Levon Helm 1940-2012

http://www.levonhelm.com/

16 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

16 responses to “Levon Helm 1940-2012

  1. Brian Homey don’t do facebook apps birthday is 3/19/45

  2. tempebev

    I’m not familiar with Levon Helm. At my age, hearing about all these deaths, (#3 and #4 for me was my brother and a husband of a friend). I obviously am not getting younger and this sort of creeps me out. All you guys better stay healthy – I don’t want to lose any of you.

  3. Bev, Levon Helms was a drummer of some repute and a singer. one of his claims to fame was his band was the backup band for Bob Dylan after Dylan moved to upstate NY. The band became known as “The Band” it was a great band. as they broke up they recorded an album called Last Waltz. A documentary was made called “Last Waltz.” Should be required viewing for persons of a certain age. I would bet Netflix has it. Levon played the character of Loretta Lynn’s father in “Cold Miner’s Daughter.” His daughter Amy has a very hot band also. here is a song by the famous Huddie Ledbetter (AKA Leadbelly) Lead was lived around Dallas and Elm Street was where the whores and gamblers worked turn of the century. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8BB3TrgU6vI&feature=relmfu Leadbelly also wrote the famous “Goodnight Irene.”
    http://www.paddyg.f9.co.uk/igas/leadbelly.htm

  4. Don’t worry Bev, you’re stuck with us!

  5. this is Levon, in my opinion, at his finest. “Anna Lee” at the Ryman Aud. Nashville.

  6. Ok, I need everyone to say a prayer, cross your fingers, light a candle, whatever it is you do for good luck, Monday I interview with Dartmouth (yes that Dartmouth) for a permanent position, and god damn I want this job!

  7. tempebev

    Thanks Dooty – I’ll check out Netflix. Brian, crossing fingers and wishing you good luck.

  8. Brian…

    Good luck my friend. I’m sure you’ll do very well at your interview. Your no dummy and I’m sure that they will see that during your interview.

    Take care and let us know how you do.

    God Bless.

Leave a Reply

