You Lie!

Then

Then

Now

Now

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

During President Obama’s first State of the Union address Representative Joe Wilson (R-SC) showed unprecedented disrespect to the president and the office of the presidency.  This foreshadowed the remainder of Obama’s presidency as well as what psychologists call “projection” to the Republicans in the House and Senate.

During this election season we are seeing the art of the lie being raised to new levels.  Republican nominee Donald Trump’s style is typical of your standard bullshit artist.  He loves it because his gullible followers  buy his lies hook, line and sinker.  Occasionally you think that he actually believes his own crap.  Alternatively his surrogate’s lies, particularly his campaign manager Kellyanne Conway’s, are completely transparent.  The tip-off is the smirk while they are letting loose with a whopper.  It’s as if they think they are getting away with it.  They’re proud of their pitiful prevarication.  I pray for the day when one of their interviewers tells them:  “Look, you know that’s a lie, I know that’s a lie, the viewers know it’s a lie,  so cut it out or we’ll never invite you back.

“I’m not upset that you lied to me, I’m upset that from now on I can’t believe you.”

― Freidrich Nietzsche

“Just because something isn’t a lie does not mean that it isn’t deceptive. A liar knows that he is a liar, but one who speaks mere portions of truth in order to deceive is a craftsman of destruction.”
―  Chriss Jami

“If you tell a big enough lie and tell it frequently enough, it will be believed.”
― Adolf Hitler

 

 

32 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

32 responses to “You Lie!

  1. Conway is not a dummie, for the life of me I can’t imagine what she thought she was gain by singing up with Trump. Unless of course, she’s a true believer.

    • dnd

      I think it’s for the money. Probably angling for a Fox News show or something on Trump’s network. Ditto Pense.
      The Trump campaign must be hard on her. She’s starting to look like a spent meth freak.

    • dnd

      I think it’s for the money. Probably angling for a Fox News show or something on Trump’s network. Ditto Pense.

  2. tempebev

    Maybe to be on his team everyone had to take a lie detector test. If they flunked they were part of his team because they lied and were caught by the machine. Who knows, they’re all nuts.

  3. Has anyone taken to watching AM Joy on Saturday and Sunday morning on MSNBC? I’m hooked, best news program around these days.

  4. tempebev

    Brian – how did your tests turn out?

  5. Bev, diagnosis is, persistent fungal pneumonia, I started treatment last week., thanks for asking. So Bev, I’m thinking Hillary is going to win AZ by the most narrow margin possible but Cranky Grandpa holds on to his senate seat. Your thoughts?

  6. Anyone care to make any electoral college predications, right now, I’m thinking 368/170

    http://www.270towin.com

  7. tempebev

    Brian – I think your prediction about AZ is probably right. I really wish Cranky Grandpa would go to bed. One good thing, I pretty sure Sheriff Joe is on his way out.

    I glad there is a treatment for you fungal pneumonia. Good luck.

  8. Because of ground game, I’m thinking every state that is polling within the margin of error goes to Hillary. Thoughts?

  9. tempebev

    Good grief. It’s November 26 and it’s predicted to be 100 degrees in Phoenix tomorrow. I remember wearing sweaters to hand out Halloween candy. No Climate Change? You’re nuts if you think it’s a hoax.

  10. tempebev

    I wasn’t on my meds when I typed my bitch about the weather. It’s still hot and I’m typing the wrong words. Grrrrrrr.

    • dnd

      Hot here too. Twenty degrees above normal.

      Pence plane slides off runway. If that isn’t a metaphor for the Trump campaign I don’t know what is.

  11. This is why we love politics, never a dull moment!, Director Jame Comey, discuss.

    • dnd

      Comey screwed up. What I don’t understand is why pols and pundits are making such a big deal of it. Unless of course Wiener was sexting Hillary 😉

  12. tempebev

    jeez, can anything else pop up in the next two weeks? New Rule: next election, campaigning is limited to 6 months and Citizens United is flushed down the toilet.

  13. tempebev

    Great minds think alike. However, there is an odd duck in Arizona – what’s new about that? Kelly Ward, who ran against Grumpy Grandpa in the Rep primary, has already announced that she is going for Jeff Flakes Senatorial seat in 2018. WAY TOO SOON, and she won’t win anyway.

  14. I’m thinking the next shoe to drop will be Donald’s full tax returns, if someone has em, now would be the time to release em.

  15. dog's eye view

    Boo! Hello buds. Have been scarce because volunteering in North Carolina, which is beautiful and just beginning to come into fall color in full. Today was the first overcast and cool day since I arrived.

    Go Hillary and Dems! I think we will do well in North Carolina, at least in Wake County.

    dnd: the usual dog complaint: could we have a fresh thread without photos of Republican miscreants in it? I don’t want to look at one pic of these two fools or Comey or any of the people who should know better. I think the news already skews GOP, why should our baby blog?

    Back to natural beauty, or a short and sweet GO VOTE FOR HILLARY and your local Democrats.

    Thanks. Cheers.

  16. tempebev

    How about a neutral theme until after the election. Afterwards we can bitch or cheer about the elections. No big story needed, just a nice picture of Denver or something. I hope someone cans Comey’s ass. Otherwise, I don’t watch any news. Not even going to try and see Hillary at ASU tomorrow. Hate crowds.

    • dnd

      Okay, I hear you ladies. Neutral theme. This campaign is making me grumpy.

      This Bernie Bro voted for Hillary today. Happy to do it, as articulated in the last post.
      Trump is running a lot of ads here despite CO going heavy for Hillary. Was here the other day. Said our polls are rigged. We have mail in balloting which is not easily rigged. Paper ballots. No voter suppression. What a dope.

  17. dog, do you still have the same phone number? 562 area code?

  18. dog's eye view

    Hi Brian: great question about the phone number — I think I do, but the old iPhone that had the 562 number finally died last week, and I have not ported the new number over to the new iPhone. Besides which I am furious at f_ck you AT&T for gouging me on charges from the Europe trip and have some unpaid charges I’d like them to adjust out. So it’s a good question what’s going on with the 562 number. I will message you the temporary number on Facebook, or email is always good.

Leave a Reply

