Repugs Through The Looking Glass

 

Well it seems that the repugs have settled on the tact of attempting to paint the president as being  anti-business.  Repeatedly this seems to be the refrain being sung by the more rabid idiots who  dominate what the GOP has turned into since the election of Barack Obama.   You’d think Frank Luntz could come up with a more creditable cast of characters to sell what ever crap he’s decided to try and sell on any given week.  This pretty much does seem to be the repug war strategy as of late, throw some shit on the wall and see if it sticks, if doesn’t, which more times than not it doesn’t, get a new pile of shit and see if you can get that to stick.  But I digress.  Does it make sense to anyone that a president who saved GM, saved Chrysler, saved the American insurance and banking industry and kept the economy from nose diving over a cliff being painted as being anti-business?

35 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

35 responses to “Repugs Through The Looking Glass

  1. Carried over from the last thread:

    dog’s eye view
    June 19, 2010 at 3:39 pm · Edit

    A recent thread on Balloon Juice (my favorite “big” blog) dealt with Brian’s theme a few days ago. 572 comments; it’s long but worth scrolling through.

    http://www.balloon-juice.com/2010/06/17/this-3/

    John Cole kicked off with a reader comment from day before.

    commenter: “I think the frustration that supporters of the president have (at least it is for me) is that his critics give him credit for nothing. NOTHING.

    He gets a health care reform bill passed that is sweeping in scope and more than anyone has done in decades. And the left-wing critics say “Not enough.”

    He gets a stimulus bill passed that pretty much kept a massive recession from getting worse and all the left-wing critics said was “Not enough.”

    He’s on the verge of getting DADT repealed through law as opposed to using a reversible executive order and all the left-wing critics say is “Not enough.”

    He gives a speech that talks about peak oil, points out how government corruption played a role and begins to lay out the way forward towards an alternative energy future and all the left-wing critics say is “Not enough” while having orgasms to Rachael Maddow’s satisfying-but-completely unrealistic “Fake President” speech.

    Never mind Lily Leadbetter, killing the F-22 (something BUSH couldn’t do), expanding SCHIP, credit card reform, tobacco regulation…but no, it’s not enough. It’s NEVER enough with some people.

    There is legit criticism to be made when it comes to President Obama, especially in the civil rights arena. But to hear the WATBs on the left [whiny assed titty babies, aka Firebaggers aka extreme leftwing on Firedoglake and Daily Kos] tell it, he hasn’t done a damn thing. And that is simply not true.”

    ===========

    Cannot say it better myself, but Mr. Cole does in his own post — rather graphically — and then the commenters have at it.

    Some fun, if you have some time to kill.

    On this beautiful Saturday.

  2. dog's eye view

    Yeah, I heard that BP was going to pony up the $20 billion all by its lonesome, and that Obama dude is just showboating and taking all the credit.

    I know it’s true, because Republicans are saying it.

    I am seriously concerned at cable news being used for a series of “let’s see what sticks” attacks; the truth sometimes never catches up.

    If anything, repeating the charges in an attempt to refute them just reinforces them in the minds of many who were inclined to believe the worst in the first place.

    The 24/7 news cycle and media corporations profiting from it are killing our society. Seriously.

    Obama is consciously attempting to tamp down the polarization. (Evidence: people on the left screaming he’s too accommodating and letting the GOP and Bush-Cheney off and he needs to give up on bipartisanship).

    The GOP and cable news are accelerating polarization.

    Because it’s good for their business models.

  3. “Rachael Maddow’s satisfying-but-completely unrealistic “Fake President” speech.”

    I’m a big fan of Rachael’s but I think she crossed a line with that stint that she should not have.

  4. I like that characterization – throw lots of shit and just see what sticks. Of course, this only actually works because the GOP/Teabagers have their own network (Pravda-FOX) to serve as house propaganda organ. Real journalists would tear this stuff to shreds.

    I just like to hope that the “soft middle” of the electorate isn’t fooled by all of this.

    Keep up the good fight.

    — hippieprof

  5. Thanks Brian – looks like an interesting place you have here. I think I will enjoy looking around.

    — hp

  6. I’m curious how did you come to wonder into our little corner of the internets? I checked out your blog, nice job.

  7. dooty

    welcome Hippieprof

  8. dog's eye view

    Good to see hippieprof.

    Guess that’s Jerry Garcia (RIP), but thought it was one of the Capital One barbarians with a guitar at first glance.

    Wish eprof would visit again too.

  9. No, actually the photo is of me, not Jerry – but I get that a lot.

    😉

  10. dog's eye view

    Bookmarked your blog — it looks fun — and do hope you will stick around.

    We are such a small blog, and it’s wonderful to find another friend or have a lurker comment!

    Do you have all your fingers?

  11. dog's eye view

    Doots: what is up in your corner of the world today?

  12. Taking the boiz to the park, bbl.

  13. dog's eye view

    Manute Bol, formerly of the Washington Bullets (now Wizards) basketball team has died at 47.

    “Manute Bol, who became a basketball sensation in the 1980s as a skeletally thin shot-blocking giant with the Washington Bullets and other professional teams, and who devoted his post-basketball life to improving the lot of his fellow natives of Sudan, died June 19 at the University of Virginia Medical Center in Charlottesville. He was 47.

