Open Thread

26 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

26 responses to “Open Thread

  1. TempeBev

    Peep back at ya – I really wish we could hear some good news. I’m sick of the media, twisting truths, starting rumors, lies, etc. Politics suck.

    Since this is open thread, let’s contribute one good thing.

    Mine – I planted new flowers and the temps have been great this weekend. Next?

  2. dooty

    Wow, Macaca moment don’tcha think?

  3. dooty

    Oh, all the little trouts are safe yet again this year.

  4. Hey Bev,

    Saddly not much good I can contribute today, Tucker seems to be going down hill quickly, we see the vet tomorrow, I’m scared out of my wits to be honest.

  5. Macaca moment indeed! Haven’t these guys figured out that just about everyone with a cell phone is now walking around with a video camera in their pocket.

  6. haha, this just came in my email:

    Etheridge apologizes for confrontation caught on video

    http://washingtonscene.thehill.com/in-the-know/36-news/4621-etheridge-apologizes-for-assault

  7. “As mayor I must respect the lifestyle choices of others, no matter how disagreeable they are with my personal beliefs or my personal moral standards. I apologize for my comments at the Memorial Day service at Desert Lawn cemetery on Memorial Day.” – Yuma, Arizona Mayor Al Krieger, offer an unapologetic “apology” for saying that “limp-wristed” homos don’t belong in the military.

    http://www.yumasun.com/news/mayor-61676-baughman-krieger.html

  8. TempeBev

    The mayor of Yuma Arizona = another thing we can’t be proud of. This was in reference to DADT. There’s a big military base in the Yuma area. It’s amazing that he is still standing.

    Good luck with Tucker.

  9. I usually don’t condone people drinking bottle water Bev but in your case I hope you do. There has to be something in the water out there!

  10. dog's eye view

    for the good news file:

    “Starbucks said on Monday that as of July 1, its stores in the United States would offer free Wi-Fi, via AT&T, that anyone can reach with a single click.”

    [Great news. Although all the little mom and pop coffee shops I’ve been to have been offering free wireless for ages.]

    Reading a little further into the story, the not so good news:

    “Starbucks may be catering to people who are out of work and need a place to perfect their résumés or do freelance jobs. In January, the company announced that same-store sales increased 4 percent after months of steady declines. Starbucks attributes the improvement, which came before consumer spending rebounded as a whole, in part to its role as an office for the unemployed.”

    http://www.nytimes.com/2010/06/15/technology/15starbux.html?hp

    Public libraries are experiencing the same phenomenon.

    Although here in cash-strapped California, they’re among the earliest services to curtail their hours.

    • dnd

      “Starbucks said on Monday that as of July 1, its stores in the United States would offer free Wi-Fi,”

      LOL! I went to get an oil change today and they offered free WiFi. And free coffee! 😉

      For those businesses where customers linger, they are discovering free WiFi puts you at a distinct competitive advantage.

  11. dog's eye view

    RIP Jimmy Dean.

    He was a handsome man, and sounds like a sharp businessman too.

    Obit said he wrote “Big Bad John” in two hours.

    Lyric speaks of a “Cajun Queen.” Here I thought that was a rock and roll invention. Maybe it’s from the blues?

  12. ub

    my car got an oil change today, and all they offered me was list of other things that needed to be repaired… 😦

    another thing…now too many companies have my cell number because I don’t have a land line – so my cell is on the list and polluted – think about getting a private cell….I guess I should just block them but then I don’t know if anything important is going to be missed. 😦

    I am on my way to living in a cave (with a garden of coarse) 🙂

    • dnd

      Sra Burritio,
      Unless you get your oil changed at a trusted mechanic, those places always try to sell you something else. Mine told me I needed my brake rotors turned (true, but not urgent) and that I needed a front end alignment (it is out of alignment, but so little so that it’s not important – they even copped to that).

      BTW, if you live in a cave, I think the only thing you can grow in your garden is mushrooms 😉

  13. UB get a magic jack or sign up for a google voice number!

  14. ub

    It’s going to be a cave with a yard, silly.

  15. dog's eye view

    like a woman cave, or a man cave, or a beagle cave.

    With Milk Bone trees.

  16. dog's eye view

    We just had an earthquake about 1 minute ago.

    It stopped the little Pomeranian next door from whining to get in.

    Mild one, lasted maybe 25 seconds if that.

  17. Patsi

    Sorry to hear that news, Brian. You’ll give him some quality time and a good goodbye. In Kinky Friedman’s eulogy to his longtime friend and cat, Cuddles, he quotes Irving Townsend: “We who choose to surround ourselves with lives even more temporary than our own live within a fragile circle.”

Leave a Reply

