft.

    (I used to hang out at Gravelly Point during bike rides. It was awesome to have planes coming in so close over one’s head.)

  17. dog's eye view

    Here’s a video of airplane landing near Gravelly Point, and you see a bicyclist in last frames.

    Some folks play soccer in this field.

    http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=4682500036823633497#docid=3811613829992205908

  18. tonyb39

    Hi Dog,
    Nope, no competitive Dem here in Florida.I think Crist should run as an Independent, cause he’s gonna lose big time if he doesn’t.Tea party people like Grace(my c0-worker) will vote for Rubio just because of the Crist/ Obama hug,what BS..

  19. tonyb39

    Is Lindsay Graham gay? First I’ve heard of this..

  20. “Is Lindsay Graham gay? First I’ve heard of this..”

    Dear god I hope not!

  21. dog's eye view

    Almost 1 a.m. on East Coast; evening Pacific time. No nutsplosions so far today on such a frightful anniversary.

    ====

    Ridiculous there’s not a competitive Dem in Florida race. Wish that could change. A lot can happen in a few months. (Ask Governor Crist.)

    Re tea party behavior: they may wear out their welcome by Election Day too. To see.

  22. Oh I think you’re wrong, I think Meek has a good shot at winning.

  23. dog's eye view

    Kendrick Meek? Yeah, he could do well and there will be lots of national assistance (one would think).

    Here’s letter to NYTimes today, and look who wrote it (Oliver “Buck” Revell; top ranking FBI executive for years.) Sounds like good advice re dealing with Goldman Sachs. Humans should go to jail for this one.:

    To the Editor:

    It is clear to me that the Securities and Exchange Commission charges should be held in abeyance and that the F.B.I. and the Justice Department should immediately open an investigation into the apparent fraud that occurred in this situation.

    Goldman Sachs officials who approved of this insider manipulation, including Fabrice Tourre, the apparent creator of the Abacus 2007-AC1 fund, should be the immediate targets of this investigation, as should John A. Paulson, the apparent beneficiary of the fund.

    If the S.E.C. proceeds with a civil case, much of the evidence may be inadmissible in a criminal proceeding because of Fifth Amendment issues. In my experience as an agent and former associate deputy director of the F.B.I. who was in charge of criminal investigations, this case should go to the top of the F.B.I.’s priority list. There should be an intensive investigation of all potentially criminal acts in this apparent scam.

    Oliver Revell
    Zurich, April 17, 2010

  24. tonyb39

    “Oh I think you’re wrong, I think Meek has a good shot at winning.”

    Nope,Meeks sucks! His people couldn’t even talk to me about his positions on gay marriage,DADT,yes folks it seems anything gay is taboo with Mr.Meeks..Bible belt Florida,typical…Rubio wins! I would rather have Meeks or even Crist,but its Rubio.

  25. tonyb39

    http://www.taylormarsh.com/

    “Remembering Timothy McVeigh in the Era of Obama and the Tea Party”

    “So, when Byron York talks about Pres. Clinton using the Oklahoma City bombing to target the right, it’s important to keep in perspective what Republicans always do when Democrats get into power.

    The effort to delegitimize Democratic lawmakers is a constant campaign for them.

    It’s this campaign that is at the heart of the Tea Party people, especially since Barack Obama became president.

    It’s inescapable that on the 15th year since Oklahoma City occurred, with the hate speech floating up from the Tea Party crowd, coaxed on by wingnut radio and politicians, that the Tea Party comes into focus as well. Meanwhile, armed citizens enjoy gun rallies in the Beltway.

    Pres. Bill Clinton gives us some important perspective, which also offers insight on what’s percolating today:”

Leave a Reply