    His cousin George Bol said Mr. Bol had internal bleeding and other complications from Stevens-Johnson syndrome, a rare skin disease that he contracted from a medication he received in Africa.

    Mr. Bol, one of the two tallest players in NBA history, was also one of its most exotic and endearing — and surely the only one to have killed a lion with a spear. His unusual journey to basketball stardom began in southern Sudan, where he was a cattle-herding member of the Dinka tribe and never touched a basketball until his late teens. …”

    Interesting life, too soon ended.

    http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2010/06/19/AR2010061902214.html?hpid=topnews

  14. dog's eye view

    dog the blog hog continues:

    dnd bait. Joe Biden on the BP escrow account and its intended use. Worth every minute.

    http://andrewsullivan.theatlantic.com/the_daily_dish/2010/06/classic-biden.html

  15. dooty

    Dog: just hot like blazes in my part of the world. Getting ready to take my mother to dinner and then home.

  16. Dog’s….

    Happy to be here. I am not a lurker – I found you via tag surfing. I will be sure to be back.

    Yeah – I have all my fingers.

    Honestly, when you look at my photo next to Jerry’s, we don’t look that much alike. People these don’t know what hippies really look like, so they assume we are all the same.

    Still, I don’t fight it. People seem to dig it at gigs, which makes it worthwhile.

    — hp

  17. Well based on the traumatized expression on several squirrels’ faces Tucker is definitely doing better! What was going to be a quick walk turned in a 4 hour dog party with about 10 of his and Ralphie’s buds.

  18. dooty

    Brian, good for Tucker and bad for the squirrels. 4 hour dog party? Cake and ice cream served? Good for Ralphie and Tucker.

  19. Party on the cheap, city water and all the squirrels you can catch and kill.

  20. ABC News has always run a close second to Fox in terms of having right wing nut bags on, though by no stretch of the imagination could Richard Haass be described as a teabagger.

  21. dog's eye view

    Why I never watch “This Week” or any of the Sunday morning shows.

    Except my man Zakaria. Online, way later.

    I hope Christianne Amanpour restores some actual balance to TW. Would give her a watch.

  22. Brian…

    Glad to hear that Tucker’s doing better.

    Well last week we got the semi unofficial news that sometime between July 1 and December our department will be eliminated along with our job titles.

    A couple of the tech’s are already starting to apply for positions at schools that are posting openings.

    One is trying to get a pay grade upgrade on the position he is applying for while I’m not sure of the other one.

    Me I will be waiting until they shut us down. At that point they will offer me a job at a lower pay grade and I will take it. If I don’t then they will be done with me and I won’t be able to collect unemployment.

    Since I am close to drawing full social security I highly doubt that any school will hire me. Also I don’t have the software knowledge I would need to have at a school position as a tech coordinator.

    I did a budget starting from last July 1 and running through the end of this June. I will not be able to stay in this duplex come next year when my lease is up. In fact I don’t have enough to purchase a house outright and if I’m making a whole lot less than I am now I really don’t think I could get a mortgage.

    I may end up in a efficiency apartment and have to sell most of my belongings since they will not fit into that small of an apartment.

    I really don’t know what I am going to do at this time. A early draw on social security and what I would get on a pension leaves me right now about 10 grand short a year. No matter what it looks like I will still have to work until the day I die.

    Only a miracle can help me know since I will lose around 6 percent a month on my social security if I have to start drawing it next July if I can hold unto my job with the district until then.

    Anyway that’s all and is the update on what’s happening now in my life.

    Take care all and I be back later maybe.

    God Bless.

  23. dog's eye view

    Happy Father’s Day to the dads out there, and the dad admirers.

    Saw Toy Story 3 last night, 3D IMAX.

    The opening sequence was amazing, if over the top.

    Your dad might like it!

  24. Hang in there AP, like they say it’s always darkest before the dawn. A few days ago I was convinced Tucker was a goner, now I’m hopeful.

  25. Texas GOP gets tougher on immigration

    DALLAS — Texas Republicans adopted another get-tough policy on immigration and bilingual education Saturday that some say will make it hard for the party to attract Hispanic voters at a time when the Texas population is turning increasingly Latino.

    The platform encourages state lawmakers to create a Class A misdemeanor criminal offense “for an illegal alien to intentionally or knowingly be within the State of Texas,” and to “oppose amnesty in any form leading to citizenship for illegal immigrants.”

    Texas Republicans also want to limit citizenship by birth to those born to a U.S. citizen “with no exceptions.” The platform calls for the end of day-labor work centers and emphasizes border security, encouraging “all means … (to) immediately prevent illegal aliens.”

    The party’s education platform calls for the end of federally sponsored pre-kindergarten, and opposes any mandatory pre-kindergarten or kindergarten.

    “We believe that parents are best suited to train their children in their early development,” it says.

    Bilingual education should end after the third year, according to the platform, and non-U.S. citizens should not be eligible for state or federal college financial assistance.

    http://www.chron.com/disp/story.mpl/metropolitan/7050170.html

  26. Fareed’s neocon roots are showing today.

Leave a Reply

